We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Designated self approved 4 Star??”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Whitehart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitehart
Ranked #1 of 4 Wiveliscombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colly11
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Designated self approved 4 Star??”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

Gastro style pub downstairs looked O K but the rooms were more like a Hostel or cheap motel.
Car Park a fair way from Hotel & the room we were offered was at tge top of a very un attractive staircase.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    47
    17
    9
    0
See reviews for
18
54
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

We spent three nights at the White Hart. As previous reviewers have stated, it is a maze of corridors and stairs, some steep, but it's an old building! Our room was spacious and well equipped. The bathroom was cold and the electric towel rail insuffcient to provide enough warmth, but Simon, the extremely helpful and professional Manager, immediately gave us a very efficient heater and everywhere was warm as toast. Breakfasts were excellent (full English if you want) and our dinners were superb. The staff have been well trained and we found them really helpful. There are wonderful log fires and we thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere in the bar/restaurant. There was a disco one night and we were fearful of noise, but we didn't hear a thing once we went upstairs. I have no doubt the White Hart becomes quite busy in season, but for us, a quiet weekend in winter was absolutely what we were looking for and the town has plenty to offer in the way of shops and character.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPJBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2009

We travelled with a large group of 16 adults and 12 kids. Rooms were modern and clean with a fabulous maze of corridors, stairs and a skittle alley to keep the kids amused ! Simon and the staff were really welcoming and all the group meals and activities we arranged between ourselves including a special kids meal in the function room with a halloween theme. The cyclists and walkers were well catered for with exmoor just up the road. Go here !

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulLeedsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

This was a really friendly welcoming hotel. The room was full of character -clean, tidy but also obviously old with irregular walls and floors! It would not suit somebody with mobility problems because there are many stair and steps even within the rooms. The bathroom was lovely with good quality soap etc provided. We had been concerned about the parking arrangements having read another review but found parking to be fine -we had no problem with getting into the carpark and didn't find it steep or awkward at all. Breakfast was lovely-cereal to start with, followed by toast with jam, marmalade, honey etc and then a full English breakfast including really tasty sausage and lean bacon.We will stay here again if there is availability at the right price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitortolocalfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

I stayed here for two nights.

The car park is a reasonable size but if you have a wide vehicle you will need to take a wide turn up the slope if you are to avoid a scrape !

The stairs up to the rooms are quite steep if you take the steps from reception and the bar. There are other steps which are significantly less steep which lead directly from the back entrance. The key for the room opens the back door so you are beside the easier steps if you come in later in the day.

My room (8) was very nice. It was spacious, very clean and very comfortable. There was a trouserpress/ironing board and iron in one corner, plentiful hanging space in another and a good sized (king ?) to top it off.

There is an open wi fi network which is good since phone/dongle reception for many services, including Vodafone, is very poor in the village as a whole. I believe that the tv channels on offer reflect a Freeview system but cannot be sure.

The breakfasts were good and quite quick. Dinner each evening was very good. Between us my party sampled a wide range of the meals on offer. I had positive reports for all meals.

The location does rather go against work stays because it is about 10 miles from Taunton and there are, undoubtedly, good hotels closer to the town. However, it was very good on all counts and is well worth a stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Famsol67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

Good location other than very, very noisy as the pub chucks out. The town has a problem with under 15's at 2.30am terrorising the town and causing mayhem. We stayed two nights, ate there once and the ale pie was disgusting.

Nice helpful staff though and the breakfast is great

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigscreenpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2009

booked the hotel after looking at the website and the rooms looked very modern and trendy - slightly dissapointed when saw them for real - the hotel upstairs was a in a bit of a timewarp decor wise and was like a maze to get from there to the bar! the room was clean but lacked any warmth - the en suite bathroom was down 3-4 stairs and had no heating in at all - very strange layout! we had an evening meal in the bar which was fairly good and the brekkie was nice - we had a nice evening in the bar area chatting to a couple of locals - if we stayed again we would definately explore Wivvy a bit more and maybe eat in the local Indian or Italian restaurants we found the next day - overall not a bad place to stay - good value for £40 per night (double room b+b) booked thru travelzoo

  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisydunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiveliscombe
5.7 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
14.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fitzhead Inn
Fitzhead Inn
#5 of 55 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.7 mi away
High Orchard B&B
High Orchard B&B
#2 of 4 in Wiveliscombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Rock Inn
The Rock Inn
#1 of 2 in Waterrow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitehart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehart

Property: Whitehart
Address: The Square, Wiveliscombe TA4 2JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wiveliscombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wiveliscombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitehart 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whitehart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing