We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardencote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ardencote
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Claverdon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed this Sunday, was told breakfast was included, then was charged £10.95, for cereal and a coffee, breakfast host was ignorant. Room was dated and bed small uncomfortable. Wasn't impressed generally, i wont be going back, will drive further and find a Marriott. On the plus side, it's a nice setting - that's it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your recent visit to the Ardencote Manor Hotel. A Full English Breakfast is included in all our packages, except on specific Corporate Rates. I hope this clarifies things for you.

Yours sincerely

Azhar Mian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    353
    192
    74
    54
See reviews for
183
397
15
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed here overnight prior to a day in the spa.

We checked in late (10pm) and were directed, rather than shown, to our rooms. The hotel is quite spralling so it was a bit of a walk to from the reception to the room.

The room I was in was large, the decor was a bit old fashioned and the TV was attached to the wall at a peculiar angle which made watching it in bed a bit difficult.

The bathroom was clean and looked relatively recently done. The room overlooked the golf course.

I used the fitness suite in the morning. It was quiet and although not the latest equipment I had no complaints.

I had cereal and fruit for breakfast but was disappointed to see that the cooked breakfast was self service rather than cooked to order.

The spa day was a success, the treatments were fab and we used both the indoor pool/jacuzzi and the outdoor pool and hot tub. Lunch was served in the Lodge, we were the only ones in there so our concern about arriving in our robes/slippers were unfounded! It was a buffet lunch, which was perfectly fine.

From what I saw of the grounds, I imagine it would make a beautiful wedding venue.

I'd recommend the spa but would say that, as a hotel, it was average only.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAM_Poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent Spa Break at the Ardencote Manor Hotel and we hope to see you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Azhar Mian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was our second visit to Ardencote Manor Hotel & Spa and it was as fabulous as the previous time. The room was lovely and spotlessly clean with great tea/coffee facilities and a large television. The air conditioning took someto figure out and the corridors were a little to chilly. The Lodge restaurant is highly recommended for the menu and service.
Our main reason for the stay was the Spa which we love and cannot fault the treatments or the staff although it is rather expensive, Hopefully I will be receiving birthday or Christmas vouchers so we can return again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nannyloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent Spa Break at the Ardencote Manor Hotel and we hope to see you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Azhar Mian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on a Sunday night and both bars didn't seem to have anyone around to serve. The receptionist came out eventually but then got all flustered and then ran off to get someone! The lodge restaurant we had no complaints, the Greek waiter was great. Food was excellent. Spa very good. The courtyard room we stayed in was nicely decorated however the shower fan was broken and so the wall paper in bedroom was mouldy at bottom. This could have been easily fixed and saved the paper. Breakfast was OK but the service was odd. We were sat and not asked for tea/coffee for ages. then someone cane round filling up your tea. we love our tea in the morning, so eventually we asked for a pot. To order cooked breakfast we waited a while, again if we'd have been asked quicker that would been better. We both said the staff seemed a bit down beat and not that cheery.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happydudders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the most part of your recent Spa Break at the Ardencote Manor Hotel and i would like to thank you for bringing the maintenance issue to my attention i will have my team look at this as a matter of urgency.

Yours sincerely

Azhar Mian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed here for our four year anniversary on a deal which entitled us to a free bottle of champagne which they forgot. When we chased it, it didn't come. We chased it again and it took ages to arrive.

Plenty to do in the Spa but even in cold November we couldn't get into the outdoor pool as it was constantly packed.

The breakfast and dinner was very nice though.

The decor is dated and it's only just a four star in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StAlbansDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your recent Spa Break at the Ardencote Manor Hotel. We would welcome the opportunity to change your opinion of the Hotel should you wish to stay with us again.

Yours sincerely

Azhar Mian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
672 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Attended a conference at this hotel and ate lunch.

All the staff were friendly and tried hard to provide a good service. For lunch there was a choice of 3 hot dishes (fish/chicken/pasta in nice sauces), crispy salad, a meat plate with various offerings and a cold fish plate; this was particularly scrummy. There were also a couple of choices for desert.

Plenty of car parking spaces and a golf course make this a smart hotel to visit...I'll come here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank machinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent Conference here at the Ardencote Manor Hotel and we hope to see you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Azhar Mian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Booked a Spa break for my wife and I to get away from things unwind and enjoy. We annually get away every year in November and have had both highs and lows. This hit the highs in a BIG way. Firstly I must highly compliment all the staff in the Lodge restaurant, first class service, food and ambiance all round. I have eaten at many high class restaurants in my time and this is among the best. This was part of a spa break deal but you had the choice of the Ala carte menu as well with a small and very reasonable supplement that wouldn't stretch the pocket. All the food from entree to dessert were outstanding and made our anniversary very special!
The Hotel and Spa staff were equally helpful, warm and welcoming with nothing too much to ask and always had a smile at every turn. The Spa treatment was equally fabulous and the surroundings were relaxing and clean everywhere. Even though there were renovations being carried out to further enhance the hotel these in no way impeded the stay or effected our enjoyment of it. I will certainly be returning when they are finished as they looked impressive.
Breakfast was fabulous with a fresh pot of tea to each table and a large selection of both warm and cold food. Again the staff here were warm smiling and welcoming.
All in all I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and restaurant to any of my friends and family!
I look forward to returning in the very near future
Thank you to everyone at Ardencote
From Mr Steve and Nicki Jones

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardencotemanor, General Manager at Ardencote, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Ardencote Manor Hotel and thank you for all your praising comments.

Yours sincerely

Azhar Mian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claverdon
5.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
14.3 mi away
Mercure Brandon Hall Hotel and Spa Warwickshire
9.7 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
6.8 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
6.4 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardencote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardencote

Property: Ardencote
Address: Lye Green Road The The Cumsey, Claverdon CV35 8LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Claverdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Claverdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardencote 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardencote is a four star, privately owned and independent hotel situated in the heart of the Warwickshire countryside. Over the years the Ardencote has evolved froma family home to an award winning hotel offering unrivalled facilities and excellent customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ardencote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardencote Manor Hotel And Country Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing