We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the Job!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aghadowey
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Just the Job!”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Looking for somewhere convenient for driving the Causeway Coastal Route (Derry to Belfast), and to see the Giant's Causeway, Dunluce Castle etc., we booked the Brown Trout Inn. Amazingly, this property has been in the same family since the 1600's. The accommodation choice is either fully self catering cottages (4*) or motel style cabins (3*) - our choice.
The cabins are roomy - ours had two queen sized beds - plus table, chairs, all the usual equipment, and a large bathroom with bath, separate shower and toilet. The heating was really efficient, including a towel warmer in the bathroom. The furnishings were a bit old fashioned but good quality and no mis-matches. All in all extremely comfortable with no drawbacks.
Breakfast is taken in the cosy restaurant above the bar (stairlift if needed) where you can sit and admire the garden and golf course. Choices were extensive, with fruits, cereal, yoghurt, toast, porridge, eggs any way, and all combinations of the full fry. The black pudding was particularly good.
Other meals are served in one of the two rooms off the bar, in front of blazing log fires. There is a separate resident's lounge.
The food offer is basically pub grub, but well done, and including quite a bit of home cooking. We loved the homemade soups.
The staff team is excellent and multiskilled, and deliver whatever is needed to make your stay comfortable, from a friendly chat to quiet unobtrusive service.
All in all we loved our stay at the Brown Trout, and would recommend it to other visitors.
I thought it would be a wonderful place for a wedding or other family occasion, with the added benefit of getting rid of the men to the golf course!
(By the way, The Brown Trout offers a number of deals, which make it very affordable!!)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mouldylocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    75
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
98
156
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Had yet another very enjoyable two night break here.
The staff are genuinely friendly making you feel at home from the word go this is a big plus in this day and age.
Had breakfast in bed both mornings its great just to hear a knock on the door and have a good breakfast handed to you.
The deal came with one dinner my wife had the chicken and i had the steak both a delight to eat we again ate here on the second night and the food was equally as good.
Rooms it must be said are a bit tired but have everything you normally would find in a hotel and it is a bit out from Ballymoney but these are very minor faults in an otherwise excellent break.
Keep it up.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulsterman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

stayed here for 3 nights b&b, 27th oct-30th oct. was recommended by friends. it may seem a bit isolated but coleraine is only 7 miles away and ballymena 13 miles. could not fault anything in the hotel. rooms are large and roomy including bathroom. staff very friendly and helpful. the owner Jane was very helpful and went out of her way to make sure everything was fine for you. will definitily be going back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lennie_rainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Myself, my husband and our little dog Angus stayed here in one of the self catering cottages in mid-August 2011 and had a fabulous time. The cottage cost us £100 per night and though this may seem a little expensive without breakfast the massive plus for us was that we could take it for just 2 nights and that we could bring our dog with us. Having rang around more places than I care to think about, nowhere would accept a booking for less than a week in the summer months and not too many places were keen on pets. I was delighted when I found this option and I was more than willing to pay for it.

Check-in was quick, easy and really friendly. We were taken to the cottage and shown around. First impressions were good. We settled in very quickly. The cottage was tidy, homely and turned out to be comfortable and cosy yet there was plenty of space for the three of us. It had an open plan design with the dining area, kitchen and living room occupying the same space. There was a lovely open front fire and there was plenty of fuel on the fireplace to get it going. The front of the cottage looked towards the road and the back looked out over the beautiful golf course - the view was stunning and the dog enjoyed watching the golfers.

The bedroom was a great size, had lovely views, 2 double beds, 2 chairs, a small flat screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities, plenty of storage and an ensuite bathroom. The bed we slept in proved to be pretty comfortable but I couldn’t say the same for the pillows. The bathroom was large and had both a bath and separate shower. We did self-cater while here and the kitchen was perfectly well equipped for us to do so. As well as plenty of kitchen equipment and crockery, the cottage was also equipped with a flat screen free-view TV, a DVD player and a CD player.

We didn’t eat in the restaurant but we did have drink in the bar and it was comfortable and cosy in keeping with the general vibe. The food certainly smelt very tempting and the menu looked good. We had our car with us for exploring and we were able to park it right in front of the cottage. The brown trout is perfectly positioned along the River Bann and is ideal for exploring the North Coast and the many beautiful places it has to offer. There was a small shop just around the corner and the nearest supermarket was only a few miles away.

If I had to be negative I would mention the dodgy pillows again, the bathroom was not particularly great and I have to admit that it wasn’t spotlessly clean but we honestly could not have asked for a better stay with our dog.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAmember13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

So myself, my wife, our 10 month old daughter and a load of friends all stayed here due to a friends wedding locally.
We travelled over and arrived on the Friday to find that the cottages were not quite ready -as we were before 1500 hours. Some of the group decided to use the bar facilities - while our cottage was ready and we checked in. The cottages are excellent value for large groups. Two large bedrooms with two double beds and one single. Also a cot in ours for the little one. Each bedroom has a big bathroom with bath and powershower. The main rooms have a TV with freeview and a large kitchen with all you need. We bought food locally and cooked breakfast every morning.
The bar facilities are excellent and the food was also good. A few of the group played golf and thoroughly enjoyed the course.
The location makes it ideal for trips to the Giants Causeway and also Portrush - both places we visited during our brief weekend stay.
The cottages I would thoroughly recommend to large groups, and families looking for value for money and a peaceful setting.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

stayed for one night only,pity it wasn't longer.rooms are like a little chalet, plenty of space.staff all very friendly,food in restraunt(sp)very good and reasonably priced.handy place to stay to tour around the north west area of northern ireland.would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steviebelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

This hotel is situated a few miles from Coleraine, and is fantastic! The rooms are spacious, the the bar has a lovely atmosphere but most of all the people and the food are fantastic. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and it felt like a real home from home. Breakfast is cooked to order, but the highlight of the weekend was the fabulous pavlova! I was just over 7 months pregnant when we visited and have craved it ever since. What a wonderful place to stay, we would definately go back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill46Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadowey
6.5 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
697 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,748 reviews
11.4 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Bushtown Hotel
The Bushtown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Coleraine
341 reviews
15.0 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,922 reviews
10.6 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn

Property: Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
Address: 209 Agivey Road, Aghadowey, Coleraine BT51 4AD, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine > Aghadowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aghadowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country inn set on own golf course. Friendly relaxed atmosphere-great fresh food served all day. Breakfast served until Lunch time. 7 Miles south of Coleraine, 20 minutes away from Causeway coast and Royal Portrush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Trout Golf And Country Inn
Brown Trout Golf & Country Hotel Aghadowey
Country Inn Coleraine
Coleraine Country Inn
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn Aghadowey, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing