We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crabmill

The Crabmill
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Claverdon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This charming traditional country pub and restaurant has an unmistakable warmth about it, as seen in the furnishings and the menu. The atmosphere is friendly and informal, while the overall impression is of a pub which is comfortable, light and open. The lounge area has sumptuous tub chairs clustered in conversational groups and among the interestingly themed rooms is the New “Chocolate Rude room” with slightly risqué caricature pictures. Each room has its own individual appeal and any can be reserved for private diners. We are in our tenth year and to celebrate, come and see our refurbished al fresco dining area!The Crabmill is Good Pub Guide Approved and has won awards for food and wine. The Crabmill has also been selected for inclusion in the UK’s top 50 Gastro pubs with The Independent.
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a really nice pub/restaurant just outside Henly in Arden. The staff are friendly and the service is very good. I liked the restaurant style and the selection of food was very good. Not the cheapest around, but I prefer quality over quantity and you definitely get a good meal for the price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    171
    79
    42
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had a family gathering there and over a sunday lunchtime, food was excellent, service very good and everybody had a great time. Nice outside seating area for summer. Good choices on the menu. Great place to eat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JonBol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, good menu and v reasonable wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I went for dinner with firends and we had a really lovely evening. I like the layout of this place, as there's a couple of alcoves, and so you get a feeling of privacy. The menu was really good, lots of seasonal produce, there was four of us and we had the fish starter platter which was just fine for us.
The main meal was great, I had venision, most prob the best venision i have ever had. There was also a specials menu. What i really like is the wine list, it's got a great range on there and reasonabley priced, esp considering thatthe quaily is really good. Service is also good.
I really like this place but wouldn't come with young kids except at lunch time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunshinehappygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Consistently great place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Been meaning to write a review. First found this place about 8 years ago and have since then had formal family celebration meals as well as Sunday lunch and other couple type meals. All of them have been great meals. The place on arrival looks lovely, the staff are always courteous, friendly and knowledgeable. We like their interesting menu, the choice of wines and drinks plus interesting nibbles behind the bar. Only wished we lived closer so that we could visit more often.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smills2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great business lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I decided to meet a business on tact for a meeting/lunch today. We had a table which enabled us to talk. We were not able to order a bottle of wine, but one of us had one glass of Malbec and the other a Bloody Mary, then chilled Pellegrino. In fact we both had veggie meals, tho only one is a veggie. One had a beetroot and goats cheese pithivier, and the other a slice of leek quiche. We both chose the linguine with basil pesto and green beans and potatoes. After that all we needed was a coffee each the bill was just under £52 plus service.
My colleague had heard of The Crabmill but will definitely revisit. I hadn't been for a while and was really glad to return and find that it was as delightful as ever. It is always a slight risk to take a valued contact anywhere and reassuring when you get it right!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crabmill also viewed

Lapworth, Warwickshire
Solihull, West Midlands
 
Alveston, Stratford-upon-Avon
Solihull, West Midlands
 
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Crabmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing