We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house and truly amazing hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The House near Bath
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woolverton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed here for the night on our first visit to Bath, the house and gardens are lovely and the rooms very quirky and comfortable. The thing that really made it special was the hosts, Mike and Rowena could not go further out of their way for us, we were made to feel like friends rather than guests! Breakfast on Sunday morning was gorgeous, all the produce was from local, family run farms and very very nice!
I would recommend staying here to anyone and we will certainly be coming back again!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Blakie1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 229 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at The House as it was near to the venue of a family wedding we were attending on Valentines weekend. The hosts, Rowena and Mike, were exceptional from the start. Emailing us to inform us that whilst they do not provide an evening meal (we arrived on Friday evening) they could recommend several places near by, from good pub food to a la carte restaurants and even offered to drive us there and back so that we could have a drink. How amazing is that! Throughout the weekend we were made to feel very welcome. The room was large and very comfortable and we were made to feel instantly at home on arrival. The breakfast standard and the choice is fantastic, as is the dining area and the views across the countryside as you eat. I have already recommended this place to my friends and family and would not stay anywhere else when I visit the area again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Quiet location, very friendly hosts that went out of their way to help. Excellent rural location close to pub and only about 10 K from Bath. Interesting decor but very functional. Great local fresh produce breakfast, and the whole experience is worth every cent. Rowena and Mike are great hosts.

Room Tip: We were in Room 5 which was plenty large enough with ensuite and rural views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were after a basic place to stay in Bath but this was about the nearest with vacancies - this is not a budget B&B, but worth every penny. Very quirky property with friendly hosts who work hard on supplying local produce of a high standard. Evening meal was not available, though the bar was open with local beers and spirits, including a local Gin and (milk!) Vodka, we ate in the pub next door which had a limited menu with reasonable food. Breakfast was Continental included with an option to pay extra for cooked, but the selection was good enough that we did not see any Guests taking this up, with a very high standard of quality food. We WILL be back.

Room Tip: If you have particular requests ask on booking, we wanted a quiet room as my wife is a very light sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxymoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

A blissful retreat from the world, the hosts were everything you could possibly ask them to be, thoughtful, generous and friendly. The rooms were unique and interesting, and well stocked of all the essentials. with the added benefit of feeling completely at home instantly. The facilities in the house were fantastic, around every corner there was something fun to do. Breakfast was a much looked forward to event, with a good variety of locally sourced and decadent fare to choose from. on sunday we were also offered a delightful treat of a glass of british sparkling wine, delicious, the perfect end to our wonderful stay, looking forward to going back soon.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Debraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful weekend at The House hotel in Woolverton. We decided late on Friday afternoon to go to Bath for the weekend. So I spent all afternoon trying to find a nice hotel which wasn't too expensive. From all of our choices I kept getting drawn back to The House. I think it was because it didn't seem to be pretentious.
We arrived fairly late on Friday evening and were greeted by Mike. What a lovely chap. After being shown around, we were offered a choice of 2 rooms. Each room was as good as the other with a massive bed and lots of room.
The hotel is lovely, from the decoration, grounds, furniture, plants, frogs (you'll see what I mean when you go) snooker table, table tennis, comfy chairs, the conservatory bar, breakfast, comfy beds, nothing can be faulted.
We met the wonderful Rowena at breakfast on the Sunday morning. Both her and Mike are obviously very passionate about their hotel and how they care for their guests.
The included breakfast was much better than a normal continental type, with various different breads, crumpets, waffles, fruit, hams, cheeses, cereals and lots of lovely different fruit juices.

The location of the hotel is great, close enough to be in Bath within 20 minutes and far enough away to be very quiet.

If you're looking for a very nice hotel, with wonderful hosts who treat you like a friend they've known for years, in a lovely location, then look no further, you've found it here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dterry182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had been double booked in another hotel and booked this hotel the night before and I am glad we did. Slightly quirky and very very homely. Mike and Rowena go out of their way to make you feel special and valued. The breakfast was very high quality. The room was very large and the bed very comfortable. We were given a choice of rooms. Very easy to get to bath close to the main road but feels very quiet and secluded. The best hotel we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolverton
7.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
8.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
7.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,323 reviews
7.2 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
7.3 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House near Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House near Bath

Address: Woolverton, Bath BA2 7QS, England (Formerly Woolverton House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Woolverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woolverton
Price Range: $171 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The House near Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner operated quirky house for people looking for something out of the ordinary. Gorgeous garden with great views especially from the huge conservatory. Unusual Asian/African feel bedrooms with no wardrobes, just pegs. A sense of fun is the theme and there is opportunity to meet and mingle with other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The House near Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolverton Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing