We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and Quaint”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burpham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burpham Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Burpham B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely and Quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at Burpham Country House, a lovely and quaint house. The bed was very comfortable – maybe too much so as I couldn’t wake my snoring husband from his restful slumber. The facilities in the room were more than adequate with tea / coffee making facilities, bottles of water, TV, dressing table, cupboard, etc and the towels in the bathroom which are soft and fluffy!
The view from our room was unimpressive as it was looking out towards the back of the house. If you are looking for a view, make sure you get one of the front rooms.
I suppose the only thing to watch out for is the Wasps during Wasp season. Our bathroom window was open and, I suspect, the annoying flying insects found their way into our room from there.
The breakfast was served downstairs in a lovely, relaxing setting with a view across the garden.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    40
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
118
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

This is a delightfully situated small hotel well off the beaten track but within easy reach of Arundel and the coastal resorts of W. Sussex. It has a lovely garden with a croquet lawn. Our room, No 7 was large with well equipped bathroom. The bed linen was of the highest quality and towels the softest we have experienced in many hotels.( Pity that they do not supply face flannels which are important if you wet shave!). Tea making facilities are in the rooms and bottled water is replaced each day. However, the armchairs in the room are on the small side and not particularly comfortable after a few minutes. Out room also had a small flat screen TV and a welcoming glass of sherry on arrival.
The breakfast served is the expected full "english" with excellent locally sourced bacon and sausages. However the fruit available was a little disappointing, there being no grapefruit, prunes etc. or fresh berries!
The hotel provides dinner from Tuesday to Saturday night and we and two other family members had dinner at the Burpham on Saturday night. We had a three course meal which was well prepared by the owner/chef. The meal was of good quality but perhaps a little short on the quantity of vegetables. Given the quality of the meal ingredients, table linen and reasonably priced wines, it was surprising that the Burpham only provides paper napkins rather than linen which you would normally expect from a good hotel restaurant. In all, we thought that the cost of dinner was a little high for what we had compared to other restaurants in the locality and more particularly the pub/restaurant just a little further down the road which some might consider to be better value for comparable quality!
The main criticism is that the owners have a family cat that makes itself at home in all the public rooms, lounge (where there is a well equipped "honesty" bar) and restaurant. This may be ok for animal lovers but not for those who don't like to see family pets in the main restaurant-not to mention those guests/diners who may be allergic to cats!
Perhaps they should warn potential guests on their otherwise very good website! In our opinion guests should only expect to come into contact with family pets in B & B's (and even then, if pre-warned)- and not establishments which advertise themselves as hotels.
Apart from these relatively small gripes we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would stay again (if they would have us after these comments!)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigcheeseofwrittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snappergirl, Owner at Burpham Country House, responded to this review, July 23, 2009
A couple of points:

Burpham Country House is classified as a country house/B&B, and not as a hotel. As such, we meet and exceed 4 star silver quality awards for this category, including all amenities.

We price our rooms competitively in line with this classification for B&B accommodation in Arundel.

The presence of our cat, Lucy, is heavily advertised on our website, indeed an entire page is called 'lounges, garden and cat', and it is indicated that Lucy 'may doze anywhere, including in your lap'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

This was our last trip before impending parenthood so we wanted something luxurious, quiet and in a lovely setting - we got all of that and more - a delightful obese cat, wonderful food (locally sourced food unfussily and skillfully cooked, and a FANTASTIC cheeseboard) and Steve and Jackie's humour and warmth - surreal anecdotes and superb knowledge of the food they cooked and of the local area. Would recommend to any food lovers, romantics or fans of large cats.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anon086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

My husband and I do not live far from this beautiful house and had wanted to stay here since my husband brought me last Valentine's Day for a meal. Our stay did not disappoint, a stunning house with a beautiful gardens, extremely elegant decor and a beautiful view over the south downs. Jackie and Steve were excellent hosts, being friendly but not intrusive. The food was excellent and Lucy the cat was very friendly! The surrounding countryside is beautiful and there are many things to do. If you want a peaceful rest and a chance to get away from it all this is the place for you. We cannot recommend it enough and are already planning when we can stay again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wadhurst
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

A location to die for coupled with a culinary delight & hosts who appreciate what the customer is looking for at a price no one can argue with lead one to conclude this is an experience not to miss.As a bye do not miss out on the Scrambled Eggs & don't forget to say hello to Lucy the cat.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Burpham Country House for a night at the weekend, just to get away from home. The hotel had a lovely country house feel to it, luxurious in a way but not pretentious or too big. The room was really pleasant, the only bugbear was for that price it was a shame not to have a bath in our ensuite, only a shower. Only one of the rooms has a bath and ours wasn't it! It was a really pleasant place to be though, with lovely gardens and dining rooms. Breakfast, included in the room price, was OK but not amazing - one of each of the traditional English breakfast type thing. There were no loud people, children or dogs and it was a lovely, peaceful retreat in beautiful surroundings. We chose to eat at the local pub rather than the hotel restaurant; the food at the pub was superb but I suspect that the food at the hotel was jut as good - it looked great but we wanted to go out for the evening.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huncherina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snappergirl, Owner at Burpham Country House, responded to this review, May 7, 2009
A small correction to this review, which indicates that only one room has a bath.

We have rooms with baths in each category of room, from standard through to luxury, so four of our 10 rooms have baths as well as showers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2009

Ultimate relaxing weekend away. We were greated by warm and friendly staff, and a smiley fat, black and white cat. The food is fantastic. The breakfasts generous and all produce of the highest standards. Guests also have use of a comfortable lounge, and the garden. We're planning on bringing my in laws here for a weekend away and will be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZanaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burpham
1.9 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burpham Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burpham Country House

Property: Burpham Country House
Address: The Street, Burpham BN18 9RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Burpham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Burpham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Burpham Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burpham Country House offers tranquil country house accommodation and group dining, set in the heart of the South Downs near Arundel, West Sussex. We specialize in exclusive use letting of the whole house, with or without dining, for celebrations and groups. We can cater for up to 20 resident guests, and up to 36 dining. We also sell individual rooms for Goodwood Events, and for weekends throughout July. We have nine en-suite rooms, most with downland views, five doubles, 4 double/twins, ranging from standard rooms to four-poster and luxury super-kings. We have a lovely guest lounge and gardens and we are fully licensed. We offer free parking and Wi-fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burpham Country House Hotel Burpham
Burpham Country House West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing