We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Perfect Visit”
Review of Hotel Sallerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sallerhof
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grodig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Have just return home from an extended vacation in Europe. Highlight was seven days in Groding , Austria at Hotel Sallerhof. This was about our sixth visit since 2004 ranging from three days up to 11 days. We have been there in the fall, the winter and the summer and every visit without exception has been perfect. The Owners Klaus and Barbara are a pleasant Austrian couple who along with their two children go out of their way to treat each and every guest as if they were the only ones in the Hotel. Such a nice and pleasant family. The staff demonstrates consistently the professionalism and commitment to excellence that is very rarely found these days in any type of business. The rooms are super clean and comfortable. The laundry service is one of the best we have ever experienced in many trips throughout Europe and certainly eons above anything one could expect here in the US. The very famous Sallerhof Breakfasts seem to get better with each passing year. The ladies that provide service at the breakfast , besides being attractive and pleasant , make all feel most welcomed and also are quite helpful in assisting with questions about the area ( " where is the local Harley dealership")
The restaurants in Groding are reasonably priced, convienient to the hotel and all have the warm friendly atmosphere associated with small towns in Austria. As a side note if you want a quick snack during the day , the small Lebensmittel located in front of the Sallerhof has the best Leberkase you will ever find in Germany or Austria. Also a block down the street you will find a "fast food" establishment that serves grilled chickens hot off the grill, a terrific Schnitzel sandwich und pomme fites and of course a nice 1/2 liter bottle of Steigel GoldBrau. Price is right and the proprietor is a nice guy. Bottom line Groding, Austria and the Hotel Sallerhof have the secrets for a PERFECT Holiday. Can't wait until February.

Bob Floyd

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colbob3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 312 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Sallerhof is an amazing family-friendly hotel and we highly recommend it. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the rooms were large, very clean, and everything was in good working order. They have a very large parking lot which made it easy to drive in and out of town. There is an awesome little bakery just outside the hotel - get there early because the really good stuff goes fast! One note - before heading into town on the bus make sure you know which stop to get off at when returning to the Sallerhof.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy_of_the_Rockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallerhof, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Sallerhof, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you very much for your nice review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us!

As for Bus 25- fortunately most of the buses now have screens with the names of the busstops on it, or audio speekers. But if you are still unsure where to get off, the busdrivers or other guests usually are very friendly and happy to help.

We want to wish you a nice summer and maybe we can welcome you at the Sallerhof again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Nothing is too much trouble for the family and staff at the Sallerhof! We have been regular visitors for many years and never fail to be thrilled by the friendliness, hospitality and all-round excellence of this delightful hotel. The rooms are spacious and spotless, furnished and decorated in a modern Austrian style with both style and comfort. The quality, range and quantity of the food served at the breakfast buffet stands comparison with any other hotel we have visited in Austria or Germany. This year the gardens and grounds looked particularly beautiful adding to the calm and beauty of the little village of Grodig. Each year we find some thing new to see and many places we love to re-visit. The [silent!] lift in the hotel is a particular boon and there are a wide variety of excellent places to eat in the evenings. We cannot wait to return next year!

Room Tip: We have stayed in many rooms and found them excellent. All have balconies, but some are larger than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WELSHBIJOUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallerhof, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Sallerhof, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

We want to thank you for your nice review. We are very happy that you enjoy the Sallerhof and Grödig so much!

During summer, the green nature in our garden and Grödig is just beautiful. But also the winter has a lot to offer. Maybe you want to discover another side of Grödig- when everything is covered with a white blanket of snow and you can strowl around at the Christmas markets and have a nice warm drink.

We wish you a nice summer and again- thank you for your review! It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Sollerhof and we couldn't be more pleased. It was perfect. It was beautiful, clean, the staff were so pleasant, professional and helpful, the breakfast was delicious, great location etc. Our only disappointment was that we wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy more of the surrounding areas and the comforts of this wonderful hotel. We would definitely return if we are able and we highly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisepg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Hotel Sallerhof was an adorable hotel to stay in while visiting Salzburg with my sister in June 2012. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was OUTSTANDING, and the tours were easy to arrange. Staff spoke English, the rooms were very clean. Wifi was free and available in the lobby area only. Quiet neighborhood. Staff recommended a local farm to table restaurant, that had great Austrian food. Beds were standard--nothing too comfortable, a little on the firm/hard side.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Sallerhof is a gem! This family run bed and breakfast is absolutely wonderful. It is located in a small village and is placed very conviently for Salzburg and Bavaria. There are some wonderful restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean and every attention is paid to each minor detail. The breakfast is one of the very best. A large selection of choices includes many organic and locally made items, all delicious. The lovely owners and staff could not be more accommodating and helpful. We were travelling with another couple and we all wished that we could have stayed longer. We will without hesitation be back and would never stay anywhere else but The Hotel Sallerhof in this area

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanaprather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

As many of you know, typical European hotels are little more than a room with a bed and small bath. This place is not typical. The rooms are spacious, impeccably clean and the shower is superb. The staff is incredibly helpful and the breakfast is one of the best in Europe. My wife and I both commented that of all the places we stayed this trip, it tied for first place, (with Hisa Franko in Slovenia.)

The location is ideal for visiting both the Eagles Nest and downtown Salzburg as well as other attractions in the area. Although we were driving, we did not want to drive into Salzburg city due to the horrendous parking situation. If you stay here, the thing to do is buy the Salzburg Card (available at the front desk). For 25 E, you get free admission to almost all the museums, historical venues, zoo etc. in Salzburg, plus free rides on the city bus system. If you go to only one or two places, you will more than recoup the cost. You can pick up the #25 bus about four blocks from the hotel and ride it directly into the City Center in about 15 to 20 minutes. The bus schedule and system is very easy to understand, so save yourself the aggravation of trying to find an overpriced parking spot in town. This is a great place. Even Mark Twain would have been happy with it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grodig
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hubertushof
Hotel Hubertushof
#2 of 5 in Anif
109 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Friesacher
Hotel Friesacher
#1 of 5 in Anif
164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Momentum Hotel
Momentum Hotel
#3 of 5 in Anif
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof
4.6 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,142 reviews
1 mi away
Gasthof Schorn
Gasthof Schorn
#1 of 4 in St. Leonhard
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sallerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sallerhof

Address: Hauptstrasse 9, Grodig 5082, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Grodig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grodig
Price Range: $137 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sallerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the southern outskirts of the festival city Salzburg in Grödig the Hotel Sallerhof awaits you. Our family hotel is located in the nature at the foot of mount Untersberg, between Berchtesgaden, the lake Königsee and Salzburg. Ideal for enthusiast of culture and nature. Our hotel is especially popular with our regular guest for our individual atmosphere and our personal assistance. Visit original Sound of Music Scenery in Salzburg ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sallerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sallerhof Austria/Grodig, Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing