We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling customer service”
Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Claverdon
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Under New Management Friendly atmosphere Home cooked Menu Open All Day Every Day 11-11 Food served from 11-9 Mon-Sat Sunday lunch from 12-6pm Sky Sports A True British Country Pub in the heart of beautiful Warwickshire Village CLAVERDON Walkers, Societys, gatherings, everyone is Welcome at The Crown Inn.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Me and 8 others headed down the crown on a fashion evening before we couldnt even say hello to our friends who were majorly involved in the event we kicked out the owner asked us to wait outside until the evening was over in the bitter cold of that evening as we left to go back to our favourite pub in shrewley we saw one on the locals who drinks there every night waiting in the cold well I'm pleased the crown is doing that well to turn custom away because I'm sure it's not

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wotton14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ownercrowninn, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

To any one that may concern.

First: the evening was a ticket only event in aid of a worthy charity - Joseph Foote Brain Tumour Trust.
Second: for this worthy event the pub was fully booked.
Third: it has been clear for all my regular customers, who in fact were included and happily contributed to the evening, that the event will finish after 10.00 pm so that I could open the bar to all of them. So I did and they came.
Fourth: you did not buy any ticket (for a ticket only event), you are absolutely not regular customers, as you say in your text, you can happily go to your regular haunt in Shrewley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 155 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had been here previously for lunch and were particularly impressed by the way they handled our walking group at 30 minutes notice after we had been badly let down by another pub in a nearby village. The food is reasonably priced and a good mix of traditional pub food and Italian.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank orphansdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ownercrowninn, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for coming again and hope to see you for your next walk in the area. Arrivederci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Crown Inn is just lovely! The bar area is delightfully old-fashioned and snug, but the restaurant is modern.

Real ales on tap kept the husband happy, along with the good quality food. We spent two nights in Stratford, and enjoyed a lovely meal at the Crown Inn on both evenings. Main meal portions are generous (I should point out that I'm eight months pregnant- any meal that can satisfy the appetite of a woman in the third trimester has got to be pretty generous!). The food is well-cooked and, despite being cooked to order, didn't take long to be served. We enjoyed meals of steak, fish and chips, homemade steak and ale pie and a burger. It's not possible to choose a favourite- it was all so good! The homecut, twice-cooked chips are particularly good.

The service at the Crown Inn is very good, staff are welcoming and friendly without being invasive.
Well worth a visit.

1  Thank TheWeirdTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ownercrowninn, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Customer
Thank you, I remember with pleasure your visit and hope to see you again in the future. Wish you all the best.
Arrivederci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Was staying at Adrencote Manor & read reviews about this restaurant so decided to try it out. We arrived to be greeted by the very friendly Italian owners, the restaurant was busy with a party but we were offered a table in the bar area which were lovely. The food was freshly cooked and traditionally Italian. The owner explained his recipes which all the food was cooked by himself & I've never tasted a lasagne like it before! The chocolate cheesecake was to die for & I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this wonderful traditional Italian family restaurant to anyone. They do a very good selection of English food too, but when you have an Italian cooking his traditional food, we didn't feel the need to try anything from the English menu. ThoughI feel the same excellent standard of food would be served. The meal was excellent value for money & we felt the quality of ingredients used shown throughout the meal. Overall fantastic service & food & if ever in the area again, we would definately be eating there again in future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lisaw1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ownercrowninn, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Customer
thank you very much for coming in our pub restaurant, for all the words spent and wish to see you again in the future.
Arrivederci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We came by the crown by accident , what a great accident ! The food was sensational along with all the staff. The owners came and spoke with us and made us feel very welcome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sammysnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ownercrowninn, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

So happy you had this "accident". Thank you and wish to see you soon, now you know where we are. Ciao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

Claverdon, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing