We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything You Would Wish For” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Everything You Would Wish For”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We got the opportunity to have dinner and stay overnight here and even the anticipation of doing so was exciting in itself. As soon as we arrived, efforts began to make out visit special, efforts that never seemed intrusive and simply there to make our visit special.

We arrived in the conservatory for dinner and were soon enjoying pre menu treats, every one a delight and adding to the expectation of what was to come.

We both opted for 'menu decouverte', which began with a crab and grapefruit salad, which we both thought was superb, with neither a lover of grapefruit generally.

Spiced scallop, cauliflower and curry oil was sublime, both of us agreeing it was the finest scallop we had ever tasted.

Egg, jabugo ham and watercress were the main ingredients of our next treat, a wonderful combination that was enjoyed immensely.

A dish of brill and cucumber had marvellously cooked fish and superb flavours and was a delight.

Lamb, asparagus and vegetables combined to serve up our next treat, as we began to struggle to find adjectives to sum up our enjoyment.

Blood orange carpaccio and its own sorbet is a phrase I reckon I'll remember for a long time, as it was the title of a dish that was delicious and/or spectacular depending on whose words you' d choose to heed.

Textures of coconut and Ghana chocolate Grand Cru was the name by which the finale dessert went by. With such a grand title, it has to be better than good and it certainly was. another dish up there with the best once more.

Service was exceptional, faultless and a credit to those responsible and it added to an experience that was already up there with the best. As non- wine drinkers, bearing in mind where the money is made, we were never made to feel awkward and Amanda's virgin mojito was one she especially enjoyed.

Both on its own as a meal and as a part of an overnight stay package, dinner at Le Manoir met and exceeded our expectations.

One aspect of the menu that was especially welcome was the lightness of so many of the dishes. There was plenty of sublime food, but whilst very well fed, by the end, neither of us felt uncomfortably so.

Dinner at Le Manoir. The idea was special, the expectation great, the reality was everything we could have anted and more. Thanks and congratulations to Le Manoir,,,If ever the piggy bank permits, we'd be back in a shot.

Room Tip: I believe we had one of the least expensive rooms.... and it was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misterfroggiefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear misterfroggiefrog

What a spectacular review. Thank you very much indeed for taking the time and trouble to leave this.

We do hope you will visit us again in the future.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,783
    133
    57
    22
    10
See reviews for
260
1,366
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Room was fabulous (Provence) and the staff very attentive. We ate in the Conservatory and not the preferred Grand Sale (it was closed due to few diners that evening -- although every table in the Conservatory was taken). The food was great and the food presentation was excellent. The wine list is uninspired and heavily marked up -- in a word, challenged. Some of the wine selections were marked up 10 times the full retail value and the wine selections ranged from very bad to excellent but not a lot inbetween.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Chris & Avery B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Chris and Avery B

Your review is very much appreciated. We have three restaurant rooms and it is funny how guests almost always have preferences and we are sorry that on this occasion you were unable to dine in your preferred room.

Thank you also for your feedback with regard to our wine list.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to Le Manoir in the future.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

My partner and I stayed overnight at Le Manoir aux Quat' Saisons, this week, and experienced the 7 Course Taster Menu in the evening. We were bowled over by the warmth and sincerity of all the staff, at Le Manoir, and the excellent little "touches" which made the stay even more delightful. The venue and gardens were gorgeous, the food was spectacular and our room was so comfortable. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Alison L

What lovely feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to leave with such happy memories.

Please visit again.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

My mother treated myself and my wife to a trip to the man who are to celebrate her 50th birthday. From the moment we arrived till the moment we left we were made to feel special. After eating at Le Gavroche and staying at Gidleigh Park in the last six months Le Manoir outshone both them both for food quality and making you feel special. If you're looking to stay for a special occasion (money no object) then Le Manoir must be your choice

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear nick d

Thank you for leaving your feedback following your special birthday celebrations.

We do hope you will visit again soon.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay, dinner plus breakfast, booked for our 40th Wedding Anniversay. What can I say - it was marvellous from start to finish. From the moment we arrived and were personally escorted from our car, to the attention to detail as we booked out, this has been the most wonderful experience.

Our first lovely suprise was a very generous room upgrade to a superior suite as we were celebrating our anniversary that very day. We loved the room - Lavande - so much that we stayed in it all afternoon!!!

For dinner we chose the 7 course tasting menu and I can honestly say my husband and I have never tasted food so magnificent. Each course was a delight and the accompanying service was impeccable.

Breakfast was also on a par with dinner, and once again the service and attention to detail was wonderful.

Le Manoir is the most wonderful place to celebrate a special event in your life. The levels of service and attention to detail are what set this establishment apart from the rest. We hope to be back for our Golden Wedding Anniversary.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Cathendo

What a lovely way to spend your 40th wedding anniversary. We too love Lavande, but then we are spoiled with just so many lovely rooms to choose from.

Thank you for your comments with regard to your restaurant experience.

We do hope you will visit us again.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford,
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

For more than 30 years we have enjoyed M.Raymond Blanc's hospitality in his various restaurants, and chose Le Manoir to celebrate our Golden Wedding with a family dinner, and an overnight stay. Our room (Hyacinth) was exquisite, and our table in the Conservatory restaurant just what we wanted.

The 7-course menu was top class, and the recommended wines a good match. Beautifully-trained staff serve dinner with a delightful rhythm born of much experience, so that one's needs are anticipated with little cause to ask. Cocktails first and coffee after were served in the small bar, reserved for our party. Our adult children and their spouses all agreed the evening was a memorable experience.

On the following morning we visited the gardens, big and well-worth the walk, while six of our party were given a fascinating tour of the kitchens, with 42 staff preparing lunch.

Le Manoir is not cheap, with a large suite of buildings and their grounds needing a heavy staff, but the food, service, and facilities are world-class and justify its high reputation. We were treated as honoured guests, and suspect all guests are given the same welcome. A truly splendid evening of celebration. Greydiver, Oxford.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GreydiverOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear GreydriverOxford

How lovely to read that you have been visiting us for many years and still so much enjoy visiting with your family.

We do hope you will come back soon.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

If you love food and want to treat yourself, go!
It might appear a bit pretentious, but it definitely is not. On my most recent visit, my dented 10yr old Mini Cooper s was just as well accepted in the car park as the guy behind me in the Bentley, and there was absolutely no pomp and ceremony. I find the whole place incredibly relaxed, the service is faultless, and the atmosphere is jovial and not at all stuffy, which I know quite a few friends assumed it would be.
Food is in a class of its own, the actual building itself and the grounds are beautiful. the chairs in the sitting room are SO deep and comfortable, and the fire so warm, I found it very hard to get up and go home!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Max H

We could not ask for a better review, thank you.

You have expressed exactly the experience that we aim for for our guests. Please do visit us again soon.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Milton
7.7 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
5.8 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
7.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Property: Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Address: Church Road, Great Milton OX44 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Great Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by celebrated chef Raymond Blanc OBE, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons is renowned for offering one of Britain's finest gastronomic experiences. Situated in the picturesque Oxfordshire village of Great Milton, it is also one of the country's most intimate and original hotels, with 32 individually designed guest rooms and suites. The hotel received two Michelin stars in 1984, the first year of its opening, and, remarkably, has held them ever since. Surrounded by lawns, flower borders and orchards, the luxury hotel enjoys an idyllic, typically English setting. But beyond the eye-catching displays are vegetable and herb gardens that provide the kitchen-and the acclaimed Raymond Blanc Cookery School-with ultra-fresh, organic produce, ensuring the Michelin-star restaurant remains at the cutting edge of culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Aux Quat`Saisons By Orient-Express Hotel Great Milton
Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Manoir Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Quatre Saisons
Manor Quatre Saisons
Belmond Le Manoir Aux Quat'Saisons Great Milton, Oxfordshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing