We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe bussalzburg cardeagles nestlaundry servicesmall villagewonderful hotelbalcony overlookingstayed nightsvisiting salzburgviews of the mountainswithin easy walking distancefamily run hotelaustriaoutskirtsfoyergasthof
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 334 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2016 via mobile

- a superior room had minimum equipment, furniture etc. looked very cheap (we expected wood furniture, nicer bathroom... as we know others austrian country hotels). Rooms are overpriced, adequate as in 3*** hotel.
- excellent breakfast: smaller variety but very high quality of food (home made cheese, very tasty bread, home made sweets etc...)
- very friendly owner :-)

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Tomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2016

If you're in Salzburg and have a car, then Sallerhof is the perfect place to stay! Just outside the city -- a 10-min drive away -- this lovely cottage-like hotel stands in a small village, amidst fields, and right in the lap of the Alps! The mountains seem to be looming out of your backyard, offering stunning views from the rooms, lawn etc.
The owners are warm and helpful, and will assist you on your itinerary if you wish, giving recommendations and booking the tours and events for you. For the Sound of Music fan, the Frauline Maria bike tour is a must-do! Also check out the Sound of Salzburg show in the city. It is awesome!
Breakfast is included, and is very good. There are a couple of restaurants at walking distance, so meals are not an issue.

All in all, we had a brilliant stay at Sallerhof, and would happily go back!

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nidhi_Dhingra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

Very nice and clean hotel. Owner was very helpful with anything we needed, including helping us book a sightseeing trip to Salzburg and getting there using the bus to avoid parking hassles.
Beautiful and well-maintained hotel located in a small town near Salzburg. Great location as a base for travels to Salzburg and a Berchtesgaden. Laundry service available from the hotel is a lifesaver when traveling for a long time and in need of clean clothes. Good luck finding a laundromat.
The town leaves something to be desired for dining choices but it IS a small town and places are available with a short drive.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Dlatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

Place rips you off for double occupancy. Terrible business practice. But the owner was so kind as to let our toddler sleep in the same bed as us at no extra charge it was a nice hotel, but the practice of charging per person for the room is disgusting.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallerhof, Inhaber at Hotel Sallerhof, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2016

Dear guest,
I remember the situation exactly.
You were 2 families with two kids (3-4 years) and booked two bedrooms for single use and came with your wife and 2 friends and 2 kids.
We cannot accept that you book for 2 persons and at the end you are 6 persons.
Maybe you rip us off ??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

This was a cute little hotel located in a very small village about 10 minutes from Salzburg. The hotel owner and his family are very nice, welcoming and helpful. Upon arriving, we were given lots of maps and introduced to the Salzburg card, which I highly recommend. One price gets you into many attractions and use of the public bus, which we took to and from Salzburg so we wouldn't have to pay for parking. Parking at the hotel is free. They also rent bikes.

The hotel itself is cute with second floor rooms having big glass doors that open to a little balcony. Everything was clean but the bathroom had a tub with half shower panel which seems to be rather common in Europe. My room had terrible wifi access but my brother's room right next door worked fine!
We used the hotel laundry service which took 24 hours and delivered a laundry basket full of clean, pressed and folded clothes. I did think that 27€ was a bit expensive but we were desperate to have clean clothes.

We ate breakfast in the hotel one morning and it was very good! My brother even asked for an omelet which he said was delicious.

The real negative of this hotel is that there is no air conditioning and, of course, we were visiting during the summer. We asked for fans but they didn't have any so in order to remain cool, We slept with the balcony door open. Unfortunately, I woke up with mosquito bites on me. So, if you are planning a visit, I recommend this hotel for the cooler months.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews