We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

What a wonderful experience - no detail overlooked, no task impossible. We took the 7 course tasting menu with recommended accompanying wines; and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of what was an amazing dining experience. The service couldn't have been better; and staff were prepared to make bold and informed recommendations! We can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alimarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear AliMarf

Thank you so much for leaving such lovely feedback.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Le Manoir in the future.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,182)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,257 - 1,263 of 2,182 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

An evening with Kate Adie was superb. Lovely food and wine with an excellent and inspiring speaker. We were in the main house this time, not a room I would want to return to (Botticelli) as the spiral staircase was intimidating if there is a need to use the bathroom at night! It is a lovely room, but (unfortunately) not for us. We have booked another one next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear welltravelledkandd

We were delighted to be able to welcome you back again. It is true to say that Botticelli is a very individual room and we are grateful for your comments.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Lucky enough to have been twice. It's expensive for most folks. Very classy. Staff are absolutely excellent. Service is world class - they are genuinely attentive but discreet and never patronising. We did feel a bit out of league felt privileged to be there! We felt sorry to leave - we felt like we were in special bubble while we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crosster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Crosster

Your short but sweet review is very much appreciated. We do hope you will visit us again in the future.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We celebrated our mutual 75 years on earth at the manoir two days ago. First visit in ten years and first staying overnight. Everything was perfect - though since going corporate there's a little too much hassle in advance - in corporate-speak - about adding to the experience with spa, flight lessons etc. Much like many visitors I imagine, not stinking rich, this was a rare visit for us and such extras needed, let alone wanted....Raymond Blanc's reputation the only thing that mattered for us: forget Belmond. We were upgraded to a room at the top, Cameo, huge bed, lovely bathroom with good shower and free-standing bath, delicious etceteras. Staff very friendly, talked like real people not automatons doing their duty and are obviously treated well - no zero hours here - they are even allowed a night of 'whole guest experience' after one year's work. Given the bad pay of many hotel staff elsewhere we felt this justified some of the - high -expense - as does the employment of so many. Gardeners equally eager and friendly when we explored the fabulous gardens in bright sun next day and asked a lot of questions. Ethos here again so good and so welcome. (Possibly too many rather kitsch sculptures but that's a matter of taste.)

As for the food; oh boy. I rated my previous meal here ten years ago as the best I ever had and this lived up to it. Lovely balance in our decouverte menu - this normal gobbler ate very slowly, savouring every bite and every subtle mix of tastes. Breakfast which I hardly thought I'd manage was another gastronomic experience. Pomegranate juice sharp and welcome. Veggie breakfast like no other veggie breakfast ever encountered, beautifully presented.

Only one quibble; make music possible to turn off in room while on in bathroom, so music-loving wife can enjoy bath without annoying sleeping and non-music loving husband...

Don't think we'll afford to come again soon - 85 maybe if we're still up to it. In this case I could wish it was sooner. Bring it on...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penelope F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Penelope F

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave such a comprehensive review.

We do hope you will be able to visit us again before another decade is out.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Positives:

Food - afternoon tea, dinner, breakfast all exceptional and clearly deserving of their reputation
Service - generally faultless. It was nice not to have too much service, but to find people obliging and ready to help when needed. We were a little bemused by the fact the waiters seemed to disappear as England's World Cup match started and we were suddenly served dessert by a waiter we had not seen before. He got the puddings wrong and then couldn't name all the cheeses on the cheese board! He'd obviously drawn the short straw.

Not so positive:
Room - we were disappointed to be in a room in an out building - not nearly as special as being in the main house.
Our room was decorated in a very modern style, which neither of us felt it quite pulled off. It felt a bit naff. Not what you want when you're paying those kind of prices.

Overall the experience felt a little inexclusive as there were so many other guests. The conservatory for dinner has many tables and many people having exactly the same menu.

If I were to go again, and I'm not sure I would, I would definitely request a room in the main house and a dinner table in the old dining room. These two things, while small, would, I believe have made the whole experience feel much more special, intimate and memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear emraki

Thank you for leaving this interesting feedback. The majority of our rooms are in the garden courtyard and it is true to say that most of these have more of a contemporary feel.

We have taken on board your comments and are grateful for you leaving this review.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My partner surprised me with a trip to Le Manoir for my "big" birthday on Christmas Eve and the experience was truly the best thing I have ever done, the memory of the all too brief 24 hours at Le Manoir will remain with us for ever. There is nothing to say that hasn't already been said by others but if you think you can't afford it, just save up and go - it is so worth it. We arrived in terrible weather with rain and high winds but once inside it was a haven of calm and friendliness. Our luggage was fetched from the car and taken to our room - the Orchid Room which was charming and beautifully decorated with a real Christmas tree complete with lovely decorations and lights. A birthday card from Raymond and the staff was waiting for me in the room Every possible comfort is provided in the room and bathroom. We enjoyed tea and cake before being given a guided tour of the kitchens and wine cellar. Dinner exceeded our expectations, we enjoyed the 9 course tasting menu with 6 matching wines. Every course was a work of art on a plate and all tasted sublime. Breakfast was equally impressive with so much choice. We then enjoyed a stroll around the beautiful gardens where there is so much to explore and enjoy, even in the depths of winter (it must be amazing in the summer) and the sun even shone for us so we felt truly lucky. Only regret - Raymond was not there but his wonderful staff made up for that. We plan to return for another birthday celebration.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janeandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Janeandrew

Such lovely feedback, thank you so much for leaving this.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for more celebrations.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

To be honest, having read some of the rather negative comments on Le Manoir, my wife and I were almost prepared to be disappointed. Was it going to be a sort of overpriced gastronomic theme park, we wondered? Was it going to be one of those rather intimidating 'posh' places which are more about appearances than substance?

The reality: from the moment that we were ushered into Reception - our luggage and car having been spirited away - we experienced nothing but an ambience of relaxed charm supported by impeccable service, all of this helped by an upgrade to the Lavandre suite with its gorgeous view down the lavender walk. Our room was not quite ready, so we were led to the terrace and served afternoon tea overlooking the croquet lawn - absolutely charming.

Dinner was perfect, beautifully balanced and not rushed (as some reviewers seem to have experienced) and even the slightly more 'unusual' dishes on the Menu Decouverte (a dessert with raspberries and beetroot (!)) work perfectly. Breakfast the following morning was a delightful fusion of 'continental' and traditional English, again beautifully served. Throughout, the staff were as friendly and helpful as they were efficient (which was very). Nothing stuffy or overwhelming about Le Manoir - they even put up with my fading French!

My abiding memory? Accompanying my daughter and husband to their taxi after dinner, walking back along the lavender walk under a full moon with the air filled with the summer scents of the Manoir's garden, and feeling a unrivalled sense of contentment (maybe the champagne helped a little!).

Expensive - yes. Worth it - definitely!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derekb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear derek b b

Such a fabulous review, thank you so much for leaving this.

We do hope that you will visit us again in the future.


On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Milton
6.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
7.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,741 reviews
7.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Address: Church Road, Great Milton OX44 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Great Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Price Range: $756 - $1,935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by celebrated chef Raymond Blanc OBE, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons is renowned for offering one of Britain's finest gastronomic experiences. Situated in the picturesque Oxfordshire village of Great Milton, it is also one of the country's most intimate and original hotels, with 32 individually designed guest rooms and suites. The hotel received two Michelin stars in 1984, the first year of its opening, and, remarkably, has held them ever since. Surrounded by lawns, flower borders and orchards, the luxury hotel enjoys an idyllic, typically English setting. But beyond the eye-catching displays are vegetable and herb gardens that provide the kitchen-and the acclaimed Raymond Blanc Cookery School-with ultra-fresh, organic produce, ensuring the Michelin-star restaurant remains at the cutting edge of culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Aux Quat`Saisons By Orient-Express Hotel Great Milton
Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Manoir Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Quatre Saisons
Manor Quatre Saisons
Belmond Le Manoir Aux Quat'Saisons Great Milton, Oxfordshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing