We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We thought it would be good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lamb at Angmering

The Lamb at Angmering
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Angmering
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $43
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Lamb at Angmering, is a grade II listed Hotel and Gastro Pub dating back to 1775. It was closed in September 2011 and relaunched in April 2012. Purchased from Punch Taverns by the Newbon Family, The Lamb is back in private hands for the first time in 125 years. The Lamb at Angmering has been reborn, its renovation has provided 8 beautifully decorated ensuite bedrooms with wifi, a wonderful bar with a Charles II fireplace and an excellent restaurant using locally sourced ingredients under the control of Executive Chef Richard Cook. The Restaurant gained entry into The Good Food Guide 2016 edition. The Lamb at Angmering lies 2 miles from the sea in West Sussex, it is the ideal place to stay for Goodwood and Chichester 12 miles, Rustington 2 miles, Arundel 4 miles, Littlehampton 4 miles, Worthing 6 miles and Brighton 18 miles. We are just a mile away from the beautiful Ham Manor Golf Course.Our restaurant is closed on Sunday evenings.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“We thought it would be good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We thought it would be good as our booking was the last table available. Of the party of 4, only one starter was rated OK, the rest of us not so good, very bland. This was a warning as the main course menu was limited and 2 of us in desperation had fish and chips. You know how it reads, local fish in beer batter and hand-cut chips. Reality soggy tasteless fish and chips some pretty raw. It obviously was cooked too early and was far worse than the 2 high end fish and ship cafes in the Worthing area we go to at much less cost. To finish, Puds were tasteless. The dining room was full and noisy, so this pub grub not for us

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank worthingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeN593, Owner at The Lamb at Angmering, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
If readers would like to read my previous management responses they will see I have always apologised to the reviewer for complaints that have been made and we have then made every effort to rectify them. However this review is rather different, there will be no apology but I will respond fully to the content of the review above.
In short the reviewers complaints are as follows:-
1. Bland starters.
2. Limited menu.
3. Soggy fried fish.
4. Raw chips.
5. Tasteless puds.
6. Full and noisy Dining Room.
The Lamb at Angmering takes all of its complaints from customers very seriously, that is why we have a complaints book where all complaints are logged by date and time and the nature of the complaint. We also note each party, date and table number and make regular checks to see if things are ok.
The reviewers party were booked in at 6,45pm on Saturday February 2nd and assigned table 1.
The party were personally looked after by our very experienced restaurant manageress who is in complete control of the dining room. I have had a lengthy conversation with her about the reviewer and his party and she assures me at no time was any complaint of any sort registered.She also confirms and the Head Chef supports her that nothing from this table was returned to the kitchen. There is nothing in the complaints book and nothing to indicate the level of criticism leveled by the reviewer.
With regard to the complaints:-
I. BLAND STARTERS. Not a complaint we have ever received before, as we do not know what starters we are talking about it is difficult to comment further.
2. LIMITED MENU. The menu is outside the main door to view, its posted on our website and is available for customers to view in the establishment. there are always 8 starters and 8 mains to choose from. We are known to change our menu's every month to give variety and source fresh ingredients. The choices on the night for a main course were:- River Avon Trout, Guinea Foul, Local Fish and Chips, Whole Local Sea Bass, Roasted Corn Fed Chicken, Leek and Potato Terrine, 10oz. Sirloin Steak, Braised Beef Shin. The reviewer and another member of the party 'in desperation' at the 'limited menu' chose fish and chips. I simply cannot apologise for a menu that is well balanced, has good variety and that has had numerous compliments since it came out. If the menu was not to the reviewers liking what was the point of eating in the establishment?
3. SOGGY FRIED FISH. Our fish is cooked to order and certainly not 'too early' as suggested. We would never fry fish and hold it to order, This was one of the first tables in to dine that evening and would have been the start of the evenings cooking. No complaint was received.
4. RAW CHIPS. There is nothing worse than a raw chip, they are almost inedible and would surely have been immediately notified to the Restaurant Manageress. There was no complaint and nothing sent back to the kitchen.
5. TASTELESS PUDS. Never had a complaint of this nature since we opened some 10 months ago. With choices from:- Apple and Frangipane tart with amaretto Custard and Blackberry compote,--Cranachan, honey and whisky parfait, whisky soaked oats and raspberries,--Dark chocolate mousse, griotine cherries, shortbread, mascarpone ice cream, plus local Sussex Ice Creams and a Sussex and South Coast Cheese board. Tasteless seems a very odd criticism as most puds are full of flavoursome ingredients. We have had the opposite, "Your chocolate tart was too rich for me". But tasteless???
6. THE DINING ROOM WAS FULL AND NOISY. Saturday night, if its not full and people are not enjoying themselves with conversation then something is wrong with our business. Its not a doctors waiting room, customers do not have to whisper. We are delighted with the atmosphere created in our dining room. The tables are well spaced to give privacy and conversation is encouraged, its not a library.
Finally I notice the reviewer has also reviewed one of the top restaurants in West Sussex that has two AA rosettes. He said it was pretentious, a huge disappointment and overpriced. Well, we are in good company, it somehow gives us the feeling that we are indeed on the right track.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    134
    30
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Angmering, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant Restaurant and Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

There are many and varied pubs in the Angmering, West Sussex area but for consistent, quality food, at a reasonable price, then the Lamb is the best by far. Add to that the friendly, couteous service, which Samantha supplied, then you have an experience worth a try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Service very good, atmosphere good – it was the food that let it down. In fairness, it was my meal that disappointed – my chum being ‘quite happy’ with hers. I chose Mussels in Thai Broth. The broth was quite delicious – hot, sour and spicy but the mussels were small and tasteless – probably because they were severely overcooked and at least half a dozen of them still had the beards attached. Braised shin of beef had great flavour and was meltingly tender but cried out for some liquid - what chefs call jus and normal people call gravy - what it didn't need was a large handful of pea shoots heaped on the top which, not surprisingly, were warm and limp and added nothing to an otherwise OK dish. We will give it another go, as I'm told they’re usually better than this.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lionel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeN593, Owner at The Lamb at Angmering, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are sorry the reviewer had some issues with his meal when he visited us for the first time. We would like to thank him for the kind comments he made and we are delighted to read he will be visiting us again 'for another try'. On the issue of his mussels we noted his comments in our complaints book at the time and have taken action to ensure better product is delivered in future. We also take note of his comment regarding the jus/gravy issue which I personally have some sympathy with. We will try and ensure his next visit is faultless and look forward to welcoming him back to The Lamb at Angmering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good, but let down by their chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good restaurant and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. We were, however disappointed by their home made, handcut chips. They looked wonderful, but unfortunately were very unexciting. They tasted pre-cooked and reheated. Everything else was wonderful, so don't get too put off. There are some very imaginative creations to excite your taste buds.

Helpful?
Thank Visitor_from_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeN593, Owner at The Lamb at Angmering, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
We would like to thank our reviewer from Scotland for his very kind comments on The Lamb at Angmering. His complaint about the chips has been taken to the kitchen and discussed with our Head Chef. Strangely we changed our potato supplier only a week ago due to the odd poor quality potato being discovered. All suppliers to The Lamb are regularly reviewed and changed if our high standards are not being met.
However the reviewers complaint is more likely to be an oversight between our kitchen/front of house with the chips waiting to be served for longer than is normal. We are sorry for this oversight and hope it did not spoil your evening. We cannot trace a complaint at the time, so please on your next visit bring it to the attention of Liam our General Manager or Sue our Restaurant Manager and we will arrange a super portion of The Lamb's twice cooked chips for your table.
In closing I would like to assure the reviewer that our chips are never, ever, reheated, as in normal practice they are 'blanched' quickly cooled and then deep fried.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Consistently very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have now been to this restaurant three times and each time have had an excellent meal. The menu has a good choice and in addition there are always two starter and main course specials on offer. Several items on the menu are identified as being locally sourced (eg always the cheese and the ice cream as well as others). There is a good selection of wines including a large variety sold by the glass.

On our last visit I particularly enjoyed the apple and frangipane tart which was to die for; and my husband loved the local sea bass served with sun blushed tomatoes and olives.

The service is always friendly and helpful and even though the specials appear on a board, the staff are keen to explain them. We will definitely continue to visit on a regular basis.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lamb at Angmering also viewed

Angmering, Littlehampton
Angmering, Littlehampton
 
Littlehampton, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 
Littlehampton, Arun District
 

Been to The Lamb at Angmering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing