We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms, food really doesn't live up to the cost.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ardencote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardencote
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Claverdon
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great rooms, food really doesn't live up to the cost.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

There are a great many positives about this hotel. The location, in quiet Warwickshire countryside, the quality and cleanliness of the rooms are excellent. The grounds, and the golf course, looked excellently tended.

Unfortunately it tends to go a bit downhill after that. The indoor pool and the sauna rooms (2) are looking a tad faded (although not actually bad) - and it did look as if the changing rooms had been decorated recently. We had a couple of treatments in the spa and the treatment rooms and the staff were excellent.

Customer service - very variable. Check in wasn't great, and asking if we wanted help with our bags was an afterthought. We weren't really made to feel welcome. Check out, with a different person, was a lot more professional. The waiting staff were also a mixed bag. One (an older gentleman) was excellent. The young man who seemed to think we were his best friends and should be referred to as 'guys' should get some lessons from him.

The worst part of the stay was the food. The evening meal (in the brasserie) had a strong resemblance to a mid range chain restaurant, which much of the food having a whiff of Brake Brothers. Not actually bad (although the cheeseboard looked straight from Tesco) but not worth the prices. The buffet breakfast, however, was straight out of Road Chef in the 70s. It will fill you up, it won't make you Ill, but I challenge you to enjoy it. If they will insist on bringing coffee and tea round to pour for you, it'd be nice if it was hot.

So. Stay here if you're a businessman who wants a very comfortable room and like a swim or a game of golf. Possibly stay if you're coming for treatments in the spa. Don't stay if you're on holiday looking for a bit of luxury and special service. And if you do come, really avoid the English breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WarksFoxile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    352
    188
    73
    54
See reviews for
179
391
15
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

There's a lot to really like about this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the evening meals and lunches (buffet style) were excellent. The outdoor saltwater pool was fantastic, surprisingly warm even on a chilly September evening, and there was a great outdoor hot tub. The inside pool and health club facilities have seen better days and are a little shabby here and there, but the indoor pool was a good size and well heated. The showers in the changing rooms were not as clean as they should be but the changing facilities looked like they might have been refurbished more recently than the rest of the indoor spa area. The bedrooms were spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed and a good shower. I was in a courtyard room and had a view of the lovely extensive gardens.

Two things let the hotel down really badly. The lighting in the bedroom was incredibly poor, there was no light sufficient to read by in any part of the room, other than the bathroom. There were two low wattage Eco lamps on the wall by the bed, another two over the mirror over the dressing table plus one dim ceiling light and one dim lamp on the dressing table. The other problem was the breakfast, which was very basic for this class of hotel e.g sliced white bread and not even any tongs so that people were handling the slices; flies were landing on the large open bowls of ketchup - yuk.

This is really lovely hotel in many ways and there is obviously some refurbishment going on (strong smell of paint) but if they just improved the lighting and spent a bit more on breakfast it would make such a difference.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_constant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Found this hotel and spa excellent, staff very helpful and friendly ... Spa treatments relaxing and well worth the money... Grounds around the hotel very picturesque ,great venue for weddings .. Found rooms very clean and cumfy, indoor pool and outdoor pool and hot tub fab!!! Well worth a weekend visit, food very good top rate service...

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback, as this allows us to continuously improve and maintain our customer expectations.

I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your weekend break here at the Ardencote Manor Hotel & Spa and we hope to see you again soon!

Yours sincerely

Azhar Mian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Breakfast was NO where near a 4* hotel. Cheap orange juice from cartons, cheap sliced bread, yoghurt from pots, not fresh. Eggs like something I used to have at school. Breakfast should be cooked fresh to order at a place like this.
Check our staff were not very friendly, didn't ask how the stay was etc, just wanted payment. Overall it was more like a premier inn experience and we are extremely disappointed. Our recommendation is to book a proper spa if that's what you are after as this place, although very attractive from the outside is purely just a leisure centre with its average facilities

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Outdoor/indoor pools not up to spa standard, more like our leisure centre. Not tranquil at all, and flooded with loud children literally as I speak I'm laying on a lounger as kids splash and shout in the pool which is hardly peaceful. The outdoor hot tub is more like my garden pond or local town swimming baths. For £250 for one night we would definitely have gone somewhere where you fell relaxed and just a tiny be special.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My fiance booked One Night Bamboo Spa Break through Wahanda for both of us. The overall experience was very good.

The location was excellent, very peaceful, in the middle of a countryside and very close to the Shakespearian town.

In terms of the welcome at the reception, my fiancé was disappointed with the receptionist who spoke very fast and didn't explain to us too well how and when we could use the hotel and spa facilities. We wandered about the hotel trying to find our way around instead of taking the advantage of the spa access. It seemed like the spa had not much to do with the hotel. There were two weddings at the hotel and at times we felt out of place, but this didn't stop us from enjoying our spa break.

The room was basic but clean and cosy with plenty of light. The bed was very comfy but we were a bit cold at night and couldn't switch on the heating, but this is just a small detail. There was a kettle with tea, coffee and biscuits in the room, but no hair dryer. I had to go to the spa section to dry my hair, but it wasn't a problem for me.

Our time in the spa was quite short, as the check out was at 10:00 and this was the most disappointing part of our stay. We wished it was at least until 12:00. Nevertheless , we enjoyed the facilities, an indoor pool with jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, and a relaxation room. We didn't use the hot tub as it was full of people all the time. Although it was a bit to cold to swim in the outside heated poll, we enjoyed relaxing outside on the loungers. We played tennis and the court was excellent. The staff at the spa were quite friendly.

The breakfast and lunch were good and the dinner was excellent with a good selection of dishes. The waiters and bar staff were very friendly and polite.

Room Tip: If you are on a short spa break, make sure you arrive early to make the most of the spa facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel ticks all the boxes. No real negatives. The staff were professional and welcoming and food in the restaurants (breakfast and dinner) - very good. However, guests for the evening meal could be better presented - flip flops and shorts ! You know who you are ! I feel it's disrespectful to staff and chefs to arrive for dinner in attire best suited to the beach. May be I m getting old ?

Our cream tea on arrival was well presented and the experience marred only by the wasps. Not the fault of the hotel, as we chose to eat on the terrace. Lovely location and grounds, with bridges over two small lakes.

If you can find a 'deal' ..... this is worth a punt. It is a lovely area, tho you need a car. Great Wedding venue too and competitively priced.

All in all - we loved it. Thank to all staff for a very enjoyable stay ... would certainly visit in the future ... glad we found you.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms were good - ours overlooked the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback, as this allows us to continuously improve and maintain our customer expectations.

I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your leisure break here at the Ardencote Manor Hotel.

Yours sincerely

Azhar Mian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claverdon
5.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
14.4 mi away
Mercure Brandon Hall Hotel and Spa Warwickshire
3.3 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
6.8 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
11.9 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardencote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardencote

Property: Ardencote
Address: Lye Green Road The The Cumsey, Claverdon CV35 8LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Claverdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Claverdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardencote 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardencote is a four star, privately owned and independent hotel situated in the heart of the Warwickshire countryside. Over the years the Ardencote has evolved froma family home to an award winning hotel offering unrivalled facilities and excellent customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Ardencote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardencote Manor Hotel And Country Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing