We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious countryside break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Luxurious countryside break”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The rooms are absolutely great, tastefully decorated and really convenient. Some even boast a steamroom (brilliant)! The location (less than one hour drive from central London) is a major plus, and it is also a great base to discover Oxfordshire. The food (2 stars) is obviously delicious, and the gardens charming. One can only regret the absence of a spa/swimming pool.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, Owner at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Alexis M,

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Raymond Blanc and the team at Le Manoir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,865
    140
    57
    22
    10
See reviews for
278
1,423
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our break at Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons was as near to perfection as we have ever experienced. Beautiful room, Hydrangea which was exquisitely furnished, had triple aspect views of garden and front of property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MrscLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, Owner at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear MrscLeicestershire,

Near to perfection, what wonderful quote. Thank you.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Raymond Blanc and the team at Le Manoir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was our second time at Le Manoir and was equally as special as the first. We travelled with our friends who were as impressed with the whole experience as we were and still are. We chose to stay in the same room again which was Lavande and our friends stayed in Kiki. One of our friends is a smoker so Kiki was a great room to allow him to nip outside to smoke. We had the 7 course tasting menu which was excellent. Every course delights with both taste, presentation and thought and as always if you wish to change one of the courses it is not a problem at all. The staff are exceptional and make you feel extremely welcome. This is a hotel and restaurant for anybody and everybody and I think if you can appreciate the work that somebody puts in to maintaining such high standards you will enjoy your stay every time. Raymond Blanc very clearly cares about his hotel and restaurant and is in it for the art not the celebrity status. We had a wonderful time and will undoubtedly return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank molliemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, Owner at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear molliemoo,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Le Manoir. I am so pleased that you all enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Raymond Blanc and the team at Le Manoir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The location was wonderful, the accommodation was superb, but the dining experience was disappointing.

As part of a fine dining experience the delivery of courses needs to be properly paced. Too quickly and you feel rushed; too slowly and you start to lose interest. In the time it took Heston Blumenthal to deliver fifteen course with due theatre the Manoir managed to deliver seven with lots of apologies and ever retreating ETAs. Our Monk Fish course was cold, consequently a bit chewy, and had obviously been sitting around for quite a while. We debated whether to send it back, but we could not face another long wait.

For the price that you pay Orient Express hotels you expect top notch service. There was no shortage of staff, but they were uncoordinated. We ordered a Martini with an olive. It was delivered with a twist. We had booked the Dining Experience, but the person who gave us the menus was unaware of that. Our friends were shown to a superior suite when they arrived. They were very impressed, but realised a mistake had been made when they found that the envelope on the bed was addressed to somebody else.

Not that any of these minor things would have mattered if the Dining Experience had been as good as we were expecting, but as it was everything added up to feeling that we had paid a lot of money for a sub-standard service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

First visit to this type of restaurant . It certainly did not disappoint. Everything was spot on. Service was very attentive without being intrusive. Food was excellent . Would recommend Le Manoir to anyone for a very special treat.

Room Tip: Did not stay. Only had meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, Owner at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Philip H,

I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Le Manoir and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Raymond Blanc and the team at Le Manoir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is my favourite restaurant. I have tried two michelin and three michelin starred restaurants in the UK and abroad but this is my favourite of them all. In fact I have been quite disappointed by many two michelin starred restaurants after eating here. I just cannot work out why on earth this place has only two stars. What is wrong with these inspectors? I love the taster menu and the seasonal menu is fabulous. The whole setting of this restaurant is special and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The food is prepared with care and this shows in every single dish. The staff look after your every need from the moment you arrive and absolutely nothing is too much trouble for them. Above all else this place is not pretentious and everything from the food to the service is just about quality. Keep up the fantastic work!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, Owner at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Lisa L,

Thank you for suggesting that we should have three stars! We are incredibly proud of having two Michelin stars and we will soon be celebrating our 30th anniversary this year.

Kind regards,

Raymond Blanc and the team at Le Manoir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at Le Manoir for my husband's 50th birthday which was lovely. We had an upgrade on arrival to the Amethyst room just off the courtyard. It was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. A highlight is the service throughout the hotel and restaurant, the staff are so welcoming and attentive. Remi in the restaurant provided excellent service, friendly and professional. We tried the 5 course tasting menu with accompanying wines on our first evening. It was delicious but I found the portions quite large and was uncomfortably full, I wouldn't choose a tasting menu again, I preferred the second evening when I chose exactly what I wanted and the wine to go with it! We had lunch at the Bull, the pub in the village which was lovely and spent an afternoon shopping at Bicester village. The grounds at Le Manoir are lovely even in the winter. A lovely relaxing place to stay - to be recommended! It is expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank CaroleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, Owner at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear CaroleS,

What a wonderful way to celebrate. Thank you for taking the time to write about your magical stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Raymond Blanc and the team at Le Manoir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Milton
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
7.7 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
6.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
683 reviews
7.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,161 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Property: Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Address: Church Road, Great Milton OX44 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Great Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by celebrated chef Raymond Blanc OBE, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons is renowned for offering one of Britain's finest gastronomic experiences. Situated in the picturesque Oxfordshire village of Great Milton, it is also one of the country's most intimate and original hotels, with 32 individually designed guest rooms and suites. The hotel received two Michelin stars in 1984, the first year of its opening, and, remarkably, has held them ever since. Surrounded by lawns, flower borders and orchards, the luxury hotel enjoys an idyllic, typically English setting. But beyond the eye-catching displays are vegetable and herb gardens that provide the kitchen-and the acclaimed Raymond Blanc Cookery School-with ultra-fresh, organic produce, ensuring the Michelin-star restaurant remains at the cutting edge of culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Aux Quat`Saisons By Orient-Express Hotel Great Milton
Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Manoir Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Quatre Saisons
Manor Quatre Saisons
Belmond Le Manoir Aux Quat'Saisons Great Milton, Oxfordshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing