We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Dinner in a Superb Venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyken Vineyards

Wyken Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Ixworth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner in a Superb Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We attended a friends retirement dinner in January and were very impressed with the venue and the food. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the large converted barn which houses the restaurant was lovely and the food was very enjoyable. We plan to visit during the day to see the vineyards, shop etc and perhaps to have lunch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    51
    21
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gardens in need of TLC but house and restaurant as beautiful as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Eating at the Leaping Hare is always a delight. There is no hurry so not just the food but the atmosphere can be enjoyed at leisure. The grounds make for a pleasant afternoon walk but we found the gardens between regimes and therefore a bit neglected. With another visit next spring I hope to find them back as they were and as delightful as everywhere else at Wyken.

Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fab food and wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Had numerous meals here and have never had a bad one. We always eat in the main restaurant. Great local produce prepared by a very talented chef. Try the wine out with your meal then head next door to buy a case. The rose has been fabulous the last few years.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“superb location, beautiful throughout ....bit posh !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Whilst it is always fun to browse around the shop....( I used to call it ''Harrod'' because its full of posh gifts !!....for this neck of the woods ).......
Recently lower stock levels have left me leaving without a purchase.A very poor Christmas display in 2011, and one or two slightly toffee nosed serving in the shop. I do hate snobs.
Only eaten lunch in the restaurant once.......never again...tiny portion, vastly overpriced and a portion of chicken with blood by the bone.
HOWEVER....tea and scones in the amazing barn...jolly well worth it !!!! A touch of class .
Farmers market classy, colourful and well stocked for a small affair.
The house in a pleasure to admire and immaculate gardens are definitely a highlight to visit.
Overall, a pleasure to visit, and a highlight for this locality

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank phutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolpit, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Food is at a very high standard and atmosphere is very good, recomomend to anyone visiting the area. Having been in the trade for many years, i noticed the menus are well worked out and the staff are very friendly, and the setting is lovely with the vineyards.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank insideout1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wyken Vineyards also viewed

Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Horringer, Bury St. Edmunds
 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to Wyken Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing