We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveler rating
272
44
11
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
44
11
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe bussalzburg cardeagles nestlaundry servicesmall villagewonderful hotelbalcony overlookingstayed nightsvisiting salzburgviews of the mountainswithin easy walking distancefamily run hotelaustriaoutskirtsfoyergasthof
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 334 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

As many of you know, typical European hotels are little more than a room with a bed and small bath. This place is not typical. The rooms are spacious, impeccably clean and the shower is superb. The staff is incredibly helpful and the breakfast is one of the best in Europe. My wife and I both commented that of all the places we stayed this trip, it tied for first place, (with Hisa Franko in Slovenia.)

The location is ideal for visiting both the Eagles Nest and downtown Salzburg as well as other attractions in the area. Although we were driving, we did not want to drive into Salzburg city due to the horrendous parking situation. If you stay here, the thing to do is buy the Salzburg Card (available at the front desk). For 25 E, you get free admission to almost all the museums, historical venues, zoo etc. in Salzburg, plus free rides on the city bus system. If you go to only one or two places, you will more than recoup the cost. You can pick up the #25 bus about four blocks from the hotel and ride it directly into the City Center in about 15 to 20 minutes. The bus schedule and system is very easy to understand, so save yourself the aggravation of trying to find an overpriced parking spot in town. This is a great place. Even Mark Twain would have been happy with it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The reviews are absolutely correct...if you want a lovely family owned hotel in a quiet town on the outskirts of Salzburg, hop on the bus for the pretty ride to Grodig. You won't be disappointed with the hotel, the location, the breakfast or the lovely owners and staff. Grodig doesn't have much of a nightlife but we enjoyed walking and dining in one of the local restaurants. The city bus takes you to Grodig where you can enjoy a peaceful evening in a beautiful location not far from Salzburg. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: My mom and I enjoyed a garden view from Room 11 but I'm sure all of the rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaccamawRiverLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you very much for your review!

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much! As you noticed, Grödig is very nice if you want to stay in the green but also want to be in reach of Salzburg for sightseeing.
We are glad you enjoyed room 11 and the view to the garden. Some of the other rooms have a view to the mountain Untersberg, which is also very popular.

We wish you a nice summer and hopefully we can welcome you and your mother back at the Sallerhof one day!

Nice greetings from
Family Schnöll-Reichl
and the Sallerhof team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We loved our stay here. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic and I was so impressed with the organic selection. Rooms were very clean, comfortable with lots of space. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcneil6705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We spent a couple of nights here in this hotel,and I've done a lot of traveling, and never stayed at a place that was so spotless and beautifully decorated. The couple that run it are amazing, they are so friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had breakfast included and it was so delicious. I would say it was such a peaceful and tranquil place to stay. The location was great, close to shops and transport. We have wonderful memories of this hotel, nad of our stay there ,it was sad to leave. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. A real Gem

Room Tip: We did a tour of the city. Also had a good look around the area where we lived. A gorgeous place.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in May at the end of a 5 week trip to Europe and wished it could have been longer. We wondered beforehand if the Sallerof informative and detailed website was just a clever marketing ploy but we were delighted to discover that the owners and their staff were genuinely friendly and helpful in every way possible without being intrusive or pushy.

Our room on the second floor was spacious with a deck and views. The whole property is beautifully kept and was so very clean everywhere that it was a pleasure to stay there. The breakfast was plentiful and always served with a happy smile.

We didn't have a car and used bus 25 to get into Salzburg. The bus runs every 20 minutes, including Saturdays and Sundays and takes only 25/30 minutes to get to the old town. We didn't find the travel a problem at all. If you have a car there is plenty of parking in the hotel grounds.

There are 6 or 7 restaurants in Grodig within a 5 minute walk of the hotel and the 3 that we tried provided good food and service and were excellent value for money.

The Sallerof is highly recommended for travellers who want something better than the smaller and noisier accommodation options that are usually found in tourist town centres. On our next trip to Austria we will definitely stay at the Sallerof again.

Room Tip: Email the owner with details of what you require and you can be assured that you will get an honest answer.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews