We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Impeccable service”
Reviewed May 24, 2007

We stayed here for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary and the experience was wonderful from start to finish. The staff are superb and the hotel and grounds are magical. We had booked a junior suite, Boticelli, and it was lovely , very comfortable and beautifully decorated just as you hope an English country house would be. The bathroom was fantastic;two roll top baths under a canopy. We settled in and then went for a walk around the grounds. Do make time for this, the gardens are lovely especially the Japanese garden and there are some lovely sculptures in all the gardens.

We spoke to reception after we had afternoon tea because we could hear noise from the kitchen in our room (directly above) and we were slightly concerned about this. We were hoping for complete relaxation and tranquility. We were immediately offered an upgrade to a choice of suite. Lemongrass was the one! This suite is amazing. It is exquisitely decorated and had every imaginable luxury including
it's own steam room and a flat screen tv that came out of the ceiling! Pure luxury. The food and wine we enjoyed that evening was delicious, certain dishes, sublime even! My husband had ordered a bouquet of flowers and the resident florist prepared the most gorgeous display of roses. Yes I have used a lot of superlatives. Try
Le Manoir and you will too!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank KAGmbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,894
    140
    58
    22
    10
See reviews for
283
1,443
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2007

We stayed for one night at Le Manoir for my husband's birthday. We had a beautiful room (called Emily) which is decorated in a traditional style but has a modern bathroom to die for! The bed was not massive, but very comfortable indeed.

Due to the time of year, our walk around the gardens was not hugely impressive, but I would go again to see it in the Summer time when I'm sure it would be a pleasure.

Instead we spent a little time in the bar, where I enjoyed some lovely tea and delicious lemon cake and my husband enjoyed a Belgian beer from an extensive selection.

Dinner, of course, was absolutely excellent. Certainly one of the best meals we have eaten (and we do like top-notch restaurants). We had the taster menu and if we had to find anything negative the only thing we would say is that the menu could have used some slightly stronger flavours in places. But overall it was hard to fault and we love it.

Breakfast was THE best breakfast we have had anywhere.

One nice touch - we were given a VIP voucher for Bicester Village outlet shopping centre, which we were planning to visit anyway, which saved us quite a bit of money on our shopping.

  • Liked — The food, which I'm sure is most people's reason for being there!
  • Disliked — Somewhat 'commercial' with info about where to buy everything you see.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PennyPurples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex uk
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2007

I would nt say that we are hard to please- but we are.!
Last year we stayed in succession at all the best hotels in the best suites of the Orient Express chain in Italy nothing came up to the standards of food and service we experienced here this week.
We had the Lemongrass suite with its own steam room
a wonderful room furnished in exquisite taste with a beautiful bed a separate changing area and walk in wardrobe a superb
lounge with subtle lighting - you had to be there.
A walk round the courtyard outside the suite area with its
perfectly symetrical horse chestnut tree ,its tinkling fountain.
The grounds tended by seven gardners are immaculate
the Japanese garden, the pond, the wisteria so fine against the mellow cotswold stone of the main house.
The staff have come from some other better world ,not a false note ,the food a series of Maze like dishes in the intensity of their flavour but the better for being full size.
One slight slip (but I have found this recently at the Sandy Lane )
was our corton charlemagne white wine was not quite cold enough but after a short time in the ice bucket all was well.
We didnt want to leave the next day particularly as we also had
the very best breakfast- I had an omelette aux fines herbes with sicilian tomatoes inside, as I said to them it was the best omelette I had had in my life and I have had a few.
It cost a bomb but it was worth every pound a memorable birthday for my wife and myself M. Blanc can be very proud
of himself-wonderful.

  • Liked — its utter luxury
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alanEastSussexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landlocked in Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

From the moment of arrival, we were made to feel like like very special guests. Every possible desire was anticipated, explanations and guidance were offered in the sweetest and friendliest manner by staff who clearly took personal pride in ensuring our stay was memorable for all the right reasons.

All the 'little touches' were there..being greeted at the car park, told about our surroundings as we were escorted to the reception area, a short guided tour en route to our room (actually more of a suite)..fruit and lovely complimentary bath products, uptodate magazines, personal birthday card signed by Raymond LeBlanc..
sumptuously furbished and furnished room, private patio (maid was aghast that ashtray on patio table had butt in it!) And the food
...oh my the food...to say that all other menus fade in comparison doesn't begin to do it justice! Utterly out of this world, would unreservedly recommend it to anyone who appreciates fine dining combined with the best service we have ever encountered. Thank you M Le Blanc, it was worth every single penny!

  • Liked — Attention to detail, food, the whole experience
  • Disliked — Not being able to stay there forever!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foodyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2007

A very relaxed atmosphere, with the expected quality of food. Make sure you have time to walk round the gardens - allow at least half an hour!

Helpful?
Thank sandSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2007

We have just returned from a wedding reception at Le Manoir. The hotel is beautiful with a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the food was sublime. We met Raymond Blanc which was a nice surprise. He made a point of speaking to each table of guests. The hotel is a haven of warmth and friendliness and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as a special treat or venue for an important occasion.

  • Liked — sheer luxury
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank emilySouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

I booked my wife onto a one day cookery school course here for a Christmas present and then decided to join her in the evening for a joint anniversary present.

No matter how hard I try I cannot think of anything negative to say about our experience. Karen is an excellent cook but came away inspired and with some excellent ideas from the course, and was full of praise for the whole cookery school set up.

Our room was beautiful, with an over the top but great fun bathroom - we had the Boticelli junior suite with twin tubs and mural. Great sound system too with speakers both in the room and upstairs in the bathroom. There was a lovely choice of fresh and dried fruit and complimentary sherry (I think, as I didn't try any) and water.

I ordered flowers from the in-house florist, and being concerned that we may not get a lot for our money in such a place I ordered more than I would normally do. The arrangement was enourmous; I'm sure at least as much if not more that I would have got from our local florist for the money.

For dinner we opted for the tasting menu and asked the sommelier to choose individual glasses of wine to compliment the food . The food was highly inventive, beautifully presented with a great mix of flavours and textures. All of the wines were great matches to the food. I've never had three desserts before but am very glad I did on this occasion; they really rounded off the meal (and my wasteline!) superbly.

However, what really stood out from our stay was the service. It was great to see a team obviously enjoying their work. There seems to be a real pride in what they are a part of. After a superb breakfast we went to the cookery school to collect a tart that Karen had made and were given a tour (unrequested or planned)of the kitchens by the cookery school assistant. This was a fascinating experience in itself, seeing the infrastructure needed to produce food of such a high standard for so many people. Seeing 40 or so chefs all hard at work at 10am really brought it home what exceptional value our meal had been.

For us this was an extravagent treat. We stay in good hotels and eat in good restaurants fairly regularly but we cannot afford to spend £1250 (including the cookery school) on a night out too often. I think we would both sacrifice alternate 'treats' to be so royally spoiled as we were at Le Manoir, and both feel that it was worth every penny.

And to top it all off, my shoes got a bit grubby on a stroll round the gardens in the afternoon. All I had to do was put them outside the room at bed time and they were sparkling clean in time for breakfast!

  • Liked — Service, special touches
  • Disliked — small TV (but who cares!)
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Virgin_Express
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Milton
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
6.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
7.7 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
692 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,698 reviews
7.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Property: Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Address: Church Road, Great Milton OX44 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Great Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by celebrated chef Raymond Blanc OBE, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons is renowned for offering one of Britain's finest gastronomic experiences. Situated in the picturesque Oxfordshire village of Great Milton, it is also one of the country's most intimate and original hotels, with 32 individually designed guest rooms and suites. The hotel received two Michelin stars in 1984, the first year of its opening, and, remarkably, has held them ever since. Surrounded by lawns, flower borders and orchards, the luxury hotel enjoys an idyllic, typically English setting. But beyond the eye-catching displays are vegetable and herb gardens that provide the kitchen-and the acclaimed Raymond Blanc Cookery School-with ultra-fresh, organic produce, ensuring the Michelin-star restaurant remains at the cutting edge of culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Aux Quat`Saisons By Orient-Express Hotel Great Milton
Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Manoir Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Quatre Saisons
Manor Quatre Saisons
Belmond Le Manoir Aux Quat'Saisons Great Milton, Oxfordshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing