We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten Out of Five”

The Lamb at Angmering
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Angmering
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $45
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Lamb at Angmering, is a grade II listed Hotel and Gastro Pub dating back to 1775. It was closed in September 2011 and relaunched in April 2012. Purchased from Punch Taverns by the Newbon Family, The Lamb is back in private hands for the first time in 125 years. The Lamb at Angmering has been reborn, its renovation has provided 8 beautifully decorated ensuite bedrooms with wifi, a wonderful bar with a Charles II fireplace and an excellent restaurant using locally sourced ingredients under the control of Executive Chef Richard Cook. The Restaurant gained entry into The Good Food Guide 2016 edition. The Lamb at Angmering lies 2 miles from the sea in West Sussex, it is the ideal place to stay for Goodwood and Chichester 12 miles, Rustington 2 miles, Arundel 4 miles, Littlehampton 4 miles, Worthing 6 miles and Brighton 18 miles. We are just a mile away from the beautiful Ham Manor Golf Course.Our restaurant is closed on Sunday evenings.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ten Out of Five”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

From the moment we arrived we were given a very warm welcome. We were staying for the night. Service and food were all excellent. Staff had time to talk and were knowledgable abut the menu. Food was delicious and the guinea fowl mains a triumph (put the confit leg pie on as a starter!!) We had a fantastic stay and would recommend the restaurant and the accomodation to anyone. The family work very hard to make it welcoming to locals and visitors alike. It's a long way for us to travel but one day we hope to be back. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pomarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    138
    30
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We met some friends and went to The Lamb in Angmering, Sussex, the outdoor area was lovely and clean looking and people were alfresco eating, the bar (which us where we sat) was very cosy, the main restaurant was beautiful. The food was wonderful, and the knickerbocker glory was to die for, all in all a great place would recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
495 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Just that bit away from the conventional to make it interesting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I haven’t eaten in The Lamb for about 15 years and am pleased to see it has changed hands. Food everywhere has improved so much during that time and at The Lamb the whole scene has changed immensely for the better. It is now a quite typical Southern Counties gastropub of which there are such a wealth in this part of the UK, serving well-heeled local people most of whom have time to spend along with their money in their retirement so, establishments have to contend and strive to perform better than many neighbours. Having said that, decent competition locally is almost non-existent. The Lamb is now well laid out and attractively furnished with a wide range of seating options. We had a light lunch which included a lamb burger which was of excellent flavour and texture – we were told all food in locally sourced. I didn’t care that much for the potato wedges that accompanied. I expected crispy chip-like wedges and the boiled potatoes with skins on that were smothered in butter was not really up to the mark with the rest of the dish. Along with the focaccia that the burger was laid on, the whole dish did not balance well; but the meat was superb. We tried two different starters, a pork rillette and an unusual hot salmon Caesar salad, this latter having the fish nicely undercooked to the correct degree and with a light salad dressing that did not pile on the calories. A two-course light lunch of this quality for £12 seems a good deal for tasty and out-of-the-ordinary food. Being lunchtime and being on the road, we did not have wine. The display cabinet contained a wide range of wines, many of which you do not see that frequently in restaurants; there were some rather unusual items to be had. It was rather like the food – just that bit away from the conventional to make it interesting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OLDGIT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

My partner and I visited last night after finding the restaurant in Tripadvisor, having thought it had closed down for good a couple of years ago - must get out more! It is still very much the village pub (good beer) with the bare wooden floored restaurant in the bistro style. Contrary to some comments of others on here we were delighted with the menu (we both had difficulty in making a choice for all 3 courses) and thought the food was original, well cooked, very tasty and well presented. The maître d was excellent - enthusiastic, knowledgeable, helpful and welcoming - as he should be(!) but the food made the evening for us even persuading us to go for the cheese and pudding which was a good move.
To us it was exactly what it says, a Gastro Pub!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sibajak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good, very comfortable, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Wife and I stayed at the Lamb for one night last week and received exactly what we wanted and hoped for. A traditional but modernised decor, comfortable rooms, great nights sleep in a bed with lots of support. Manager and staff were super helpful and gave that extra bit of service. Great to come across such an attitude.

My only quibble is that the breakfast was good but not brilliant. When the rest of the Lamb was to a high standard the breakfast seemed a little processed. Maybe it is just me and I should get over it?

Definitely would stay there again and recommend it without hesitation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidHarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lamb at Angmering also viewed

Angmering, Littlehampton
Angmering, Littlehampton
 
Littlehampton, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to The Lamb at Angmering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing