We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Holcombe Inn
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel(Midsomer Norton)(Great Value!)
$104
$98
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$209
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$90
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Frome Hotel(Frome)(Great Value!)
$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Woolpack Inn(Beckington)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Beckington(Beckington)(Great Value!)
$51
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveler rating
385
67
8
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
67
8
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrica roomchampagne roomfresh milkthe pubroast beefbeautiful countrysidereal aleopen firegreat bathroomsunday lunchroll top bathcooked to perfectionlittle touchesfish and chipspuddingwarm welcomelovely weekend
Filter
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 473 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed at he Holcombe Inn this month on business. The greeting was warm and they managed to provide me with a new toothbrush & toothpaste as I had left mine at home. I am a chef & found the menu appealing on many levels. It was sophisticated and completely delivered my expectations from the menu descriptions. The room was comfy &the bathroom clean & modern. The breakfast too was well executed (recommend the porridge cakes) it was the best complete stay I've had to date. (it was cheaper than the Best Western too)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FOfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holcombeinn, Owner at The Holcombe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your review and very pleased dinner exceeded your expectations as a chef, commendation indeed. Hope to see you again on your next business trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We booked a stay at the Holcombe Inn for a Valentines Day break. From the first moment we walked into the pub we were warmly welcomed by the staff and also the log fires, which were well received on a stormy day! We were personally shown to our room, Africa, which was fantastic and unlike any room we have stayed in before. One of the great things about this pub is that all rooms are different so you feel like you are getting a unique experience. The owners had shown attention to detail with lovely little touches such as rose petals on the towels and chocolate heart sweets.

We had a couple of drinks in the bar prior to our evening meal. It would be good if there were more tables for those wishing to have pre drinks, although not sure there is enough space to facilitate this. Range of drinks is great, and good to be able to have champagne by the glass as a treat on Valentines Day.

There was a great choice of food on a special Valentines menu. We enjoyed our starters of scallops and braised pig cheek, delicious. Unfortunately the same cannot be said for the main course of duck with cassoulet sauce, not very tasty due to the masses of cassoulet sauce which didn't compliment the duck in our opinion. The desserts were lovely. The staff were friendly and reasonably attentive but could have asked how our meals were.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tashter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holcombeinn, Owner at The Holcombe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you very much for your review, I apologise for the delayed response, we have had a busy few months with a few lovely new developments at The Holcombe Inn.
Valentines night is always incredibly busy with every table booked, even our bar tables so I apologise that on this night there wasn't one free.
Overall, It seems you had a lovely stay so we look forward to possibly welcoming you again one day, perhaps when its a little quieter so that you can enjoy all areas including our stunning gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Following the renewal of our Marriage Vows, we were looking for somewhere cosy near to Bath. Thank goodness we found this Inn... It is very classy but very welcoming and cosy too... Immaculately clean, service amazing, food fantastic.... I cannot praise it enough.. can't wait to return there someday... was very romantic but cosy for a family too... A big thank you to all the staff there... a weekend to remember... :)

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic... there is not a bad one to the best of my knowledge.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holcombeinn, Owner at The Holcombe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Ahhhhhhh.... All staff at The Holcombe are always so boosted to receive appreciation and a thank you and even more delighted that we have succeeded in giving you a wonderfully memorable time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed this past weekend for one night in the Hunters room and we both had a really lovely time. The room was well presented, clean and the hotel had taken the time to focus on the little touches. Our meal was really good too, big portions and incredibly good quality. There was a lovely atmosphere too. The staff were great and we really liked the big sofas in front of the fire whilst playing scrabble. I would really recommend this place if you don't want to stay in central bath.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sarahb707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed at The Holcombe Inn for valentines weekend. Despite the hotel being a little bit out of the way, it was worth the journey. Our room was stunning (we stayed in the Rococo room) and the staff were very attentive, helpful and polite. We would definitely come back, possibly just to stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smidahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews