We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MAGICAL, EXQUISITE, METICULOUSLY MAINTAINED.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“MAGICAL, EXQUISITE, METICULOUSLY MAINTAINED.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

I stayed at the Manoir while my Mom attended the cooking school.

The service, food, and buildings were exceptional! The staff knew what you wanted before you did! Food was amazing!

The only drawback is that it is not really dog-friendly. My perfectly-behaved 12-pound Sheltie had to stay outside in a dingy wooden kennel (not locked) as dogs are not allowed in the rooms. I won't go back because of this but the property and service are truly (OTT) over the top as the Brits say.....

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gingersnap126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,821
    136
    57
    22
    10
See reviews for
269
1,392
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edge, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

Words cannot begin to express our thanks to everyone at Le Manoir for making our recent stay so memorable.

We arrived December 9th for lunch, service and staff were exceptional. Our room (Camellia) was one of the standard rooms, but afforded us every comfort, it even had a terrace with table and chairs overlooking the grounds.

We were staying as part of of their Christmas Carol Celebrations, defiinitely something I would recommend you attend.

After a stroll round the grounds, and a siesta to sleep of the beautilful bottle of Montrachet, we dressed for the Black Tie dinner. Champagne was flowing before we took a short torch-lit stroll to the nearby church, to be entertained by the outstanding Bulava Choir. After a superb dinner, with more excellent wines we we weaved our way back to our room.

The experience continued throughout breakfast and right up to checkout, where we were to find the car waiting outside.

The whole experience is one we will remember for a long time and one we intend repeating next year.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champagneboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

We stayed here as part of a surprise from my husband for our wedding anniversary.
From the moment we arrived and drove in we were thrown such superb service. Our luggage was all carried for us to our room. Smiling staff and a warm welcome.

We stayed in the Orchid room, there was fresh fruit, mineral water, and Madeira in the room.
We requested afternoon tea in our room, and were so surprised and happy to receive a glass of champagne each in recognition of our anniversary.

We ate there in the evening, and what can I say? SUPERB! The staff were excellent, the food was sublime. The sommelier was superb, advising us of the wines, giving us in depth knowledge of everything we needed to know.

I can not fault, of course it is expensive, and not the sort of thing we could afford too often, but for a special occasion, go on treat yourself. I doubt if you could find better!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillygreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

My wife and I visited Le Manoir for one night. It is a beautiful place to stay in a wonderful setting and internally has a fairly modern design, which contrasts quite well with the classic exterior. Our room was rather small (particularly the bathroom) but it had a pleasant view and was fine for us. Probably the most disappointing aspect of the stay was the meal in the evening. We went with the five course menu classique and whilst there were no dishes that one could describe as bad, we struggled to find any that had the "mmm" factor that you would expect from a restaurant with 2 michelin stars. Breakfast was excellent however (especially the light pain-au-chocolat and the cooked English breakfast), but overall we were left disappointed by the experience the night before.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hatchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

Visiting Le Manoir is always such a treat. It's a fantastic experience from the moment you arrive until you leave. This was our second visit and hopefully it won't be too long until our next!! My family and I went to celebrate my 30th birthday.
Great service, fabulous food and gorgeous surroundings. We had three rooms in total and all were extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated.
Love it!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmaryllisDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

This is undoubtedly a beautiful and luxurious hotel but it certainly is not a hidden gem. It is extremely busy with a heavy luncheon trade and guests milling around all over the place, especially the grounds. It cannot be faulted for its service, accommodation and dining. The bedrooms are truly gorgeous and the staff extremely attentive but if I were to spend that amount of money again I would prefer to be somewhere slightly bigger and less touristy where there is more room to absorb the large number of guests that frequent the hotel. This is an extremely popular hotel and there is a slight feeling of being on a conveyor belt.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sofieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

My husband and I were lucky enough to have our wedding at Le Manoir this summer. We had a small ceremony in the lounge area of the suite 'Provence' with just our close family present. From the moment we arrived we were treated as though we were the only guests there. From booking Le Manoir as a venue for our big day to when we checked out the next morning everything was organised by the fantastic staff and we literally did not have to lift a finger or worry about any preparations. Our family stayed in the lowest priced rooms: Orchid, Mimosa and Emily but all were lavishly and spotlessly furnished with lovely touches such as beautifully ripe seasonal fruit, madeira and mineral water. After our ceremony we were served Prosecco and gorgeous canapes on the private terrace of our suite. We were fortunate to have a lovely sunny afternoon and we explored the garden taking many wedding photos. We were not the only wedding that day but we barely noticed anyone else, the grounds are so big and the staff had everything so well organised. In the evening we had a fantastic meal in the restaurant, prior to which we were taken into a bar that had been reserved just for us for pre dinner drinks (this wasn't requested just another thoughtful touch). The meal itself was absolutely beautiful and the service again was knowledgable without being intrusive. We enjoyed a seasonal menu of beetroots (who knew they could be so tasty!), vegetable risotto, turbot, duck as a main and apricots as desert, all were cooked to perfection. We particularly liked the small selection of deserts with 'congratulations' iced onto it at the end of the meal. During our stay there were countless gifts and special surprises arrange for us and our families experienced similar attention to detail, anything we asked for was arranged without any fuss. Breakfast the following morning was also special, we were offered a champagne breakfast, when we declined they gave us the bottle to enjoy later.
This was not our first visit to Le Manoir, my husband and I visited for a 30th birthday 4 years ago. We were treated equally well then and completely fell in love with the place!
Le Manoir is obviously a foodies paradise, it unquestionably deserves its 2 Michelin stars. However, we would say that you have just got to stay there to get the full Le Manoir experience. Would we recommend Le Manoir? Absolutely. Can we imagine getting married anywhere else? No chance, it could not have been more perfect and our families are still talking about how much they enjoyed being treated like royalty!
Thank you Le Manoir, we had the least stressful, most well organised, perfect and memorable wedding. We will be back for many anniversaries to come!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BC_lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Milton
7.7 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
6.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
7.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Property: Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Address: Church Road, Great Milton OX44 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Great Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by celebrated chef Raymond Blanc OBE, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons is renowned for offering one of Britain's finest gastronomic experiences. Situated in the picturesque Oxfordshire village of Great Milton, it is also one of the country's most intimate and original hotels, with 32 individually designed guest rooms and suites. The hotel received two Michelin stars in 1984, the first year of its opening, and, remarkably, has held them ever since. Surrounded by lawns, flower borders and orchards, the luxury hotel enjoys an idyllic, typically English setting. But beyond the eye-catching displays are vegetable and herb gardens that provide the kitchen-and the acclaimed Raymond Blanc Cookery School-with ultra-fresh, organic produce, ensuring the Michelin-star restaurant remains at the cutting edge of culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Hotel.de so you can book your Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Aux Quat`Saisons By Orient-Express Hotel Great Milton
Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Manoir Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Quatre Saisons
Manor Quatre Saisons
Belmond Le Manoir Aux Quat'Saisons Great Milton, Oxfordshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing