We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic venue for a wedding”
Review of Ardencote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardencote
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Claverdon
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Attended a wedding here in August. Venue is great with some brilliant spits for pictures outside.

Staff are attentive and take care of you. Bars a little pricey but not to pricey as the break the bank.

Food is pretty good we had the pate for starters chicken for main and creme brulee for desert. All where very good and a great choice if your planning a menu.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2014

Dear Simon,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor, we value your feedback as it allows us to develop and grow our business.
I was really pleased to see that you enjoyed the wedding you attended, it was lovely to read such positive comments and I will ensure that my team are copied in to the review.
I hope that you have an enjoyable time on your next visit to the Ardencote Manor Hotel.
Yours sincerely
Azhar Mian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
There are newer reviews for Ardencote
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2014

I celebrated my 65th birthday here at the Lodge Restaurant.
We had previously had a 40th Wedding Anniversary Bash here 3 years ago and had a fabulous day, so it made sense that we returned for my 65th birthday dinner with my family.
We were not disappointed, we ate in the Lodge restaurant where the staff were friendly and very professional, we had a fabulous meal, not hurried with plenty of attention from staff. ( even obliged me with a dish request )
Many thanks to all at the lodge, it was wonderful,I may be a year older but I had a day I will not forget.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muddyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor, we value your feedback as it allows us to develop and grow our business.
I was really pleased to see that you enjoyed your Break with us, it was lovely to read such positive comments and I will ensure that my team are copied in to the review.
I hope that you have an enjoyable time on your next visit to the Ardencote Manor Hotel.
Yours sincerely
Azhar Mian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is a truly lovely spa hotel with exquisite fine dining in the lodge restaurant. However when I asked if there was anything the hotel could do to make my wife's 30th birthday a bit more special (as we had just missed our flights to italy because of a coach crash on m5) they said they would make us VIPs and would put a bottle of wine on the table, have the chef come out and talk about the food and would generally make a fuss of her. All that happened was a birthday candle in her dessert and while there was a bottle of prosecco on the table, we were charged full price for the bottle. I mentioned this on check out and was told because the restaurant manager didnt specifically say that it was courtesy of the house that it was my tough luck and I had to pay it. So all in all as vips all we got was a candle and a bottle of wine added to our bill at full price, not exactly what I had in mind. All other aspects of the spa were lovely and if it wasnt for this disappointing end it would have been a fantastic birthday getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russvarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Please accept our apologies for any misunderstanding with regards to the arrangements that you were trying to make for your wife’s birthday. I am surprised that you were not given the correct information as these types of requests are handled on a daily basis by our Front Office team. I will of course speak to the Front Office Manager and pass on your comments.
I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Ardencote in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Azhar Mian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Attended a wedding here recently and had the most fantastic time, the staff were all friendly and welcoming, the food was absolutely hands down the best meal i have ever had anywhere especially the roast potatoes!. Service was flawless from start to finish.
Nothing was too much trouble. The organisation was spot on.
The family room we had was very spacious and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom, the mattress was extremely comfortable, the tea tray was impressive, the rooms have air conditioning, everything in the room was of a high quality.
The pool was clean and lovely and warm and there were plenty of floats provided for the kids. Lots of facilities in the changing rooms, hair dryers, weighing scales, showers, water machines, towels provided etc
Wish we could of stayed longer and will definitely visit again

Room Tip: we stayed in 215 which was a very nice room indeed (family room)
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onesim2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor, we value your feedback as it allows us to develop and grow our business.
I was really pleased to see that you enjoyed your Break with us, it was lovely to read such positive comments and I will ensure that my team are copied in to the review.
I hope that you have an enjoyable time on your next visit to the Ardencote Manor Hotel.
Yours sincerely
Azhar Mian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The hotel, its facilities and extensive grounds are excellent: much taken up by the golf course, but with a garden, lake, two islands with bridges, small outdoor play area, indoor games room, pools, etc, etc. Perfect for our family break. Reception staff friendly and helpful; some of the other staff rather less so, especially some of those serving in the Brasserie/bar area. A small amount of training and management would help to make the service excellent rather than so-so. The Brasserie itself is not inspiring (why not use the much better conservatory?), neither is the food. Breakfast was a disappointment, especially the bread which appeared to be the cheapest package sort of white and brown, some of it stale. No rolls, just some of what seemed to be offcuts of hard bits, virtually inedible. There is no excuse for this in a place of this quality - it just lets the experience down. Having said that, our children had a great time using the facilities and exploring, and we may well come again.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room on the ground floor, which was fine.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tarazed2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor, we value your feedback as it allows us to develop and grow our business.
I was really pleased to see that you enjoyed your Break with us, it was lovely to read such positive and also your constructive comments and I will ensure that my team are copied in to the review and your points are discussed.
I hope that you have an enjoyable time on your next visit to the Ardencote Manor Hotel.
Yours sincerely
Azhar Mian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Purchased a deal off Secret Escapes. Stayed here fir one night to celebrate my partners birthday. First impressions? Lovely setting, polite and friendly staff when checking in and a very nice room. Check in was straight forward. The lady in the spa check in desk was helpful and really polite. Our room was a court yard room and we were impressed by how spacious and clean the room was. Heading to the spa the changing rooms were clean, the swimming pool both the indoor one and pool outside were also clean. I liked the abundance of loungers and deck chairs around the pool areas. Slight disappointment with the sauna which didn't give off a lot of heat with no visible faculty to correct this but the steam room was lovely. We ate in the lodge restaurant. Food was beautiful and again wonderful service. Found the general bar prices quite expensive (£17 for 2 large glasses of wine) If I had one niggle it was the quality of breakfast the following morning. Served buffet style the bacon and scrambled egg was cold day in their tins. The toast machine was a pain (toast would be better served to tables..) no pastries which was a shame also but the service was again good. Sort your breakfast out for a guranteed 5 star stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NottinghamDevito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor, we value your feedback as it allows us to develop and grow our business.
I was really pleased to see that you enjoyed your Spa Break with us, it was lovely to read such positive comments and also your constructive comments and I will ensure that my team are copied in to the review.
I hope that you have an enjoyable time on your next visit to the Ardencote Manor Hotel.
Yours sincerely
Azhar Mian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I chose the Ardencote to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary.
We had the most enjoyable relaxing time.
Our bedroom was lovely and situated in the 'courtyard' area of the hotel, near to the spa.
Check in was warm and welcome and as we had arrived early to make use of the spa facilities we were aware our bedroom wouldnt be available till later on.
My husband went to play a round of golf, dissapointed to pay a green fee of £15 on top of our stay for a 9 hole course.
I went for a facial in the spa, the therapist was very attentive and I thoroughly enjoyed it. After some lounging around the outdoor pool and a dip in the hot tub we went for more spa treatments, my husband had the sports massage however he didn't think it was worth the money paid. I had a candle back massage which again, I really enjoyed.
Dinner in the brasserie was excellent we both had the lamb, which was to die for, so tender. The staff were excellent and very attentive.
We had a drink out on the terrace but lots of wasps flying round put us off. There was a wedding function going on but it didn't disturb our relaxing stay one bit.

Breakfast was excellent, buffet style served in the conservatory overlooking the gardens.

All in all a VERY enjoyable stay we can't wait to return next year. Thankyou.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Lisa,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor, we value your feedback as it allows us to develop and grow our business.
I was really pleased to see that you enjoyed your Spa Break with us, it was lovely to read such positive comments and I will ensure that my team are copied in to the review.
I hope that you have an enjoyable time on your next visit to the Ardencote Manor Hotel.
Yours sincerely
Azhar Mian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claverdon
5.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,967 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
6.4 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
2,756 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,100 reviews
11.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardencote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardencote

Address: Lye Green Road The The Cumsey, Claverdon CV35 8LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Claverdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Claverdon
Price Range: $129 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardencote 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardencote is a four star, privately owned and independent hotel situated in the heart of the Warwickshire countryside. Over the years the Ardencote has evolved froma family home to an award winning hotel offering unrivalled facilities and excellent customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ardencote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardencote Manor Hotel And Country Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing