We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aghadowey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night break in a cottage at the Brown trout. So relaxing it felt like we had been there for a week. Myself, hubby, daughter , 2 grandchildren and a very happy Beagle had a great time. Nothing was too much trouble. Everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. We even baked some buns!! Hope to return with some more of the family. Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian&Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 363 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have travelled here every year for past 5 years plus. There are 4 cottages beside the hotel, very spacious and with all mod cons - 3tvs, dish washer, microwave etc and choice of one or two bedrooms. Each bedroom has 2 double beds and large ensuite with bath and shower. This accommodation is situated on the edge of the golf course and is quiet and peaceful with lovely scenic views and squirrels running past your window. They are also very animal friendly so you can bring all your pets. Def recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquil33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I went to Northern Ireland for the Milk Cup Football Tournament 2012 and this was a great place to stay to sight see and get to all the match venues in the area. We were a group of four couples staying in bungalows close to the golf course. The bedrooms and bathrooms are very spacious and clean. There was ample storage space. Our room had two double beds which was great and tea and coffee facilities, very welcome after a busy day. The main hotel is rustic but absolutely charming and the staff and regulars are the friendliest people I have ever come across and made our stay very enjoyable. The service and food was great. We had several bar snacks and two full three course meals during our stay and they were lovely. The breakfasts are huge and there is a great choice. The porridge with honey and cream is delightful and was my personal favourite. The open fires gave the place a lovely cosy feel and we were made to feel very welcome at all times. They even phoned up to enquire if we would need an evening meal late one night when we ate out to make sure the kitchen would stay open if we needed it. The staff here know how to look after you and make your stay enjoyable. The barman Gerry has been there many years and his rapport with guests is natural and entertaining. He even taught us a couple of magic tricks as one of our party was an amateur magician, but even he couldn't fool Gerry. If you need a base in Northern Ireland you will not be disappointed here. It has x-factor.

Room Tip: The bungalows are peaceful with lovely views of the golf course and patio furniture to enjoy evening...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lin_holding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn is a really friendly place to go for a casual meal or a special occasion. we have had large family birthday parties recently we went to celebrate our sons graduation and as always we all had a great time. there is accommodation and a lovely golf course but we have not used these but we have had lovely walks down by the river. we like to go during the day as i need to rest in the evenings but we have had meals in the upstairs restaurant in the evenings they even have a chair lift which is nesasary for me
great friendly atmosphere great meal reasonably priced good size meals
rosemarie

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemarie209952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

When staying at the nearby Drumaheglis Marina, we went to the Brown Trout for a meal. I have eaten there before and this visit was just as enjoyable. My friend and I had Chicken Parfait and Chicken Caesar Salad as starters, both of which were good. We followed this by the home-made Burger, which was in fact 2 meat patties with onions, cheese and a side and was extremely tasty and good value for money. Following the meal, we asked the Manageress if she could order a taxi for us to go back to our boat. This is a rural area and if you do not have your own car getting around can be difficult. The Manageress explained that the local taxi company had closed down, but tried some others for us - without success. We decided to walk back to the marina, some 3 1/2 miles away. As we were about to leave, one of the waiters, who had cleared our table came over and said that he would give us a lift. We gladly accepted and even more gladly paid him for both his trouble and kind offer. This additional example of service, where the folks at the Brown Trout could not have done more to help us typified the evening. While I can't promise the lift as being something that will be provided to everyone, I happily recommend the restaurant to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and i have stayed here around four times,each time was as good as the first.The place is very cosy and friendly,the food is excellent and the atmosphere is warming.We especially loved a glass of wine in front of the open fire in the bar.The rooms are so spacious and clean,everything you would want.Really looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed with our 7 month old pup at the Brown Trout in April 2012. Although we have stayed there many times as a couple, this was the first time we had taken our pup so we were slightly unsure of what to expect. All I can say is that the way the staff treated us over the duration of our weekend was well above our expectations. They made us feel so welcome when we brought the pup into the bar area and, as long as we remained on the tiled floor area, it was then possible to let her stay with us while we ate our meal. To make things really easy for us the staff even arranged for us to have breakfast in our room on both of the mornings.

All in all this was an excellent weekend away and the three of us will be going back to the Brown Trout really soon. Our stay was definitely worth 5 out of 5!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J-L-Haki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadowey
6.5 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
734 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,845 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Bushtown Hotel
The Bushtown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Coleraine
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
695 reviews
15.0 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,135 reviews
10.6 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn

Address: 209 Agivey Road, Aghadowey, Coleraine BT51 4AD, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine > Aghadowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aghadowey
Price Range: $89 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country inn set on own golf course. Friendly relaxed atmosphere-great fresh food served all day. Breakfast served until Lunch time. 7 Miles south of Coleraine, 20 minutes away from Causeway coast and Royal Portrush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Trout Golf And Country Inn
Brown Trout Golf & Country Hotel Aghadowey
Country Inn Coleraine
Coleraine Country Inn
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn Aghadowey, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing