We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had the pleasure of a two night stay at this stunning hotel in the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside.
There aren't enough superlatives to describe this place. Nothing could be faulty, from the reception at the car park and the front desk, the room was perfect, the grounds beautiful and tranquil and the dinner simply amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_traveller1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, Owner at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Welsh_traveller1965,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Raymond Blanc and the team at Le Manoir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,841
    138
    57
    22
    10
See reviews for
273
1,406
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

It is not often you can say that a hotel is perfect, but Le Manoir truly is.

We stayed at in March to celebrate my boyfriend's 31st birthday. Wow....from the moment we arrived and were greeted like old friends, to the incredibly comfortable suite, to the unforgettable tasting menu we enjoyed at dinner, everything was just perfect.

We stayed in the Lemongrass suite, complete with its very cool steam room/shower set up, and fish tank wall separating the bathroom from the bedroom (we had a slight moment of panic when we returned after dinner to find the fish 'floating' on the surface in the tank - we discovered after a speedy phone call to Reception that this is apparently where he likes to sleep....!).

We opted for the tasting menu, with wine flight, and simply cannot imagine where we will ever taste food as ambrosial, or enjoy wines as interesting as those suggested by the young female sommelier.

Breakfast in the morning is not to be missed....divine eggs benedict and the fluffiest of croissants set us up for the day before we headed out for a tour of the gardens.

Thank you to all at Le Manoir for showing us that perfection does exist in a hotel.

Room Tip: Lemongrass Suite is AMAZING - if you have the option to book it, you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vv83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, Owner at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Vv83,

I am so pleased that you found perfection and from reading your comments. You thoroughly enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Raymond Blanc and the team at Le Manoir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate to stay at Le Manoir to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This is not something we would usually be able to afford but my husband was awarded it as the winner of The who cares award. The experience was superb from beginning to end and we were lucky to be up graded to a beautiful courtyard room. The nine course decouverte experience allowed us to taste a range of dishes all perfectly executed . If we were ever fortunate enough to visit again we would probably go for the six course tasting menu as the nine courses defeated us a little . The breakfast was equally as impressive with the largest selection of fresh fruit , breads, meats and cheeses we have ever seen. The jabugo ham and the wine soaked prunes stood out as favourites for us. The staff were incredibly knowledgable and professional. The bed the most comfortable we have ever slept in. Thank you to everyone at Le Manoir for making our stay perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazziegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, Owner at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Cazziegirl,

What a wonderful way to celebrate your anniversary. It's funny that you mention our comfortable beds, we have had to give our supplier details to a few of our guests who have purchased the same ones.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Raymond Blanc and the team at Le Manoir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We went to Le Manoir to for my husband's special birthday celebration dinner and what a dinner it was! We've eaten some extremely good food at some very lovely restaurants but Le Manoir is something else.

From the moment you arrive you are made to feel special. The building is beautiful, the service is exceptional and the food (we went for the 9 course tasting menu) is absolutely exquisite. Every single course was a symphony of flavours, beautifully presented and quite simply delicious.

The only downside for my husband (a long time fan) was that Raymond himself was not there.

We will most certainly be saving up our pennies to go back again one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, Owner at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Margot1967,

I am so pleased that you had such a great time with us and can only apologise for Raymond not being there.

Kind regards,

Claire Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
388 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Another fantastic stay and dinner - shared with two friends, one of whom was celbrating her birthday and we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. The rooms were superb as was the food and service. I've said it all before - I just wish that we could afford to go more often as it is not cheap.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, Owner at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear welltravelledkandd,

I am so pleased that you had a fantastic dinner and overnight stay with us.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Raymond Blanc and the team at Le Manoir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Exhausted by the endless emails and phone calls and sheer hard work my husband had endured to book several rooms and suites and a glorious birthday dinner, I was sure the Manoir would rise to the occasion and our visit would ultimately be outstanding. And it was. Very sadly outstanding. Almost everything was too much trouble during the evening and the Maitre D' actually asked us to leave before even serving the beautifully hand-made birthday cake (not by the Manoir). When he finally agreed to serve the cake I actually had to offer to send everyone to their rooms to order champagne so that we could serve cake and champagne. Apparently the bar was shut. Well, thank goodness the Maitre D' was wrong about that, along with a few other things, because we needed a stiff drink to get over the evenings experience. Never to be repeated. Beautiful property, delicious food, woefully lacking in customer care.

Room Tip: Have endless discussions until you finally get an answer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Sarah B,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your visit was so difficult to arrange.
We would also like to apologise for the lack of care and attention offered to you during dinner. We are always saddened if we do not meet expectations and would once again like to say how sorry we are.

Kind regards,


Philip Newman-Hall FIH MI
Director/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Oh dear. Our visit to Le Manoir was to celebrate a birthday in July. I had cancelled an earlier trip with RHS and was offered a gift voucher in exchange which gave us the perfect excuse. So much was wonderful; the service was superb, really friendly and hotel and grounds are perfect. Our celebration was special and my partner really appreciated his birthday dessert. But I was disappointed with one thing. We had ordered a cheese course. The waiter brought a splendid cheese trolley and I sat patiently while my partner choose his cheese, planning what I would have. At that point the waiter put down two plates and walked away. After a while I called him back to remonstrate; the serving was generous enough for two but why had he not offered me a choice. "I thought Msr would make the choice " - To be fair they later gave us the cheese course for free to compensate and everything else was fine but I am still smarting from the worst chauvinism I've come across for years. And just back from Portugal where it seems to be the practise to offer both man and woman the chance to check the wine before pouring.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecosoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeManoirAdmin, Owner at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Ecosoul,

We are grateful for you taking the time to post your feedback.
We are afraid that we cannot offer any explanation for the cheese service, this is very strange and not the level of service we strive for at Le Manoir.
It is lovely to read that this point apart, your partner and yourself enjoyed your special celebration.

Kind regards,

Raymond Blanc and the team at Le Manoir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Milton
7.7 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
6.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
7.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Property: Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Address: Church Road, Great Milton OX44 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Great Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by celebrated chef Raymond Blanc OBE, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons is renowned for offering one of Britain's finest gastronomic experiences. Situated in the picturesque Oxfordshire village of Great Milton, it is also one of the country's most intimate and original hotels, with 32 individually designed guest rooms and suites. The hotel received two Michelin stars in 1984, the first year of its opening, and, remarkably, has held them ever since. Surrounded by lawns, flower borders and orchards, the luxury hotel enjoys an idyllic, typically English setting. But beyond the eye-catching displays are vegetable and herb gardens that provide the kitchen-and the acclaimed Raymond Blanc Cookery School-with ultra-fresh, organic produce, ensuring the Michelin-star restaurant remains at the cutting edge of culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Aux Quat`Saisons By Orient-Express Hotel Great Milton
Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Manoir Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Quatre Saisons
Manor Quatre Saisons
Belmond Le Manoir Aux Quat'Saisons Great Milton, Oxfordshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing