We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tale of two experiences”
Review of Auberge du Val

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge du Val
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2012

To get a better idea of this B&B / restaurant read the restaurant reviews. The B&B value is great c £35 pppn - but the restaurant is less so, although the food was great. The bedrooms need a bit of attention (try getting the door open to room 4 in less than 30 secs!) - and the rooms are a bit pokey, but we enjoyed our stay. Great setting and great breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2011

The Auberge du Val is a beautiful old farmhouse located in a simply gorgeous part of Guernsey away from the hustle of St. Peter Port but with a bus stop right outside (the bus doesn't come too often, so check the schedule). It seems to be popular as a restaurant, which is understandable because the food and wine are terrific, though not cheap. Plenty of atmosphere and choice. As a bed and breakfast, they don't seem to know what they're doing. Although I had emailed ahead my ETA, I arrived to find the small lobby dark and deserted, and waited for quite a while before anyone responded to my ring, and she seemed a bit flustered and inept. A nice chap called Fernando is nominally in charge, but he's conspicuous by his absence most of the time, even when he's desperately needed, and he leaves too much to Eastern European employees who are pleasant but don't speak adequate English and aren't sure how to deal with credit cards and other necessities of running a hotel. I missed a bus because I was trying to check out and Fernando couldn't be located. It's all rather Fawlty Towers. The room was a bit eccentric and the floor creaked like a ship in a gale no matter how carefully you walked on it, but it was comfortable and clean. The halls are sort of dark, and a little refurbishment seems in order. Breakfast was excellent, with lots of choice in a delightful setting. Value for money (40 pounds pppn for an ensuite) is astonishing. I think I'd return, but I wouldn't expect much in the way of service on the b&b side of things.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a floor that doesn't creak (good luck).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennyamberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank delphlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank silviawerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HagenTrenkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Bonne table simple et accessible. Attention le parking est exigü.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank michtozaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Sylvie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Saviour
3.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
880 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Roche
La Roche
#1 of 1 in Castel
126 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel La Michele
Hotel La Michele
#3 of 8 in St Martin
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Queens Inn
The Queens Inn
#2 of 8 in St Martin
36 reviews
0 mi away
Grisnoir Guest House
Grisnoir Guest House
#6 of 8 in St Peter Port
27 reviews
205.9 mi away
The Longfrie Inn
The Longfrie Inn
#1 of 2 in St. Pierre du Bois
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Val? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Val

Address: Sous L'Eglise, Saint Saviour GY7 9FX
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Saint Saviour
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Saviour
Price Range: $80 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Val 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge du Val reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing