We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a warm welcome”
Review of Austons Down

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Austons Down
Ranked #1 of 1 Claverdon B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Lucy and John made us feel so at home from the moment we arrived.
TheStratford suite was enormous with wonderful views from its 4 windows.
Large bathroom and dressing room a further bonus.
Good breakfast and of course Lucy who was so friendly and informative.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffofman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy H, Owner at Austons Down, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you very much. I hope you will see a difference if you come again as we have renovated the bathroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 55 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

I highly recommend this beautiful B&B . We stayed two nights and were made to feel so comfortable and welcome.Lucy is a wonderful cook and welcomed us with tea and home-made cake .the breakfast was wonderful.As was the room.We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieF6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy H, Owner at Austons Down, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for such a kind review - Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed at Austons Down for 3 nights with our 14 month old little boy. Travelling with a toddler is challenging at the best of times but Lucy and John certainly did their best to make our stay pleasant.

The guest house is magnificent, the countryside exquisite and 3 weeks later, my husband is still talking about the eggs benedict!

For travellers who have little children, the house itself is not entirely baby proof as the hosts have many beautiful, fragile ornaments. Having said that, Lucy was most accommodating about us allowing our little one the space to move around, as long as he was supervised. The room itself was more than adequate for our family and we had plenty of space to place the travel cot and all the baby goodies.

Dinner at the Red Lion is a must.

Room Tip: The Stratford room has a walk in closet and a gorgeous view of the fields and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emminicholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy H, Owner at Austons Down, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We have just refurbished the bathrooms and I hope you would approve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend for the weekend and we loved it! Fantastic property in the countryside, we loved our bedroom which was large with en suite and a walk in wardrobe! There was great attention to detail, breakfast was so good, and the host was lovely with lots of tips for where to go to eat out and what to visit! We live in a town near a main road, so it was such a luxury to have such peace and quiet! We would definately stay again :)

Room Tip: We paid for the biggest room and in my opinion, it's really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy H, Owner at Austons Down, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thanks very much. We hope you wll stay again this summer as we have amde a few improvements over the winter break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Absolutely gorgeous character property with excellent service and great hospitality. I enjoyed my night stay and the breakfast was really good too. I would advice anyone to make an effort to visit this B&B especially if you are looking for a quiet break out of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smoula01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy H, Owner at Austons Down, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for yor comments. I am glad we were able to make your stay enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We run an award-winning B&B ourselves, so set the bar quite high when visiting others - it's much easier to find fault than to praise. You can therefore imagine our frustration when we found that, in some key respects, Austen Downs was better than we were. Some of it we can't worry about; it is a really lovely house, in beautiful surroundings, with large comfortable, well-equipped rooms, and - in ours at least - an awesome bath. Also there's something about a proper walk-in dressing room that just sets the right tone.

More difficult were the breakfasts. We win breakfast awards, and know about a good breakfast. Lucy Horner's breakfasts, however, left us scrabbling in the dust. The eggs Benedict were perfection incarnate, as were the home-made apple juice and the carefully thought-out breakfast presentation. The "nothing's a problem" service approach was great, and at least matches what we try to do.

In fact the whole hosting approach - as attentive, friendly and helpful as you could want, without becoming in any way intrusive - was, in my opinion, as good as it gets and (I hope) pretty much what we try to do ourselves.

AHA! I've thought of something that could be better! The room booklet and tourist information could be more informative and better-presented! I didn't even try to use WiFi at first, because I found no mention of it anywhere. Of course, when I did try, it was, like everything else, absolutely fine.

We had a splendid stay, and would love to return.

Room Tip: Ours had a GREAT bath - if that's your thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill and Rupert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy H, Owner at Austons Down, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you so much. We have just been renovating the bathrooms and I hope you would think them an improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We spent our wedding night there and it's definitely the best place we stayed in so far, it's reasonably cheap for what you're getting and no other hotel we've been to can compare. Also, there's a nice bath!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy H, Owner at Austons Down, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Very glad you had a good experience on your first night together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Austons Down? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austons Down

Address: Saddle Bow Lane, Claverdon CV35 8PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Claverdon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Claverdon
Price Range: $120 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austons Down 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Austons Down Bed and Breakfast is a modern Queen Anne style family home set in 100 acres of the Arden special landscape area.Situated 25 minutes from NEC and 10 minutes each from Shakespeare’s Stratford upon Avon and historic Warwick the accommodation is ideal for visitors to the Midlands area of UK.National Trust members will find many historic houses in close proximity and Nasby, Edgehill and Bosworth battlefields are within reachThere are many beautiful walks just a step from the front door, whilst Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwick Castle, Kenilworth Castle and NEC are only a short drive away. Visitors can walk around the farm and inspect the flock of Jacobs Sheep, horses and chickens in the pasture surrounding the house.Classic car enthusiasts will find a warm welcome and easy access to Gaydon Heritage centre, National Motorcycle Museum, Coventry Motor Museum and Stratford Armouries.Available for the business traveler as well as the holiday visitor Austons Down B&B offers a warm welcome in a relaxed family home that has been awarded a Silver Accolade from Visit Britain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Austons Down reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing