We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Restaurant and Pub”

The Lamb at Angmering
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Angmering
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $45
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Lamb at Angmering, is a grade II listed Hotel and Gastro Pub dating back to 1775. It was closed in September 2011 and relaunched in April 2012. Purchased from Punch Taverns by the Newbon Family, The Lamb is back in private hands for the first time in 125 years. The Lamb at Angmering has been reborn, its renovation has provided 8 beautifully decorated ensuite bedrooms with wifi, a wonderful bar with a Charles II fireplace and an excellent restaurant using locally sourced ingredients under the control of Executive Chef Richard Cook. The Restaurant gained entry into The Good Food Guide 2016 edition. The Lamb at Angmering lies 2 miles from the sea in West Sussex, it is the ideal place to stay for Goodwood and Chichester 12 miles, Rustington 2 miles, Arundel 4 miles, Littlehampton 4 miles, Worthing 6 miles and Brighton 18 miles. We are just a mile away from the beautiful Ham Manor Golf Course.Our restaurant is closed on Sunday evenings.
Angmering, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant Restaurant and Pub”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

There are many and varied pubs in the Angmering, West Sussex area but for consistent, quality food, at a reasonable price, then the Lamb is the best by far. Add to that the friendly, couteous service, which Samantha supplied, then you have an experience worth a try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    146
    34
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Service very good, atmosphere good – it was the food that let it down. In fairness, it was my meal that disappointed – my chum being ‘quite happy’ with hers. I chose Mussels in Thai Broth. The broth was quite delicious – hot, sour and spicy but the mussels were small and tasteless – probably because they were severely overcooked and at least half a dozen of them still had the beards attached. Braised shin of beef had great flavour and was meltingly tender but cried out for some liquid - what chefs call jus and normal people call gravy - what it didn't need was a large handful of pea shoots heaped on the top which, not surprisingly, were warm and limp and added nothing to an otherwise OK dish. We will give it another go, as I'm told they’re usually better than this.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lionel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeN593, Owner at The Lamb at Angmering, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are sorry the reviewer had some issues with his meal when he visited us for the first time. We would like to thank him for the kind comments he made and we are delighted to read he will be visiting us again 'for another try'. On the issue of his mussels we noted his comments in our complaints book at the time and have taken action to ensure better product is delivered in future. We also take note of his comment regarding the jus/gravy issue which I personally have some sympathy with. We will try and ensure his next visit is faultless and look forward to welcoming him back to The Lamb at Angmering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very good, but let down by their chips”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good restaurant and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. We were, however disappointed by their home made, handcut chips. They looked wonderful, but unfortunately were very unexciting. They tasted pre-cooked and reheated. Everything else was wonderful, so don't get too put off. There are some very imaginative creations to excite your taste buds.

Helpful?
Thank Visitor_from_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeN593, Owner at The Lamb at Angmering, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
We would like to thank our reviewer from Scotland for his very kind comments on The Lamb at Angmering. His complaint about the chips has been taken to the kitchen and discussed with our Head Chef. Strangely we changed our potato supplier only a week ago due to the odd poor quality potato being discovered. All suppliers to The Lamb are regularly reviewed and changed if our high standards are not being met.
However the reviewers complaint is more likely to be an oversight between our kitchen/front of house with the chips waiting to be served for longer than is normal. We are sorry for this oversight and hope it did not spoil your evening. We cannot trace a complaint at the time, so please on your next visit bring it to the attention of Liam our General Manager or Sue our Restaurant Manager and we will arrange a super portion of The Lamb's twice cooked chips for your table.
In closing I would like to assure the reviewer that our chips are never, ever, reheated, as in normal practice they are 'blanched' quickly cooled and then deep fried.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Consistently very good”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have now been to this restaurant three times and each time have had an excellent meal. The menu has a good choice and in addition there are always two starter and main course specials on offer. Several items on the menu are identified as being locally sourced (eg always the cheese and the ice cream as well as others). There is a good selection of wines including a large variety sold by the glass.

On our last visit I particularly enjoyed the apple and frangipane tart which was to die for; and my husband loved the local sea bass served with sun blushed tomatoes and olives.

The service is always friendly and helpful and even though the specials appear on a board, the staff are keen to explain them. We will definitely continue to visit on a regular basis.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Christmas Meal”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went to The Lamb for a meal with my boss as a Christmas get together, Glad we booked as it was really busy when we got there (a good sign). What a meal. Three stunning courses, Beautifully cooked particularly the monkfish. Very attentive service from our waitress. All of our party could not find fault with anything and we will certainly return. The Lamb is a real gem for everything from a snack to fine dinning of the highest standard.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank howard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lamb at Angmering also viewed

Angmering, Littlehampton
Angmering, Littlehampton
 
Littlehampton, Arun District
 

Been to The Lamb at Angmering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing