We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food, staff & setting”
Review of Angmering Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Angmering Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angmering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went to the Manor as a group of 8 on Saturday to celebrate my friends birthday. She lives in Angmering and had recommended this venue.
The building is beautiful, really authentic. I have to say, the food was of the best I have tasted. I had the trout, prawn & crayfish starter, so yummy. I then has the beef as main course. Excellent. I tasted my partners starter of pate & that was fabulous too.
My compliments to the chef, Mark. The staff were so lovely, Amy, Della & Martyn. A couple of us asked some questions about the building and were shown a room which is in the original old part of the building. Beams and really comfy. Would be great to sit in there in the winter with a nice drink. I imagine the manor will look lovely with the Xmas dec's up, so I will definitely be making a visit around Christmas time.
For anyone wanting a really fantastic meal, in beautiful surroundings, with lovely staff, this is certainly the place to go. I understand they have a cocktail lounge vocalist some evenings, so would imagine that would be a great evening too. Thanks for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 351 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Fourteen of us enjoyed an excellent afternoon tea Saturday afternoon and we couldn't have been more impressed. The staff were friendly and efficient and the table was laid perfectly with lovely china and linen. The food was superb and plenty of it - as much tea and coffee as we wanted. Excellent!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

* The hotel has a nice small swimming pool, but they don,t supply towels for the swimming pool.
So if you want to use it, take your own towels with you.
When I asked a member of staff if we could have a towel, she said: use your towels from your room and it will be replaced. When????
* We stayed in room 212 - one window looked to the hallway, so we had to keep the curtain
to shut all the time, the other window looked to the car park.
* Half of the lights didn't work. ( Not in the room and neigther in the bathroom)
* Dressing gowns have seen better days, they should change them.
* There were some black marks on the carpet.
* The bathroom was big and had a bath also a shower.
* Staff at the reception wasn't very friendly, the lady who was there when we arrived only gave the key and show the way to the room.
* We had to ask for further information ( where's the swimming pool....etc)
* We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant - bill added to our bill - but they even gave the dinner bill to sign, what they should do.

Room Tip: Ask fir a garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabbage57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Looked wonderful from the photos and the outside, and the restaurant was busy when we arrived. We didn't have dinner there. No one at reception, so had to wait awhile. We were taken to our room which was nice but a little worn. The carpet needed replacing and there was no toilet roll holder. The view from the window was over looking some rubbish. Breakfast was okay, but the coffee was tasteless. Staff were generally friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I first came across Angmering Manor when booking somewhere for a group of friends for my 40th birthday celebrations. We immediately booked to return for a 2nd time and are now looking forward to our 3rd stay in a few weeks. This has become an annual event! The accommodation,setting staff, service and food are all superb and the Spa is highly recommended too. Exceptional value for money and a beautifully relaxing place to enjoy a break.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in two rooms. At some point a few years ago this hotel had a good quality makeover, but now seems to be on a downhill trajectory and slowly fading. Is it trying to be a small luxury 'country house' hotel? a restaurant with rooms? a spa hotel? The focus seems a bit lost and we wonder if the staff and the premises are being managed as well as they could. The hotel really fits the small 'country house hotel' image best, in which case attention to detail, and comfort of guests are paramount. Unfortunately both of these areas need attention. We arrived 45 minutes before the official check in time of 2.00 pm. As one room was not yet ready we had hoped to have a light lunch or bar snack or sandwich while we waited, but none of this was available. We were advised that if the chef was asked to prepare sandwiches he would go ballistic as lunch was being served. Yet the bar next to reception, complete with coffee machine on the counter, was empty and even a coffee and biscuits if offered would have been welcome. Returning two hours later we checked in. One of the rooms which was upstairs was stiflingly hot; the one window which opened was right over the kitchen extractor fan; the other which apparently could not be opened, had been crudely bodged over with paint on the outside which also covered the glass around the frame. No soaps in either room; missing TV remote in one: broken soap holder in shower; carpets a bit grubby; newly refurbished shower fine but inadequate flow; several light bulbs blown, not only in the rooms, but in the chandeliers in the dining areas (i.e not one or two bulbs but several per light fitting). Swimming pool and gym very cramped and stifling hot with no windows or doors opened for airing. Reception seemed reluctant to provide information on these facilities or encourage their use. All little things maybe but these and others indicative of slipping standards.

Breakfast was a major disappointment. First of all the room was very hot; next door was a lovely dining room with French doors opening out to the gardens. An obvious place to have breakfast on a sunny summer morning you might think, but all doors in and out were firmly closed; it was obviously easier for the staff to keep guests in this hot inner room next to the kitchens from where various 'larking around' conversations could be heard emanating. The breakfast food offering, for a four star hotel was really not up to the mark. No bread, no pastries, no yoghurt, no cold meats, no cheese, only sliced oranges and melons. Poor quality coffee and cheap sliced bread toast was however offered. The cooked breakfast was presented neatly on a silly square plate, but if you asked for just scrambled eggs and bacon, as my wife did, no offer of any additional rashers of bacon was forthcoming unless prised out of the waitress. Scrambled eggs were reconstituted. Felt sorry for the German guests at the next table who might have been looking forward to their cold meats, cheese and yoghurt; wouldn't have minded some myself if it had been on offer! All in all a reasonable place to stay, but fails to deliver on its promise, and is currently trading on past glories.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garrie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Lovely relaxed atmosphere, pool alittle small for good swim but nice for relaxing and doing aqua aerobics, treatment rooms are cozy and hot stone massage was wonderful.
Lunch was delicious and service great.
A wonderful location for catching up with friends and relaxing together

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KayTurnquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angmering
4.8 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,066 reviews
3.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,239 reviews
4.1 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in Worthing
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,175 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Littlehampton Rustington
13 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angmering Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angmering Manor

Address: Angmering Manor High Street, Angmering, Littlehampton BN16 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Littlehampton > Angmering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angmering
Price Range: $105 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angmering Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angmering Manor is a stunning country house hotel, located in the South Coast village of Angmering. Thought to have been built by missionaries in the 16th century, it now offers 17 exquisitely decorated en-suite bedrooms, each with personal bathrobes, slippers, Wi-Fi, a plasma television and tea & coffee facilities. We also offer an a la carte restaurant and on-site leisure facilities, including a heated indoor swimming pool, mini-gym, sauna and beauty treatments from our on-site beauty therapist. Free car parking is also available at the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Angmering Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angmering Manor Hotel West Sussex
Angmering Manor West Sussex
Angmering Manor Littlehampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing