We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful spot in the lovely Sussex countryside!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burpham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burpham Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Burpham B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 28, 2010

We have just returned from our second visit to Burpham House and it was perfect!
Peaceful setting, comfortable rooms, excellent food and service and as before a warm
and friendly welcome from Steve and Jackie. We are looking forward to our next visit in
October!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 175 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2010

What a great place in a beautiful Sussex village. We stayed in room 7 which is large and has a lovely large window seat for taking in the sun and views.

The breakfast was good and served in a large conservatory. As we were only there for one night we didn't have a chance to sample the restuarant, but the menu looked interesting.

Definately a place worth a second visit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of staying at this hotel of the beaten track for a chill out break. The facilities, location and most importantly food was outstanding. We were made most welcome throughout out our stay. Our host Steve and Jackie Penticost (not forgetting the cat Lucy) made us most welcome. Their local knowledge and in particular the history of the area was impressive. We dined in their Brasserie and found the food outstanding (loved Steve's home made fish cakes) and would recommend their locally sourced menus. Overall Highly Recommended. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerrybec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

We've stayed at Burpham Country House several times now and it just gets better and better. In fact we love it so much that we had our wedding reception there last year which was absolutely fantastic. Jackie and Steve are brilliant hosts and they have created a beautiful, homely place for guests to enjoy. Rooms are beautifully and tastefully furnished and no attention to detail is spared. We ate in the hotel both evenings we were there. Steve has created a wonderful menu of modern British and European dishes, including venison, chicken, beef bourgignon and duck. Portions are perfect and the service by Jackie and her staff is attentive without being intrusive. Breakfast is delicious and as well as the traditional cooked English grill, you can take your pick from healthier options such as the Burpham smoothie and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. It was a shame that we weren't staying longer as we could've happily worked our way through the rest of the menu for both breakfast and dinner!

We have stayed at some amazing hotels around the world but Burpham Country House remains top of our list and we can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r_m_hurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Me and my husband stayed at Burpham Country House over Valentine's weekend (2010). This is a lovely hotel - our room was very nice, spacious and very comfortable. The service was excellent and general atmosphere is very relaxing and infact very homely. We also ate at the restaurant on Saturday night - the food was very good! Would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baziz1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

just returned from a two night break, which recharged our batteries. The hotel is loveiy and clean and very comfortable. We had room 1 which was really nice. Nice power shower and very comfy bed. Nice little extras we didn't expect, shower gel and shampoo in the shower room, hairdryer and if you wanted an iron and ironing board an request.
Nice and warm as well on chilly days. Breakfast was served in the conservatory which was really good, all cooked to your choice. Jackie and Steve the owner are very friendly and nothing seemed to much trouble. They are obviously very proud of their home, and rightly so. They had spent a lot of time and effort trying to restore some of the original charm the house probaly had, while adding the comforts of today. we would love to go back in the spring, to enjoy the garden and explore some of the walks on the downs. unfortunately the Restaraunt was closed on the night we stayed so couldn't sample steve's cooking.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Not for the first time we left Burpham House feeling refreshed from a short break in this friendly Country Hotel. The food was excellent, and again showed the flair of the owners in their choice of menue and locally scourced ingerdients.

The House is situated on the East side the river Arun flood plain, and the village of Burpham has views to the West. Arundel Castle, which is well worth a visit, is vizible on the far side of the Valley.

Quiet, friendly, & comfortable, are all words which are an appropiate description of Burpham House.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Burpham Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burpham Country House

Address: The Street, Burpham BN18 9RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Burpham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Burpham
Price Range: $54 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burpham Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burpham Country House offers tranquil country house accommodation and group dining, set in the heart of the South Downs near Arundel, West Sussex. We specialize in exclusive use letting of the whole house, with or without dining, for celebrations and groups. We can cater for up to 20 resident guests, and up to 36 dining. We also sell individual rooms for Goodwood Events, and for weekends throughout July. We have nine en-suite rooms, most with downland views, five doubles, 4 double/twins, ranging from standard rooms to four-poster and luxury super-kings. We have a lovely guest lounge and gardens and we are fully licensed. We offer free parking and Wi-fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burpham Country House Hotel Burpham
Burpham Country House West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing