We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little gem !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lamb at Angmering
Ranked #1 of 2 Angmering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have just arrived back from a most enjoyable stay at The Lamb. We were celebrating my wifes "Rainbow" birthday. (colours replace numbers these days!)
Firstly, many thanks to Martin who sorted us out on arrival and helped me with my many requests, which had to be kept secret until Saturday night. He's the kind of person you want -Front Of House- nothing was to much trouble.
A MASSIVE thanks to Sue and her team who made the meal in The Lamb restaurant one of the most memorable we've had. Her constant attention to ensure we had the best time was faultless, and her team were all so charming and polite. They really are a credit to the place.
Now the to room. We stayed in "Old Wilkie" which was one of the biggest rooms I've stayed in for a long time. The room was lovely, decorated in Farrell & Ball colours in keeping with the age of the building, which I believe is an old coaching inn. The bed is sooooooo comfy, the towels are fluffy, plenty of hot water, I cannot fault the place.
We booked breakfast and it was a good move. What a way to start the day. Full English (Me) Eggs Benedict (Wifey), Toast, OJ, Tea, Preserves, the food is locally sourced and very tasty.
We will definitely be returning. If you are looking for a base from which to explore Sussex and take some lovely walks, this is the place to be.
And after all that exercise chill out in the bar with a draught beer and food from their excellent menu.

Room Tip: Old Wilkie (our room) is on the end of the building, it's a BIG room, lovely and peaceful with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explorer800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 155 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked a last minute room yesterday at the Lamb, I think we were the only guests, so it was nice and quiet. We booked a premier room which was lovely, really clean, gorgeous furniture & decor. We had a quick drink in the bar & a delicious breakfast (yummy sausages!!) Staff were all very friendly and helpful too.

Thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would definitely recommend - hope to visit again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuttyslack_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights to attend a family funeral. Despite the sad occasion the staff were wonderfully accommodating and looked after us faultlessly. Our bedroom was clean and nicely decorated with a lovely large comfy bed. The restaurant food is well presented and tasty, good wine list and there's a good choice for breakfast (healthy or hearty!). Lovely quiet village location.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank 100miles2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed in Angmering whilst on a visit to view a house that we are hoping to buy. The Lamb is a very welcoming place, popular with locals, but also very welcoming to visitors. Our room was spacious and well appointed. The restaurant provided an excellent evening meal and breakfast.
The best bit was the staff, all very helpful and cheerful. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: As with everything - paying a little more gets the best rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarissa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I will confess that I booked the Lamb off the back of the trip adviser reviews and note that two less than perfect reviews have been made since I looked.

To be honest, I think that we stayed in the room heavily criticized and don't recognise the issues raised.

There were a couple of very minor issues but readers should remember that this is not a purpose built hotel and the rooms have had to be converted so there is a compromise between a spacious room and a spacious en suite.

To be brutal, the en suite (or rather the shower) was a little cramped but it was clean, modern and well equipped. The needle sharp shower jets were corrected by turning the pressure down a little (not obvious unless you played around with it) although after the initial shock it was actually quite invigorating.

The bed was firm but extremely comfortable. The room itself was beautiful with a mix of reclaimed old furniture for the aesthetics and modern for the comfort and functionality. A minor gripe was that the wardrobe had a vaguely unpleasant smell which we put down to its age. Not an issue as we had nothing that needed hanging.

I need to stress that these issues were very very minor and I wouldn't feel that they were worthy of a reduction in the excellent rating I have given.

The overall experience was fantastic, the manager who greeted us was outstanding having found the perfect balance of professionalism and friendliness (same for the lady who managed breakfast in the morning.) The whole place felt like it had just been refurbished and was immaculately clean.

Breakfast was first class, cooked to order instead of the buffet style setups that seem to be favoured in larger hotels and with really high quality ingredients.

Overall, I felt that the Lamb exceeded expectation and offered a better package than some, more expensive hotels. I would certainly stay there again and recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbo37_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeN593, Owner at The Lamb at Angmering, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We would like to thank the reviewer very much for his honest assessment of our establishment. We did feel the previous review was very savage with a one star review for the issues that were raised. This review has given us a real lift and we were delighted to read it.
We have taken note of the minor points in the review and have attended to the wardrobe. Thank you once again and we hope to be of service to you at The Lamb at Angmering when you are next in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked to stay for a friends wedding in the area, two couples staying in double rooms. We rang the day before to ask if it was all right to arrive a bit earlier and check in, in order to get ready in time for the wedding. This was not a problem and when we arrived the room was ready. We had a beer and a light lunch which was quick and delicious. They booked us a taxi for later to attend the evening reception and even printed out the directions for us. We went off to the wedding and returned early afternoon. We booked a table in the restaurant to eat dinner before the reception. The food was absolutely fantastic it was beyond what we expected. The waiting staff were pleasant and answered our questions with real knowledge about the menu and specials board. Everything about the meal was perfect and that is high praise from us. The rooms are great with big beds and plenty of wardrobe space and nice tea facilities. The power shower was to die for! Everyone was genuinely pleased to see you and nothing was too much trouble. They are very friendly and extremely welcoming. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend you to go there.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeN593, Owner at The Lamb at Angmering, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

We were delighted to read this review and thank the reviewer for the very kind comments in it. It is a real tonic for us and our staff to receive such praise and we do hope we have the pleasure of another visit from you in the future. Very many thanks from all of the team at The Lamb at Angmering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We arrived at the Lamb at 4pm on a Friday to stay for two nights. When we arrived we were shown up to the room, after travelling a long way we thought we would have an hour or so relaxing and settling in before heading out for dinner somewhere. Shortly after we arrived a terrible noise started which sounded like a bricks going round in a cement mixer, this was making the floor in our room vibrate!! At the same time we could also hear kitchen staff singing along to the radio as we seemed to face out onto the kitchen/staff courtyard area. We gave them the benefit of the doubt and went out for dinner into Brighton. When we returned at around 22:00, the pub was in full swing and we were expecting some noise from the pub goers, this was not too bad considering how busy the pub was. However at about 22:40 this awful noise started again, this kept us awake, and as it was now night time the noise seemed a lot worse. It continued for 20 mins before we got up and banged on the floor as we did not want to go down once ready for bed! The noise promptly stopped, this was extremely annoying as the person must have known that this noise was bad in the room above. When we mentioned it in the morning the duty manager said they had been moving tables, this certainly was not the noise created by moving tables as it sounded mechanical. Further more the bed was like a plank of wood and was two singles pushed together so in the middle you had a even harder raised join. We also had to ask for the toilet seat to be fixed down to prevent sliding off!!!
Extremely disappointing as it was meant to be a better stay, we would have rather stayed in the Travelodge just up the road!

Room Tip: Don't Stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeN593, Owner at The Lamb at Angmering, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

O dear, Builders in to renovate our Courtyard was the big issue here.
I have spoken to the reviewer at length and it is clear we did not pick up on the level of disruption that they received.
Our builders, who were working underneath the reviewers room in our courtyard were asked to stop work at 5.30 pm. At 4.30 on the day of the reviewers arrival they were mixing concrete at the same time the reviewers decided to take a quick nap. Later that evening our kitchen porters brought in the outside tables and chairs and made a racket trying to move builders equipment from their path to stack them away for the night. The 20 minutes this took caused the reviewers to be woken and disturbed their nights sleep.
Our lovely builders were also the cause of the singing, the kitchen is closed from 3pm to 6pm and empty. However the builders radio and X factor audition was enough to keep our reviewers awake during the late afternoon.
I have apologised unreservedly to the reviewer, the liaison between ourselves and our builders
was not good enough and we failed to pick up on the level of the reviewers discontent.
When you have noise issues twice in 24 hours other issues are highlighted, its the nature of being agitated. Hence the reference to the toilet seat, they do come loose occasionally and it was tightened up as soon as it was brought to our attention.
However, I will defend our beds vigorously against what I believe to be extremely unfair criticism. All of our beds are of a high quality and were purchased a year ago. They are zip and link super king beds and have a padded mattress protector on them. If you look back over the previous 41 reviews the comments on our beds are numerous. In recent reviews reviewers have said:-
*Fantastically comfy wide bed.
*Super King size bed.
*Bed led to a great nights sleep.
*Comfortable super king bed a definite plus.
*Great bed.
*A great night's sleep.
*The bed was very comfortable.
I could go on but I think the point is made, if the reviewer thinks our beds are 'like a plank of wood', I can only assume the reviewer regularly sleeps on a bean bag.
In summary, our heavy building work, which we did not manage well with the reviewer is now complete. We should have done better. As I said above, I have phoned and apologised personally to the reviewer.
We continue at The Lamb to invest our time in customer satisfaction and we are all very upset we came up short this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angmering
0.2 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
333 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Littlehampton Rustington
3.5 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,039 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
221 reviews
4.3 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 10 in Worthing
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb at Angmering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb at Angmering

Address: The Square | Angmering, Angmering, Littlehampton BN16 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Littlehampton > Angmering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Angmering
Price Range: $135 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lamb at Angmering 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lamb at Angmering is an 18th century Hotel just 2 miles from the sea. The Lamb was recently purchased by the Newbon family and had a complete refit. 5 beautifully equipped bedrooms were completed in April 2012 and another in our courtyard in late 2013 making a total of 6 rooms. Bathrooms and beds are top quality with power showers, TVs. tea, nespresso coffee machine,biscuits and bottled water. Wifi is free at The Lamb. The bar and restaurant have an excellent reputation for good ales and locally sourced quality food. The Lamb is very conveniently placed to visit Arundel 4 miles, Chichester and Goodwood, 11 miles and Brighton 18 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lamb at Angmering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb At Angmering Littlehampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing