We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome, outstanding food.”
Review of Angmering Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angmering Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angmering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here for one night and would happily have stayed longer but instead will have to go back again, especially as we didn't make it to nearby Arundel Castle.

We had a large, very comfortable and quiet double room on the ground floor in the new part of the hotel, with french doors on to the garden . The bed was very comfortable, spare pillows and blankets in the wardrobe, the bath sheets were soft and enormous, and the slippers and fluffy bath robes which were also provided added a touch of luxury, as did the chocolates on the pillows.

We had a look at some of the rooms in the original hotel which, whilst well-worn, seemed nevertheless to be lovely rooms. One in particular still has its original fireplace and little nooks and crannies, giving it loads of character and charm. The decent-sized swimming pool is clean, warm and attractive, and there's a sauna and fitness room too, all just near the reception, so very easily accessible. Spa treatments are available at reasonable prices but have to be booked in advance and we didn't have the time to sample these - will do next time.

What stood out more than anything was the excellent food. The menu seems quite straight-forward, with a good choice of uncomplicated dishes, but the dishes we chose were prepared to perfection and beautifully presented. We had a superb two-course meal with a bottle of very drinkable house red for just under £35 per head. The meal, whilst not cheap, was up there with some of the best and well worth it, and the service both in the restaurant and generally in the hotel was very friendly and efficient. A full cooked English breakfast was included in the room rate, with lovely freshly-sliced fruit and meusli or cereals to start.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Angmering Manor and plan to come back again sometime soon.

Room Tip: Room 102 was a large double on the ground floor, comfortable and quiet, but for more characterful ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 333 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is the friendliest hotel I have every stayed in - all the staff are very welcoming.

Rooms are a good size and its a little different to your normal hotel

You wont be disappointed - nice place for a romantic weekend near the sea

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Had an evening meal at this hotel last night. Very expensive, but beautifully cooked and well presented. My only criticism was that the main course portion was decidedly on the small side and should have had a lot more vegetable.If you had only the main course you would have still been hungry. On arriving at this hotel we felt the exterior of this hotel was extremely shabby and gave a very poor impression.The waiters on the other hand were delightful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gkeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We spent one night on a bed and breakfast basis at the Angmering Manor at the beginning of May.

The hotel is situated on the outskirts of a small village. There are no shops, main roads or pubs in the vicinity and consequently it has a quiet and relaxed atmosphere . The hotel is set in a rather cramped plot but the garden is attractively arranged. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is an adequate free car park.

We were given number 206, described as 'Double Superior Room'. The decor, white-painted furniture in a dated style, showed rather too much wear and tear; the carpet was stained; one of the ceiling lights did not work, and the whole impression was of a room well below standards expected of a room described as 'superior'.

Dinner was served in a restaurant overlooking the garden and was acceptable but unremarkable. Breakfast was adequate and of the standard expected of this type of hotel.

We did not use any of the spa facilities so we cannot comment on them.

Angmering Manor has potential but an upgrading of the rooms is called for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This beautiful little hotel is an ideal spot for a quiet weekend away. The staff provided a warm a friendly welcome, the food was absolutely delicious and the rooms were delightful. There is a lovely garden to relax in and a fantastic spa and swimming pool to enjoy. We were given very helpful advice about the local area, leading my husband to enjoy a round of golf and myself to indulge in some antique shopping. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time here and will most certainly be back. Thank you Angmering Manor!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a birthday break. The hotel is attractive with lots of quirky features and interesting decor and benefits from an indoor pool, small spa and small gym. My boyfriend had a massage and said it was very good and the therapist very professional. Th room was the four poster room with the jacuzzi bathroom. Really nice decor and a very comfortable bed, the bathroom was stunning but unfortunately the jacuzzi wasnt actually working.

Breakfast was served efficiently and was very tasty, choice of cooked breakfast, cereals and fruit, perfectly adequate.

The village is very quiet and pretty, we ate in The Lamb pub just down the road, a very nice gourmet style pub with very nice good quality food and good service.

We went into Arundel which is only 2 miles away and Brighton which is about 10 miles so it is very well located and a good base.

The hotel was run efficiently but I felt that some of the staff could have been a bit more friendly. No one asked if we enjoyed our stay or welcomed us when we arrived, it was a bit hit and miss on reception, the bar staff were pleasant and so were the cleaners but your first and last dealings were with reception and I just felt they could have been a bit more interested in you as a guest so that you would want to return again.

Overall though the hotel is very nice and well worth a visit and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: room 103 has a lovely four poster and doors out onto the gardens, lovely and sunny and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times now and in different rooms. On the whole they are nice rooms and pretty comfy beds but there has always been something wrong or broken in the room. My last stay there were a couple of hooks broken in the bathroom, which did not affect me in any way but you would think they could replace broken hooks so the aesthetics still look nice but the shower plug hole was blocked, which is never nice! The TV didn't work properly either, again not a serious problem but annoying. I get the feeling a general update is needed and eye for details in the room maintenance. I would stay again because it is very convenient for my trips down to Angmering.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angmering
6.1 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,120 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,039 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Littlehampton Rustington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 10 in Worthing
411 reviews
16.0 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,656 reviews
3.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angmering Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angmering Manor

Address: Angmering Manor High Street, Angmering, Littlehampton BN16 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Littlehampton > Angmering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angmering
Price Range: $99 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angmering Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angmering Manor is a stunning country house hotel, located in the South Coast village of Angmering. Thought to have been built by missionaries in the 16th century, it now offers 17 exquisitely decorated en-suite bedrooms, each with personal bathrobes, slippers, Wi-Fi, a plasma television and tea & coffee facilities. We also offer an a la carte restaurant and on-site leisure facilities, including a heated indoor swimming pool, mini-gym, sauna and beauty treatments from our on-site beauty therapist. Free car parking is also available at the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Angmering Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angmering Manor Hotel West Sussex
Angmering Manor West Sussex
Angmering Manor Littlehampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing