We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and decor, but food nothing exceptional”

Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $428
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nestled amidst beautiful gardens in the rural Cotswolds countryside, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons is a gourmet hotel in Oxfordshire. Located in the picturesque village of Great Milton, this luxury hotel combines breathtaking surroundings with gastronomic excellence. The quaint streets of Oxford city centre are a 20-minute drive, whilst London Heathrow Airport is 60km away. Home to Raymond Blanc's Cookery School, one of Britain's finest culinary academies, this enchanting hotel offers French-inspired cuisine at the 2 Michelin-starred restaurant. Using only the best seasonal produce, freshly picked from the hotel's extensive vegetable and herb gardens, guests are invited to embark on an unforgettable gastronomic adventure.
Reviewed July 11, 2019

My third visit over ten years. On each occasion I have felt disappointed that the food does not match up with my expectations from a Michelin starred establishment. The place is beautiful, and the room ( a suite) we had was truly wonderful. The staff, with the marked exception of one surly waitress who seemed to take it as a personal insult that I couldn’t get a succession of salt cellars to work at breakfast, were all very pleasant and obliging. The food was enjoyable, but, taste wise, nowhere near the standard of other Michelin starred restaurants we have visited, and surely the taste is what one expects above all else. I am not being vindictive, but merely giving an honest subjective assessment. Three visits is enough. I shall not return.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 203 of 2,593 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2019 via mobile

An amazing weekend. From start to finish this was a flawless experience. We were lucky enough to enjoy this French haven with Raymond Blanc. His walked us through the beautiful gardens and ponds with plenty of stories along the way.

The truffle cooking lesson was an eye opener. Great tuition and they tasted fantastic.

Wine cellar tour. A must to see the selection of wines on offer to a accommodate various clientele.

Lunch and the evening taster meals are a delight. Cant really find words to express the food taste and quality.

Room... we had Arabesque. Sky TV, huge bathroom, baths, sinks, huge bedroom with comfy sofa.

Breakfast, great service, hot food.

Date of visit: June 2019
2  Thank 1bellagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eveline N, General Manager at Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2019

Dear 1bellagio

We appreciate all of your fantastic comments and to know that you were able to enjoy so many aspects of your visit to Belmond Le Manoir.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we do hope to have the pleasure of being of service to you on some future occasion.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2019

What an experience! This is definitely a "special occasions" restaurant as it doesn't come cheap, but my word it is worth every penny. Every detail, from the moment you walk in is mastered to perfection. The staff are attentive and nothing is too much trouble. What really impressed us was the way they interacted with the children. Some high end restaurant don't cater for children but Belmond Le Manoir certainly does. The children's menu was perfect for them, macaroni cheese, roast chicken, burgers to name just a few, whilst the adults are treated to something much more special. The grounds are beautiful and make it a day out with a relaxing stroll after lunch or dinner. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone just for the experience alone. Thank you Belmond Le Manoir for making our experience with you a very happy and special one. We hope to visit again soon in the future.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eveline N, General Manager at Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2019

Dear Angie G

We were thrilled to read about your family visit to Belmond Le Manoir and thank you for writing about your visit.

We can wish no more than to provide our guests with a happy and special time and we were so pleased to know that you had enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2019 via mobile

Service, food and accommodation all 5star. Amazing gardens producing the most delicious produce. Highly recommend for a weekend of indulgence and serenity.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eveline N, General Manager at Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2019

Dear Natalie H

A short but sweet review. Thank you for your comments and recommendation.

We do hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2019 via mobile

One of the best restaurants I’ve ever eaten in . We had the 7 course taster menu , accompanied by a couple of bottles of excellent Sauvignon. I actually struggled to eat the main course, the portion sizes were more than ample .
A great nights sleep in a fantastic room , followed by breakfast and a walk around the gardens . A truly excellent location, can’t wait to return

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Djr444
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eveline N, General Manager at Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2019

Dear Djr444

We were delighted to read this review of your visit to Belmond Le Manoir.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit in such lovely detail and for you to say that we are one of the best restaurants you have ever eaten in.

We do hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons Restaurant also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Murcott, Fencott and Murcott
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.