We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B :)”
Review of Austons Down

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Austons Down
Ranked #1 of 1 Claverdon B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B :)”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend for the weekend and we loved it! Fantastic property in the countryside, we loved our bedroom which was large with en suite and a walk in wardrobe! There was great attention to detail, breakfast was so good, and the host was lovely with lots of tips for where to go to eat out and what to visit! We live in a town near a main road, so it was such a luxury to have such peace and quiet! We would definately stay again :)

Room Tip: We paid for the biggest room and in my opinion, it's really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy H, Owner at Austons Down, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thanks very much. We hope you wll stay again this summer as we have amde a few improvements over the winter break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
26
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Absolutely gorgeous character property with excellent service and great hospitality. I enjoyed my night stay and the breakfast was really good too. I would advice anyone to make an effort to visit this B&B especially if you are looking for a quiet break out of the city.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smoula01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy H, Owner at Austons Down, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for yor comments. I am glad we were able to make your stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We run an award-winning B&B ourselves, so set the bar quite high when visiting others - it's much easier to find fault than to praise. You can therefore imagine our frustration when we found that, in some key respects, Austen Downs was better than we were. Some of it we can't worry about; it is a really lovely house, in beautiful surroundings, with large comfortable, well-equipped rooms, and - in ours at least - an awesome bath. Also there's something about a proper walk-in dressing room that just sets the right tone.

More difficult were the breakfasts. We win breakfast awards, and know about a good breakfast. Lucy Horner's breakfasts, however, left us scrabbling in the dust. The eggs Benedict were perfection incarnate, as were the home-made apple juice and the carefully thought-out breakfast presentation. The "nothing's a problem" service approach was great, and at least matches what we try to do.

In fact the whole hosting approach - as attentive, friendly and helpful as you could want, without becoming in any way intrusive - was, in my opinion, as good as it gets and (I hope) pretty much what we try to do ourselves.

AHA! I've thought of something that could be better! The room booklet and tourist information could be more informative and better-presented! I didn't even try to use WiFi at first, because I found no mention of it anywhere. Of course, when I did try, it was, like everything else, absolutely fine.

We had a splendid stay, and would love to return.

Room Tip: Ours had a GREAT bath - if that's your thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill and Rupert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy H, Owner at Austons Down, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much. We have just been renovating the bathrooms and I hope you would think them an improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We spent our wedding night there and it's definitely the best place we stayed in so far, it's reasonably cheap for what you're getting and no other hotel we've been to can compare. Also, there's a nice bath!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy H, Owner at Austons Down, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Very glad you had a good experience on your first night together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Very comfortable, delicious breakfast and welcoming hosts. What more could you want from a b&b?

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pips_in_charge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy H, Owner at Austons Down, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you! We hope we will always offer somewhere comfortable for people to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Stayed recently overnight and had not only a warm welcome but comfortable night and a great breakfast in the morning. Will be going back. Recommend The Red Lion for an evening meal.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy H, Owner at Austons Down, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you. We have just worked out how to repsond to reviews! Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claverdon
1.3 mi away
Ardencote
Ardencote
#1 of 1 in Claverdon
1,102 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bridge House
Bridge House
#3 of 3 in Henley in Arden
33 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Henley Hotel
Best Western Plus Henley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Henley in Arden
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in Leamington Spa
702 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
4.9 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austons Down? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austons Down

Property: Austons Down
Address: Saddle Bow Lane, Claverdon CV35 8PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Claverdon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Claverdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Austons Down 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Austons Down Bed and Breakfast is a modern Queen Anne style family home set in 100 acres of the Arden special landscape area.Situated 25 minutes from NEC and 10 minutes each from Shakespeare’s Stratford upon Avon and historic Warwick the accommodation is ideal for visitors to the Midlands area of UK.National Trust members will find many historic houses in close proximity and Nasby, Edgehill and Bosworth battlefields are within reachThere are many beautiful walks just a step from the front door, whilst Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwick Castle, Kenilworth Castle and NEC are only a short drive away. Visitors can walk around the farm and inspect the flock of Jacobs Sheep, horses and chickens in the pasture surrounding the house.Classic car enthusiasts will find a warm welcome and easy access to Gaydon Heritage centre, National Motorcycle Museum, Coventry Motor Museum and Stratford Armouries.Available for the business traveler as well as the holiday visitor Austons Down B&B offers a warm welcome in a relaxed family home that has been awarded a Silver Accolade from Visit Britain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Austons Down reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing