We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mikes 40th Birthday Weekend”
Review of The Holcombe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Holcombe Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Holcombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My brother highly recommended The Holcombe Inn as he has stayed a few times before and Jules Melissa and her staff looked after us so well the whole weekend. Nothing as too much trouble and as there was a party of 33 of us it was quite a big event.
Everything from the setting of the Inn, the interiors, the happy welcoming faces and beautifully prepared food was of absolute excellence.
I'd not hesitate to recommend The Holcombe Inn to anyone, whether just for dinner or an over night stay.
We will definitely be returning soon. Thank you/

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 442 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was an amazing find by some friends who we wanted to meet half way between Devon and Bucks.We arrived at 4 pm to be greeted by a charming smiling receptionist who showed us to our room and brought some fresh milk so we could enjoy a much needed cup of tea in our room....and what a lovely room! Every comfort and beautiful decorations in a cool blue and green.
Everything worked apart from one bedside light which turned out not to have a bulb. However, husband went and asked if he could have one and one was produced immediately.
Dinner was as good as the room.delicious food and we were not hurried at all so perfect place to chat to friends. Finally back to our room for the best night's sleep for ages.
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had "Tiffany"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hagarmiltonkeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Great food and ambiance in a wonderful part of the world. We were so lucky to find this on trip advisor and it didn't disappoint in any way. The food is really e cel lent and the service couldn't be faulted.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I were in need of a few days away to relax and unwind when he found the Holcombe Inn. Off the beaten track and with a michelin starred restaurant to boot, we couldn't resist booking Africa.

The room was wonderful, with a wet room and a double ended burnished gold bath tub in the room it was heavenly; clean, warm, and just fabulous! Upon arrival, two huge cookies awaited us with a lovely selection of tea and coffee. We had such a marvellous time and did not feel the need to venture out very far. The surroundings were lovely and everything was as cosy and comforting as possible.

Of the 3 nights we stayed, we chose to dine in the restaurant twice as the food was absolutely delicious. The wine list was impressive and the service was very attentive and personal. After a lovely meal, we set down to pay scrabble with a lovely glass of red in the bar with an open fire.

I left my jacket in our room by accident and it was returned to me so quickly and efficiently without mention of paying for postage. We were so touched and warmed by our experience.

A lovely place for a romantic getaway, it cannot be recommended again. We will be visiting again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManpreetSandhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here for 4 wonderful days and nights in September 2013. The room was beautiful, the place was spotless and the staff are so very friendly and welcoming. We had a delicious cooked breakfast every morning in the dining area, which again was fresh, clean and comfortable. We even popped into the bar one evening and could find no fault there either. We will definitely be staying here again and encourage everyone to 'give it a try'. We found the place faultless! Thank you to everyone at the Holcombe Inn. Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rococo room but I would challenge you to find fault with any of the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed for a 3 night break (27th -30th September)in Roccoco. Astoundingly good food, excellent service and a beautiful location. The staff couldn't have done more to make our stay comfortable and the room was perfect. We ate here at every opportunity even though we had originally planned to eat in Bath as the food was so good. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in the Pemberly suite which had views of the back garden. It was nice sitting at the tables on the side garden with a view of the Abby. Beautiful walking paths and the "Old Church" was a short distance away and the gravestones are a must see. We went all over Europe on this trip but the food at the Holcombe Inn was by far the best. The sausages with herb mashed potatoes and red wine sauce was amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandirae1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Holcombe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holcombe Inn

Address: Stratton Road | Holcombe, Holcombe BA3 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Holcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holcombe
Price Range: $124 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Holcombe Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please Call us directly for Best Prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Holcombe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holcombe Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing