We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We decided to take advantage of the special winter rates as offered by the Innkeepers hotel group and Vintage Inns, for a Five night break at "The Kings Head" for the total room cost of £130.00 including breakfast which proved to be of exceptional value for money. The room we had was large, comfortable and warm with an excellent shower room. I am known for quoting "you only get what you pay for" but in this instance the staff, service, food and room exceeded my expectations. Naomi the manageress went out of her way to be friendly and very helpful as were all the staff. We ate in the restaurant each evening and were fortunate that there was a 25% discount offer on main meals during our stay. Our thanks also go to the chefs Aaron and Lewis who provided first class food from a good varied menu. The "all you could eat" buffet breakfast had on offer all the items one would expect ensuring a good start to the day.Yes, the hotel, bar and eating areas do require some additional TLC but in general this did not effect in any way our pleasant stay, besides it would be an insult to complain considering the money charged. We would not hesitate in staying again depending on the room rates required.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnHerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 83 of 83 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night. Nice simple rooms with comfy bed and everything you need. For the price it was all good.
The pub area downstairs is good, with decent food and nice open log fires.
I would use it again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

we wouldnt have normally stopped here but as we were working the next day and the normal hotel we stop in was booked up we didnt have much choice. check in was a bit slow but the staff were friendly. Having checked in we went to inspect our rooms and functional and clean is probably the best i can say. They smelt a bit strange and the radiators didnt work, it was very cold even with the curtains drawn there are no extra blankets provided, but as i said we were only there for 1 night so wasnt too much of a bother. The hair dryer blew up in my friends room.

Ladies beware, when we went down to the bar we were hoping to be able to sit and have a drink before we ate but the bar seating area was tiny and that meant that we (2 girls) had to stand at the bar, and promptly got accosted by a very drunk bloke...it was 6.15pm. bless he was trying to be charming but it was very disconcerting knowing he was about and not one seemed to be taking a blind bit of notice of him and none of the staff asked him to move away even though they could see he was bothering us. we couldnt go to our room to freshen up for fear he might follow us.

The drinks were expensive at £9.25 for a glass of red wine and a pint of lager. The food we had was ok but not worth the prices and half the menu was unavailable (even the chunky chips had run out!!!) this was at 7.30 on a Friday night!! cant comment on the breakfast as had to leave before they started laying it out.

All in all it served our purpose and was ok but if it had been pleasure instead of business i would have been really put off this place

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VickiCooper40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Arrived at hotel, a strange smell when we walked in through the entrance?? Manager friendly enough, the other staff looked like they didn't really want to be there. The room was fairly clean and suited our needs for the 3 nights. I just thought the restaurant area could do with a good clean, especially the stairs going up to the rooms. The breakfast had a basic choice compared to other vintage inns I had stopped in.
I don't think I would stop here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mchappy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We arrived early and went into the pub - we knew we were too early for check-in but just wanted to grab a sarnie and then jump in a taxi to Stratford. We were told we were too early for food (it was 11.30 am) and that there was a bus stop across the road with a bus due in 5 minutes. So, in the interest of economy, we headed over the road and waited ... and waited ... for 40 minutes. In fact, the bus wasn't due for half an hour (not 5 minutes!) and never arrived. The car it was. Arriving back early evening, we checked into our family room. Despite the fact that, when booking online, we were told that if you put in the 'special comments' section that you want the sofa bed to be made up it will be done, we were told on check in that it was down to us to make the bed up - they don't make it up to save on space in the room during the daytime (the sofa bed was in a separate part of the room and did not impact upon living space at all whether it was made up or not!)!! When we explained that we'd asked for it to be made up in the special instructions, we were given some cock and bull story about them switching over to a new system and it wouldn't have been on there .... given that the booking was made on the Thursday and our arrival the Saturday how new was that system???!! At all events, the guy checking us in did explain how to 'work' the sofa bed and did offer to come and do it for us but we managed. Customer service was not great and the room was very average - but then we paid an average price. Our evening meal was much enjoyed - great food, great choice, great service and great waiter - quite a contrast to the two staff we had met earlier in the day! Don't try and get a taxi into Stratford - we got business cares for two taxi forms but one didn't answer our call and the other said he was too far away, despite advertising in the garage opposite the hotel! The bathroom could have done with a good clean - the floor by the shower basin was less than sparkling.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dizzy_Blonde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We booked 2 nights at The Kings Head Vintage Inn, which is part of the Innkeepers chain. We arrived on a very cold Friday afternoon to a lovely welcome from both the staff and the roaring log fires. Our room was fairly traditional and had everything to make our stay comfortable. We booked a table in the restaurant for both evenings and would advise the the same as the restaurant can get very busy. There was a good selection of delicious food on the menu and the wine list was fairly extensive too; sitting near a log fire was a bonus. The restaurant staff were very friendly and efficient and extremely knowledgeable about the menu. The breakfast is buffet style, no cooked food, but again, a very extensive choice which is included in the cost of your stay.
On Saturday morning we took ourselves off to the Wellesbourne Outdoor Market, about 1.5 miles from the Inn. It is one of the UK's largest outdoor markets with over 500 stalls and is open every Saturday from 09:00 to 16:00 with plenty of free parking which is marshalled and well set out. Warwick / Leamington Spa and Stratford upon Avon are close by and so there is plenty to see and do. We really enjoyed our stay at the Kings Head and would recommend it highly as good value for money.

1  Thank AnnEandCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellesbourne Hastings
2.1 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
2,756 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Warwick North M40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
896 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#9 of 12 in Warwick
263 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne

Address: Warwick Road | The Kings Head, Wellesbourne Hastings CV35 9LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Wellesbourne Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wellesbourne Hastings
Price Range: $74 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find this historic lodge in the charming village of Wellesbourne, surrounded by miles of green Warwickshire fields. It's handy if you're looking for accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon or near Warwick, and is a good starting point for exploring the Cotswolds.The lodge is at a classic country inn that's been a crucial part of Wellesbourne life since the 1600s. It always offers a hearty menu of seasonally inspired pub-food, complemented by a well-chosen range of wines and cask ales.If you're relaxing in the village, why not grab a bargain at the famous Wellesbourne Market, one of the largest outdoor markets in the UK? Or head into Stratford, the historic hometown of Shakespeare, to watch a play at the recently revamped Royal Shakespeare Theatre. Warwick Castle, one of the most popular attractions in the country, is also nearby and makes for a great family day out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne Wellesbourne Hastings, Warwickshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing