We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stag,s Head Wellesbourne Wrawickshire”
Review of The Stags Head

The Stags Head
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We (2) had a break for a week in Wellesbourne. The Stag's Head landlord, staff and locals were very welcoming, It is a warm perfect local. The beer is good with a wide choice.The food is of a "home made" variety and is good and tasty. The local "opposition", The King's Head, is attractive but fails to deliver good food. Thanks everone at The Stag especially Bev (who had just come back from holiday) Thanks a million.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ALANANDCHRIS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 78 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2019

Didn’t have a booking but called in with a couple of friends. Small lounge with not much room, but very quiet. Very old building with lots of history. Lovely staff. Good menu. Best pastry ever on the pie and four different lots of fresh veg cooked to perfection. Generous portions too. Lasagne was just right too, also home made. Will definitely be going again soon.
This is not fast food, expect to wait, but it’s freshly cooked and worth it.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CarolineWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

We didn't stay, we popped in for dinner after reading the Google reviews and we weren't disappointed. At first we struggled to find the restaurant having missed the door for the Lounge Bar.
Once seated, we found the bar staff all super friendly, we enjoyed mains which were hearty and home cooked. The cottage pie came with extra gravy which was a nice touch and the all day breakfast was scrumptious! All in all, a fantastic meal which we nearly missed out on for not reading the signs!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank McFamily1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019

A group of us went for lunch, we had already viewed the menu so had an idea of what we were having, very friendly staff, great service and the food was just the ticket, as they say. A homely feel about the place, and I got my side portion of onion rings, always a bonus. If you are passing, I would thoroughly recommend it for a polite lunch venue.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jhoakwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2018

We go here regularly for lunch including Sunday lunch. The food is always well-cooked and the staff are very attentive. On top of that there is a wide selection of beers that are kept in top-notch condition.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ISB157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stags Head also viewed

Wellesbourne, Warwickshire
Hampton Lucy, Warwick
 
Alveston, Stratford-upon-Avon
Wellesbourne, Warwickshire
 
Loxley, Warwickshire
Alveston, Stratford-upon-Avon
 

Been to The Stags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing