We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great conference venue in the heart of Warwickshire”
Review of Ardencote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardencote
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Claverdon
Reviewed May 11, 2013

A private estate in the 19th century, Ardencote Manor Hotel is now an independently owned four- star hotel, set amidst more than 80 acres of beautifully maintained gardens in the tranquillity of the Warwickshire countryside.

Among the 110 rooms, we were booked into a standard room, which although absolutely satisfactory for a single person, had a tiny double bed that would have guaranteed a difficult night’s sleep for two. At our request and with no quibble, we were moved to a king bed room. The housekeeping staff helped us move and the reception manager came up to apologise and show us to our new room.

The reception staff were all helpful, friendly and welcoming. Our larger bedded room was spacious and comfortable, with effective air conditioning, the usual tea and coffee facilities and a modern flat screen TV. The bathroom had an integral shower and bath, (only a problem for those with mobility problems getting in and out of the bath when using the shower). Rather unusually, there was only one hand towel and bath towel for a double room. On the same theme, the room had two tumblers but only one bottle of water. There was no in-room safe, although valuables could be left with reception for storage in the hotel safe.

Although there was not time to sample the spa and leisure facilities, the hotel offers both indoor and heated outdoor pools, gyms, spa and a nine-hole golf course. The gardens are immaculate and ideal for a relaxing pre- or post-dinner stroll, particularly on the sunny day we arrived.

Our snack lunch at the brasserie terrace was delicious sharing plates of cheese, pate, charcuterie and breads. While the service was friendly and prompt, we were then not offered a further drink order and the bill was left for us to pay and depart, so a small negative mark.

Breakfast was in the bright, airy conservatory-style restaurant. A good buffet style breakfast, but limited choices of fruit juices on the days I was there.

Staying here primarily for a conference, these facilities were excellent. The meeting room arrangements break out areas and catering were better than many conference centres around the UK. Access to terraces for the breaks in the sunny weather was a great bonus. The AV systems provided by an outside contractor all worked well and delegates informally reported positive feedback.

A real bonus is the complimentary Wi-Fi in hotel rooms and free parking, which at recently reviewed hotels in different parts of the UK can add an additional £50 daily to the hotel bill.

Overall, a great conference venue set in a relaxing rural environment with easy access to motorways and less than thirty minutes from Birmingham airport

Room Tip: Go for a king-bed room to guarantee a good night's sleep
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angusM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor all feedback is appreciated and helps us to grow our business.

I am really pleased that you had an enjoyable corporate break with us and we hope that you may choose to visit us for a future corporate or leisure break in the future.

Yours sincerely
Azhar Mian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
There are newer reviews for Ardencote
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

805 - 811 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel was very disappointing - it was cold in the Leisure Bar and the food there was average - staff there were polite. The food in the Lodge was good but expensive and the place was badly lit, felt cold, with no athmosphere and average service. The main bar was very bare and uninviting. Breakfast was self service with horrible food. It seems the hotel is interested only in wedding parties and large gatherings. I did raise the question of how cold it was in the bar with staff while there but nothing was done. I also wrote a review when leaving as they "really" appreciate and are interested in feedback - but alas, not interesed enough to get in touch or respond to my feedback - not important enough I guess as we were only a couple on a long wekend and not a large party!!! So to summarise - I would not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerry089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor all feedback is appreciated and helps us to grow our business.

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay here at the Ardencote Manor and I would like to respond to one of the points that you have raised. Although we are a busy wedding and conference venue we are fully equipped to service Leisure Breaks at the same time and have done for many years now. We have 110 bedrooms in total, however within the Ardencotes 83 acre estate we have 2 x restaurants, up to 4 lounges dedicated to Leisure/Spa guests and two bars, all of which are located away from the main function and meeting suites.

Yours sincerely
Azhar Mian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

For £150 I expected much more from my room. The bed was small and there was little space in the room. The food was good especially the breakfast. Didn't have time to check out spa facilities as we were attending a wedding. Having stayed locally the night before at half the price I was not convinced that the venue was good value for money. Would not return again at that price.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sambaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I booked a 1 night spa break for me, mum and sisters, We had a treatment back neck and shoulder massage which was excellent staff are exceptionally friendly and very welcoming we had our dinner in the restaurant which was surperb and the restaurant staff are so very attentive and made sure our food was enjoyable, Rooms clean, spacious and lovely even though their was a wedding going on it was still very quite and peaceful would definatatly go back enjoyed our stay very much and have recommended to friends and family!

Room Tip: rooms close to the spa are very quite
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor all feedback is appreciated and helps us to grow our business.

I am really pleased that you had an enjoyable Spa Break at the Ardencote Manor Hotel and we hope that you will visit again soon.

Yours sincerely
Azhar Mian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I booked a one night spa break through secret escapes and was very impressed. The reception staff couln't have been more helpful, showed us to our room and even offered to collect our luggage from the car. The room was lovely and had everything we needed. We spent the afternoon in the spa. The breakfast buffet was briiliant and staff were attentive, even though it was busy as there had been a wedding on. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We were in room 37. It was a beautiful large room with a view of the outdoor pool and was nice and q...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justsuz2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate all feedback, as this helps us to improve our customer service experience.
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your Spa Break here at the Ardencote Manor Hotel and I hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Azhar Mian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Friends have just had there wedding there and we have had to travel from Lancashire the hotel went out of there way to have our room ready for us so we could get ready for 1 p.m. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful .The breakfast was brilliant loads of choice. Bar staff was very friendly .The grounds are beautiful and can see why Nick and Kim choose it .

Room Tip: The new rooms are better than in the main building
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandrahowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate all feedback, as this helps us to improve our customer service experience.
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay here at the Ardencote Manor Hotel and I will be sure you share your kind feedback with my team.

Yours sincerely
Azhar Mian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We got married here just over a week ago and it was excellent. Invariably something usually goes wrong with a wedding but I have to say that Ardencote offered an excellent service. The staff worked tirelessly throughout the day to ensure that everything ran smoothly and 'Liam' the young man who oversaw the entire day was nothing short of exceptional! All staff were professional yet friendly and nothing was too much trouble, add to that the delicious food served and you're onto a winner if looking for a wedding venue. Will definitely be recommending to future brides!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katymelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Congratulations to both of you and thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your Wedding Day at the Ardencote Manor and we would like to wish both all the very best for the future.

Yours sincerely
Azhar Mian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claverdon
5.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,967 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
6.4 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
2,756 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
11.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardencote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardencote

Address: Lye Green Road The The Cumsey, Claverdon CV35 8LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Claverdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Claverdon
Price Range: $129 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardencote 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardencote is a four star, privately owned and independent hotel situated in the heart of the Warwickshire countryside. Over the years the Ardencote has evolved froma family home to an award winning hotel offering unrivalled facilities and excellent customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ardencote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardencote Manor Hotel And Country Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing