We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay and eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Holcombe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Holcombe Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Holcombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good place to stay and eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed as a family in "the oaks" on a Saturday night having visited Longleat during the day. This review is of both the accommodation and dining.
1. The accommodation.
Overall the Holcombe Inn was comfortable and clean, with friendly service. We think that for the nice, individual decor of the rooms the rate paid was good.
The room did not have any heating switched on at arrival, but a quick twist of the radiator fixed that - and to be fair it was mentioned when we were shown to the room. Room has tea & coffee facilities plus there were cookies and fresh milk! The bed was comfortable (unfortunately, someone in an adjoining room left the bathroom light and extractor on all night and I could hear this!) and there was enough wardrobe hangers and plenty of storage space.
The towel rail in the bathroom was not switched on, so, again a quick twist of the dial rectified this. The towels (plenty) were really good - not so fluffy that they just push water around, but not so hard that they exfoliate you.

2. Food
Food (Dinner & Breakfast) were good. There was a good selection of drinks - beers, ciders, cocktails and wine, plus soft drinks. The childrens menu was good and served proper food, rather than the fast-food copy that many places tend to offer.

So, all in all, for the price paid, we think that this warrants 5 TA 'blobs'. We are going back later in the year!

Room Tip: Africa room looked very nice, with a huge shower room and seperate 'luxury' bath within the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandCChes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    57
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
87
209
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

First came across this pub when searching for somewhere to have a Sunday evening meal - always a tricky time. The food was exceptional - thoughtful mix of traditional and modern, beautifully served, in a very pleasant dining room. So we decided to go back and stay and weren't disappointed. We stayed overnight in the Oaks, a room with unexpectedly great views to the Mendips. And, oh joy, there was fresh milk! No nasty little uht tubs! And cookies to go with our cup of tea.
My only slight quibble was that the coffee served in the restaurant wasn't hot enough - neither for dinner or at breakfast. But that wouldn't stop us going again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Late booking to take daughter back to University and ended up at the Holcombe Inn. What a winner! Great setting, fantastic accomodation and staff. As for the food, worth the trip on its own, local ingredients, cooked to perfection and with a selection of wines that while not damageing the pocket certainly assist with the palate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 43clive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just to back up what seems to be the opinion of virtually everyone who has stayed at the Holcombe inn. It's the attention to detail and the huge effort made by Jules and her staff to makes your stay a wonderful experience. It was a cold and rainy night when l arrived and as l walked into the bar the first thing that struck me was the warmth that was radiated not just by the fire but also by the lighting that created a friendly atmosphere. The ales are very well looked after and in this day and age that's rare. There was an amazing collection of whiskey's behind the bar which was a great talking point. I decided to have a meal and choose the rump steak, which was clearly a premium cut and as tender as a sirloin. The stake was accompanied by real, yes real chip plus all the trimmings. The pepper sauce was homemade and l have to say it was one of the best meals l've had for a long time. So everything to this point very satisfactory. Just when l thought things couldn't get any better l was then taken to my room, which was the African suite. It was clear to me that an awful lot of money was spent on the room and as you can imagine the African theme was of hi taste and quality with a superb bathroom with a high quality walk in shower. Jules the landlady gave me a quick tour of a couple of the other room that were booked for the following day and they were of the same high quality. I only stayed for a night and although l do a lot of traveling as a profession singer the Holcombe Inn has stayed with me as one of the finest hotel/pub restaurants that l have stayed at for a long time and it's clear that Jules and her team put in a tremendous amount of time and effort in maintaining a high standard. The breakfast was superb and consisted of a full English breakfast and the fire was ablaze when l came down. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable experiance and l would recommend this pub to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timpitman1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We booked through lastminute rooms, it had such good reviews on trip advisor and deservedly so. What a lovely place, very comfortable bedroom, great bathroom, loads of big towels, generous hospitality tray - loved the chocolate cookies - in a beautiful area, excellent restaurant with delicious food. The only disappointment was the breakfast - no fruit on offer, although you could request cereal, no choice of juice, just glasses of orange juice placed on the table. Also although the restaurant is large, all the guests were put in one corner. The full English breakfast was beautifully cooked but after such an amazing dinner the night before we expected perfection! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Africa has beautiful views and a lovely roll top bath in the bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honey186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

You may need a GPS to find this place but we'll worth the effort! A little bit of luxury in Holcombe. We stayed in the pemberley room which was big enough for 2 adults and 1 child. We ate in the restaurant for dinner which was great and breakfast was not the usual buffet but made to order. The place has a great feel and is close to 5 stars.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank theleavers_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We found the inn on the website English Inns and were certainly very impressed with all aspects of the property. The rooms on the website clearly describe the quality the owners are portraying and the views from the "Old England" room were superb across open countryside. We would imagine all the rooms are of differing quality, all tastefully furnish and equipped with modern facilities. We read the views of one trip advisor who felt their room was cold and draughty due to the original windows still being in place, possibly because the Inn is a listed building. However we didn’t experience any discomfort during a wet and windy night, in fact it was too warm at times.
The staff are welcoming, polite and professional and clearly well trained achieving high standards of service and food. One dish that we would certainly recommend would be the Rose Harissa & Yogurt Marinated Chicken Breast, date & aubergine tagine and sticky fennel it was superb.
Thank you "The Holcombe Inn" for a very pleasurable memorable stay whilst exploring Bath we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Check out the website and choose everyone is different
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSchnauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holcombe
4.9 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
3.7 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
17.6 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
8.1 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holcombe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holcombe Inn

Property: The Holcombe Inn
Address: Stratton Road | Holcombe, Holcombe BA3 5EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Holcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Holcombe Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please Call us directly for Best Prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Holcombe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holcombe Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing