We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best kept secret in southern england”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burpham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burpham Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Burpham B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“best kept secret in southern england”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We travelled to the south of England for the Goodwood Festival of Speed. This little hotel must be one of the best kept secrets in englands south, the hosts Steve and Jackie are very hosptiable, the rooms are comfy and well sized (including the bathroom where they actually have a powerful shower), meals are a treat with Steve's cooking way above what can be expected in a small village, the wine list was reasonably priced. A great four night stay which was very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    40
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
118
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Second time we stayed here. Great setting, pleasant owners who make you feel relaxed and welcome. The rooms are very comfortable and the local pub is within walking distance and very pleasant. A perfect spot to visit Arunndel or just relax and go for local walks.Their cats are wonderful as well.

Room Tip: Top floor offer great views, rooms 6&7 are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband & I have just returned from a 2 night break to this wonderful small hotel. We both needed a rest and the chance to unwind and thanks to Steve and Jackie and their team our objective was certainly met! Our room (7) was lovely, I especially liked sitting in the window seat reading the paper in the sun & the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The decanter of sherry was a charming touch and we enjoyed this little tipple prior to dinner. We ate both nights in the restaurant, both meals equally delicious but special mention goes to my divinely cooked calves liver! Steve definately has a passion for local, seasonal produce.We walked along the river bank into Arundel and visited the castle, which was magnificent. The hotel had given us a discount voucher which was much appreciated. We had a lovely break and will definately be back. Our trip was made even more memorable by the birth of the proprietors first grandchild (everyone in the hotel had waited with baited breath for the important phonecall!) We celebrated with champagne and many congratulations. I can unreservedly recommend this charming, quiet, rural retreat, we can't praise them enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmakersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Burpham Country House, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Many thanks, Kerseys! it can't be often that the birth of a child is announced in TripAdvisor- a new first I would say. Noah is doing well. I'd like also to thanks all of our contributors, we don't do it enough. Your feedback and positive comments mean the world to us, and help us to remember the lovely times we have with our guests.

Jackie and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Burpham Country House is an excellent base to stay in West Sussex. Only a few minutes drive to Arundel. Surrounding views are lovely and the B&B itself is very good. Rooms are nice, owners very accommodating and breakfasts were very tasty. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandJennyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalmthout
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The location is perfect, though the room we hade was a littel small as was the bed. The service was exelent and the hosts where most friendly to us. It is a good place to go to with your old MG and they will host you like old friends. The parking is small so that could be a improvement for the future. The garden is worth going around. The meals where perfect. The hosts do everything to give you the feeling of being at home.

Room Tip: We did have room 4 wth was okay but not to much room. So next time we will go for a room with more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zirconKalmthout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as a base for walking the south downs. The owners have good local knowledge and happy to lend oss maps and guides. They were kind enough to lend us a back pack as we left ours at home. All previous reviews spot on and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed in early spring for 5 nights and had a lovely time. The proprietors are warm and welcoming, the property very comfortable and the food superb. We gave up eating out, the hotel restaurant is first class!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayceeHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burpham
1.9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
623 reviews
1.8 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
985 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
83 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,970 reviews
3.4 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burpham Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burpham Country House

Property: Burpham Country House
Address: The Street, Burpham BN18 9RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Burpham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Burpham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Burpham Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burpham Country House offers tranquil country house accommodation and group dining, set in the heart of the South Downs near Arundel, West Sussex. We specialize in exclusive use letting of the whole house, with or without dining, for celebrations and groups. We can cater for up to 20 resident guests, and up to 36 dining. We also sell individual rooms for Goodwood Events, and for weekends throughout July. We have nine en-suite rooms, most with downland views, five doubles, 4 double/twins, ranging from standard rooms to four-poster and luxury super-kings. We have a lovely guest lounge and gardens and we are fully licensed. We offer free parking and Wi-fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burpham Country House Hotel Burpham
Burpham Country House West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing