We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“easter monday lunch” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Holcombe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Holcombe Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Holcombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“easter monday lunch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was very dissapointed with the service on my last visit to the Holcombe Inn, I was accompanying a blind man and we found the staff were not at all accomodating to this kind of disability. The waitress showed us to our table and kept forgetting to bring our drinks over, when we eventually got some water, half an hour later, we were told the water was turned off. The waitress didn't know the specials or the menu very well, and half the things stated on the menu for the lunch dish were missing off the plate, when paying high end price you do not expect this. When asked to help a blind man cut up his lunch he was given a filthy look and the manager walked away disgusted with her nose in the air! There is no customer service at this pub and we will not be visiting it again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 16Jo_AnneS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
africa9680, Owner at The Holcombe Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
I am delighted to respond to this review to warn other restaurants about these people so that they can take quicker action than I did. We were completely taken back by the appalling behaviour of these people and at a loss as to what to do at the time. In hindsight I should have asked them to leave at the onset because of the terribly abusive behaviour.
I was first alerted that something was wrong in the restaurant from the customer shouting obscenities across the room at members of staff in an uncontrollable manner. Several other customers who were also dining in the restaurant were also appalled and asked if we would like any help in any way. The man seemed to quieten a little when the food arrived but after eating two thirds of the meal shouted for a steak knife to cut a very tender piece of pork tenderloin. I took him a steak knife with a smile hoping to alleviate the situation, he shouted at me "cut it up!" in a horrible aggressive manner. The much younger woman he was with just carried on eating. I said I would not cut it up for him, because of the terribly bad attitude. To this he said, " why not, are you useless?!" To which I obviously walked away. It is not fair for any member of staff who try very hard to provide a great service to be treated like this but at the time I did put it down to illness, if I thought the behaviour was for any other reason I would have asked them to leave. All the other customers when paying their bills commented on how rude and disruptive this customer was.
The water had been turned off so there was a delay in providing your tap water, this was out of our control.
Everything stated on the dish was on the plate and clean plates came back to the kitchen.
If any other restaurants would like a description please contact us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    56
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
86
206
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have stayed here a few times now and have been really pleased with both the b&b and the restaurant.
1stly the location is a little out of the way, but, it is close enough to Bath and Longleat to be a good base to explore the surrounding area. We are happy to drive so not a problem for us. Infact, we like the fact that it is in a quiet rural area.
The b&b side of things is very good The rooms are large enough, very comfy, great individual decor and kept very clean. Breakfast is really good.
The food in the restaurant is good, with enough choice to keep you thinking for a few nights.
We will go back.....

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, but, the rooms at the rear have a great sunrise, whilst the rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandCChes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Holcombe Inn is a great hideaway with beautiful 5* accommodation which you cannot fault.

Four poster bed, homemade cookies, proper filer coffee, fantastically comfortable bed and roll top bath - pure luxury.

Ate in the restaurant and the food matched the accommodation both in the evening and with a quality breakfast.

Although we didn't use them there are umbrellas and wellies to borrow for walking and free Wi-Fi.

Like I say, cannot fault it and have booked to stay again. First class!

Room Tip: Anyone of them are made to a high standard. If you want a bath in the bedroom, then go for Africa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uffculme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was my third visit to stay with 'Team Jules' and my second for business. Booking by telephone was effortless and check in uncomplicated on my arrival. On this occasion my room was 'Champagne' (see below) having stayed in Pemberley (business) and Africa (pleasure) previously. A classical looking room, great bathroom with fantastic personal touches and an excellent shower all helped me to settle. After enjoying a cafettiere of coffee in my room and a complimentary homemade cookie, I was able to get a table for dinner and enjoyed a warm pear salad and loin of rabbit. The service was personal and prompt as was the breakfast (see below) the following morning. Check out was painless too and I was set for a day's work in the Mendips. I would heartily recommend the Holcombe Inn to anybody (and often do). I will also look for another reason to return for a fourth time.

Room Tip: If you've had to park behind the inn make sure you wipe your feet thoroughly to avoid staining t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed in Hunters room which was spotlessly clean and cosy room. It has a large bathroom with an excellent shower and luxurious freestanding bath. We ate both nights in the restaurant, food was excellent and staff friendly and helpful. Good position for visiting Bath and Wells. Overall very relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

live local but my first visit, fantastic food, i am very fussy and comlain if i have to, the food was so tasty, even the side salad was scrummy and im not a salad person, lovely people, nice warm fire, felt really comfortable, highly recommended and this from a cook, it must be good

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank twiglet07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holcombe
4.8 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
10.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
5.0 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holcombe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holcombe Inn

Property: The Holcombe Inn
Address: Stratton Road | Holcombe, Holcombe BA3 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Holcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Holcombe Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please Call us directly for Best Prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Holcombe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holcombe Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing