We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A conference with a difference”
Review of The Hollies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hollies Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I visited this hotel last evening as part of my professional body's local AGM.

During our "meeting" (which was held in a separate building - the conference suite), we asked the staff if drinks could be brought over from the bar. They were very obliging and our drinks were delivered by two lovely ladies with gorgeous smiles!

After our meeting, we had a meal in the restaurant (which was very busy for a Wednesday evening) and the atmosphere was wonderful. The meals were beautifully presented and the food was delicious. I had a ploughman's meal and I have never seen one look or taste better!
Looking around my colleagues' meals, the presentation was excellent and we all commented on what fabulous meals we had.

I would love to stay overnight - in fact, I returned home afterwards - and enjoy the hospitality of this beautiful hotel.

Top marks - a tick in every "excellent" box.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougieFowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 379 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is one of the worst experiences of my life!!! The website is incredibly deceiving about the interior decor!!! It looks like a Nigerian airport lounge from the 1970s!! There is zero service, the bed is hard and uncomfortable, the carpet is a garish red that practically offends one when trying to sleep!! I booked two nights and actually left after one night- just awful!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at The Hollies in July 2012 for a quiet weekend away. Friendly welcome and the room we had was spacious and included a separate sitting area with views over the fields through the patio doors. Very clean and comfortable although the bedroom wing is rather modern, with less character than the old bar and restaurant building.

We had a meal in the restaurant and found the service to be good and the food was excellent.

A good location to visit a number of NT properties nearby and local towns.

Recommended

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinchesterTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very clean, cosy and comfortable; close to main road so ideal location for getting about and yet tucked within a pretty village; quaint features throughout; fantastic helpful staff; delicious food served in restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We visited The Hollies Hotel as part of a large wedding party attending a New Year's Eve event nearby and what a delight this hotel is - the staff are all effortlessly friendly and endlessly helpful, the food is superb, the rooms very reasonably priced and excellent in every way, car parking is more than ample, couldn't be more perfect. Deserves a lot more than 3 star rating, we would go out of our way to stay there again at any time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This our second visit to this hotel to attend a Xmas party. The room was excellent and the evening meal was superb. The staff were friendly and helpful, We could not find any fault and would suggest a visit is worthwhile. We will return I am sure next year for our annual gathering. Our number in total was around 50 persons and we did not hear of one criticism or negative comment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterluckings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

we have just got back from spending 2 night at the Hollies, and got to say cant belive the place only has 3 star rating, we chose the Hollies after being told about it by the people we were visiting and the good reveiws they gave for the place despite not having stayed at it but having used the restreaunt a couple of times, the place is a little gem in a small village location, this hotel has a lot of international clientele from the nearby westland helicopter company, ok the hotel, we had a very large suite (room23) and it was so worth the small additional upgrade cost, large sperate bedroom, with clean comfortable bed, room was spotless , large flat screen tv, large double sliding door wardrobe, iron, ironing board, window to side garden, large bathroom, fully tiled walls and floor, bath, wc.wash hand basin, and walk in shower, small kitchen with microwave, fully stocked drinks fridge, complimentry tea and coffee, large lounge with leather sofa and 2 armchairs, large flat screen t.v on wall, patio doors out to garden with own patio table and chairs (cast iron not plastic) all in all a fantastic pleseant suprise for something off of the beaten track, we did get a glimps of one or two of the other rooms and the looked very clean and cosy, there is a large car park, the staff and management were polite and professional and made us feel very welcome, they also have a couple of cottages across the road and if the main hotel is anything to go on i expect they are very nice as well,the whole hotel building is clean comfortable and quiet, the bar and restaurant pleasean, cosy and clean, roaring fire's for thecold nights, good choice of beers wines and sprits, we had one evening meal here and breakfast on both days, the evening meal was well cooked, well presented and value for money the young ladies serving food and at the bar were very pleaseant and efficent, the breakfast once again was good choice and ample, can we fault it , one or two small cosmetic items in the room like a littel chip here or there, food, the choice could do with being widened it does end up a pub grub choice and lets down what could and should be a fine dining restaurant, breakfast, it was good but with a few little let downs , tinned mushrooms,( ok in a greasy spoon cafe), one day fresh tomatoes next tinned, eggs overcooked with crispy edges,( just a few note that would improve what is very good),will we go back , yes without a doubt ,and will do so in the spring/summer next time we visit our friends, like i said at 3 star it is underated, the previous night we stayed at the castle in taunton and now wished we had gone straight to the Hollies.

Room Tip: we had room 23, large corner suite, but all rooms look very good for a 3 start rated hotel , all roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burgermaster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
4.7 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
364 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
253 reviews
5.2 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
250 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
234 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies Hotel

Address: Bower Hinton | Nr Yeovil, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range: $123 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hollies Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superfast WiFi Broadband now available free of charge. 75Meg Download / 20Meg Upload. 36 Exceptional Rooms & Suites Serviced Apartments & Cottages Contemporary Restaurant with Modern British Menu Trendy Bar Open Fires & Stylish Raised Wine Terrace Beautiful Medieval Village Location Garden Rooms With Access to Furnished Patios Complimentary Internet Throughout Hotel Brand New Hotel Gym Complimentary Sky Sports & BT Sports in all Rooms Free On Site Car Parking Room Service / Mini Bars Same Price as Main Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Hollies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollies Hotel Yeovil
The Hollies Hotel Martock, Somerset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing