We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do with updating”
Review of Whitehart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whitehart
Ranked #1 of 4 Wiveliscombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had it not been for the fact there was an offer on at this hotel, we would not have stayed the night here, let alone the 4 nights we booked. As it was we had to ask for a change of room as the initial room we were shown to was filthy, particularly the bathroom. The second room we were given was a little better, but not much. We thought we were getting a £70+ room for a bargain £40ish per night. The furniture in the bedroom was.....well the wardrobe was like flat pack furniture without doors or a back to it; the dressing table was akin to a plank of wood screwed to the wall with 2 metal poles supporting the front. No drawers.

Upon inspection one of the glasses in the room was dirty, with remnants of a sweet, sticky drink. We kept leaving it out to be replaced with a clean one but the dirty one was just put back on the little tray each day the room was 'cleaned!!!' At no point was the room hoovered as there was half a peanut on the floor when we arrived and it was still there when we left.

On a positive note, the food was quite good. Pity the 'waiting staff' in the morning couldn't have said "good morning" and exchanged a few pleasantries with guests, but I suppose not everyone is at their best first thing.

The car park. Well what can I say? On a couple of occasions it was extremely difficult to get a parking space. There was an 'under cover' area which was full of junk, old beds, chairs/sofa, kitchen equipment and an old sports car! Really not a very good first impression for guests.

We saw the price had been reduced on a booking website, but when I contacted the hotel direct they quoted me a higher price. They soon reduced it when I said the price was cheaper on another website.

Would we stay here again? Probably not!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayLover0856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 113 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

This place has the potentail to be a lot nicer with a bit more money and effort spent on the rooms. Down in the bar it seems like a nice pub but you relise the rooms wont be so good as you get take up to them past the gents loo which smells stronly of pee. In the room at the first look it seems ok but on closer inpection the fit and finish is very poor, many items are broken and fitting loose on the walls. The bed was good but the duvet and pillow where cheap and nasty. There were dirty marks on all the walls and mold around the window. Realy made it more of a £40 a night place, not £75. On the plus side the breakfast was realy good and the staff were friendly. Real shame as this place could be realy good if a bit more effort was put into the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The White Hart at Wiveliscombe serves excellent reasonably priced food with warm and friendly staff. The rooms are somewhat dated, but exceptionally clean, with fresh linen and towels daily.

Well done Simon and staff, you made a damp, miserably wet weekend into a warm, cosy comfortable stay, even the locals were very friendly, thats not something you can always say.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilmaSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wivelliscombe is a lovely little town (pop. 2600) in Somerset near Exmoor. The White Hart does excellent food, has a lovely pub, strong free WiFi, good service, and comfortable clean rooms. Plenty of hot water and towels.

All of this for half the price of the Travelodge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroadagain222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a lovely country hotel and like other reviewers we felt that the food was excellent. The staff are also very good. If you are looking for a stop off the M5 motorway for a single night then make sure that you account for the 15-20mins each way to this location. However, the mix of great food, good room and overall ambience made this a lovely stopover for us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boysinc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked a room here at the last minute via laterooms website. It was £45 for a double room, I didn't expect very much more than a basic room although it was a bonus to have breakfast included.
When we arrived, which was late evening, we received a friendly greeting by the chap on reception who showed us to our room, all very good customer service which counts for a lot. The room was larger than expected and the bathroom was fantastic, this was much higher grade than basic! The bed was quite firm which can be a problem for some but then everyone prefers different. Breakfast was more than adequate, it wasn't a case of eat what you're given. We were actually asked for our preferences with the cooked breakfast and also cereal and decent coffee available. Definitely worth a visit and excellent value for money. It is above a pub so if you are one for going to bed at 10pm, I can imagine Friday or Saturday nights would be quite noisy but then you may want to have a few drinks first to help you nod off!!
Well done to the staff and management - excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbob222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The staff at the White Hart were genuinely friendly and very helpful, putting an extra bed for my niece in our room. A very central location opposite shops etc. Nice, clean room with very comfy beds and a delicious breakfast cooked to order...all at an excellent price. Will definitely be going back when visiting Wiveliscombe again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whitehart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehart

Address: The Square, Wiveliscombe TA4 2JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wiveliscombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wiveliscombe
Price Range: $50 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitehart 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Whitehart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing