We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Le Manoir”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at Le Manoir for my husband's 50th birthday which was lovely. We had an upgrade on arrival to the Amethyst room just off the courtyard. It was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. A highlight is the service throughout the hotel and restaurant, the staff are so welcoming and attentive. Remi in the restaurant provided excellent service, friendly and professional. We tried the 5 course tasting menu with accompanying wines on our first evening. It was delicious but I found the portions quite large and was uncomfortably full, I wouldn't choose a tasting menu again, I preferred the second evening when I chose exactly what I wanted and the wine to go with it! We had lunch at the Bull, the pub in the village which was lovely and spent an afternoon shopping at Bicester village. The grounds at Le Manoir are lovely even in the winter. A lovely relaxing place to stay - to be recommended! It is expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank CaroleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, Owner at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear CaroleS,

What a wonderful way to celebrate. Thank you for taking the time to write about your magical stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Raymond Blanc and the team at Le Manoir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,476 - 1,482 of 2,238 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

Visited here for my husband’s 50th birthday and it was a very special weekend. This place won’t disappoint it’s just perfect. The rooms a superb we stayed in the Hollyhock Room which is just magnificent. Sugared almonds and fruit in the room on arrival, which is a lovely touch.
The gardens, especially the vegetable garden are just fabulous and you can wander round for hours, even have a game of croquet on the lawn.
Lovely to sit out with afternoon tea, or champagne in our case! My only regret was that we couldn’t have spent more time here.
The food and service is everything you would expect, and you will be made more than welcome by all of the staff. You get what you pay for and this place is worth every penny.

Room Tip: They will all be good ....but Hollyhock really has the wow factor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STRINGERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, Owner at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear STRINGERS,

Your stay sounds stunning and I am so pleased that you enjoyed it.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Raymond Blanc and the team at Le Manoir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Fantastic, individual rooms each with different styles and characteristics - we went with friends so we saw their room as well. It's all understated and comfortable. Everything you could want is provided and it feels really special, as it should, of course, because it is incredibly expensive.

The tasting menu was excellent, and they also do a vegetarian tasting menu, plus they didn't bat an eyelid about accommodating allergies and preferences.

A lovely (return) visit, but a shame it's quite so prohibitively expensive that we couldn't go just a little more often.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puffpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, Owner at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear puffpuff,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your second visit.
From look at when you came to visit, you should come and visit us in the summer.

Kind regards,

Raymond Blanc and the team at Le Manoir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

From the minute the car touched the car park gravel, until we left the experince was amazing. Everybody here is clearly committed to providing the most fantastic experience. We had a tour of the main house area and stayed in the Hollyhock room which was so beautifully put together. The gardens were lovely even at this rather dorment time, with the gardeners keen to offer information on the fruits of their labour. Dinner in the evening and breakfast the following morning were both amazing. The staff again very attentive without being over bearing. One of the most impressive things was the information available,everybody knew eveything with regard to food and drink, and looked genuinely delighted to explain anything to you ....I could go on and on....just hope I get to do it again. To you my darling Sarah,thank you so, so much,I love you. Xxxx

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simpsonmi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, Owner at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear simpsonmi44,

I am so pleased that you such a wonderful time at Le Manoir and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Raymond Blanc and the team at Le Manoir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Arranged as a treat for my wife's "special" birthday. Nothing was too much effort for the experienced staff. Our room was very luxurious and well planned out. The Gardens and grounds (from where much of the food for the kitchen comes) were very well looked after. The menu was well thought out and delicious.(Items can be changed but this was not necessary)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, Owner at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Stephen H,

What a wonderful treat for your wife's birthday, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Raymond Blanc and the team at Le Manoir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Lovely place to stay for a very special treat. If on a limited budget check the wine list and drinks and beverage menus before ordering. Food presentation and service excellent. Staff very attentive and knowledgeable prepare to be spoilt

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BAMJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, Owner at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear BAMJB,

I am so pleased you left feeling spoilt! That is how we like all of our guests to feel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Raymond Blanc and the team at Le Manoir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I went with a friend to Le Manoir for the first time in September 2013, having wanted to go for many years. I had previously rung them up on the morning of my birthday in July. Despite being booked up for months ahead, they were prepared to fit me in at 2pm on the very same day. In the end my own disorganisation with other appointments later in the day meant I didn't really have enough time to enjoy the experience. So I ducked out and they were so nice about it. Nothing was a problem and please come whenever you are able. I was very impressed by the 'can do', pleasant and helpful attitude that I had met.
So in September I rang again at fairly short notice and again I was met with the same kind and pleasant helpfulness. We were again fitted in for lunch on the same day. As I put down the phone we were both ecstatic !
When we arrived It was a beautiful sunny and hot September lunchtime and there was plenty of parking. We went for a stroll around the beautifully kept gardens and soon felt very relaxed chatting to gardeners as we went, and we also enjoyed the interesting sculptures. As we walked back across the large lawn to the house, diners were sitting enjoying a relaxed drink before lunch. We were met by the waiter who asked whether we would like to sit in the sun or the shade.We sat in the shade and had our drinks, which on such a warm day were soft, plus some tasty and very unusual petit-fours. The service was kind, good-humoured and attentive, and yet still left us to drink and converse in our own time.
We were both somwhat overwhelmed by the comprehensiveness of the menu and quickly decided that the 5 course menu was going to move things along quicker than a long period studying the menu. These menus regularly send me off in to a tailspin in any restaurant anyway. You could of course avoid this by making your choices by looking at the menus on the website beforehand.
We ate in the conservatory which is spacious, airy and immaculate. As anyone would expect from Raymond Blanc, the 5 course meal was excellent, wonderfully flavoured and certainly filled you up.
Throughout it was the staff which impressed me almost as much as the food and the ambience. They were all to a man, and woman, so attentive, yet would fade away and leave you to it. They were up for a joke if you wished and were so kind,funny and respectful. I feel the whole place had Raymond Blanc's stamp everywhere, in that everything was immaculate yet relaxed and friendly, a trick not always achieved in some expensive English restaurants.
When a wedding party arrived later in the day it was so obvious that the whole arrival and reception had been planned with great love and kindness. We stayed to enjoy the gentle and relaxed summer evening gathering from a short distance. From where I was standing it looked like the staff were all loving it too !
I asked for a brochure at the reception desk and was given a beautifully produced full colour booklet which is a treasured momento of a wonderful day.
Because it was such a hot day we didn't drink anything other than water and soft drinks and of course this had a very benifical effect on the bill. We ended up paying £100 per head which I thought was amazingly good value for such a high profile and famous venue.
What a wonderful place to visit and enjoy - can't wait to find an excuse to return !

Room Tip: We only eat and didn't stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryShunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Milton
6 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#1 of 2 in Milton Common
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
731 reviews
3 mi away
The Crazy Bear Hotel - Stadhampton
7.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Address: Church Road, Great Milton OX44 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Great Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Price Range: $753 - $1,834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by celebrated chef Raymond Blanc OBE, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons is renowned for offering one of Britain's finest gastronomic experiences. Situated in the picturesque Oxfordshire village of Great Milton, it is also one of the country's most intimate and original hotels, with 32 individually designed guest rooms and suites. The hotel received two Michelin stars in 1984, the first year of its opening, and, remarkably, has held them ever since. Surrounded by lawns, flower borders and orchards, the luxury hotel enjoys an idyllic, typically English setting. But beyond the eye-catching displays are vegetable and herb gardens that provide the kitchen-and the acclaimed Raymond Blanc Cookery School-with ultra-fresh, organic produce, ensuring the Michelin-star restaurant remains at the cutting edge of culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Aux Quat`Saisons By Orient-Express Hotel Great Milton
Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Manoir Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Quatre Saisons
Manor Quatre Saisons
Belmond Le Manoir Aux Quat'Saisons Great Milton, Oxfordshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing