We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hafod Elwy Hall
Nearby Hotels
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talardy Hotel(St. Asaph)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Hotel(Ruthin)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$102
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kinmel(Abergele)
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$79
$65
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Plas Hafod Hotel(Gwernymynydd)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
48
3
2
1
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
3
2
1
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadded bonusfiresfarmsheepsnowdonialandcountrysidepeaceowlshousebootswoodcatfab
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 66 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Pros:- What an absolutely fabulous place for a weekend break or longer. Warm welcome from the owners Roger & Wendy, very comfortable unique rooms which fit into the hall superbly.
A little gem in the middle of nowhere, with brilliant views & it being a good base to explore countryside & coast , & walks .
Breakfast & Dinner excellent good quality & well cooked & served home food . Lots of special touches in room & bathrooms .
Cons:-Only minor issue top of wardrobe was dusty, otherwise was spotless
Thank you for sharing your home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryl19591990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Perfect setting and atmosphere for a ' get-away-from-it-all ' break. You will not be disappointed with any aspect of Hafod Elwy Hall. From sincere hosts, sumptious beds, mesmerising log fires, delicious home cooked (grown and reared) food, romantic walks and everlasting views..its got it all..I wish we were still there now and as I write this, I almost feel home-sick. My hubby and I have stayed three times and we hope that on our next visit we are snowed in...enough said..? Many thanks and kind regards to Roger and Wendy for their hospitality. You tick all the boxes and Kenny & Jan (and our dog Jess) think both you and Hafod Elwy are FANTABULOUS !

Room Tip: We stayed in the smaller Brenig double room with four poster. It has no T.V but a huge bathroom.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We chose this hotel at short notice for an overnight stay. We wish we could have stayed longer. There are only 3/4 rooms in this very old isolated farmhouse. They only take bookings for a minimum of 2 nights normally in high season but still had a vacancy and therefore accepted our booking. The large room with 4 poster bed and lovely en suite bathroom were beautifully decorated and furnished. There was an option to eat in in the evening which we chose. Good and very plentiful home cooking. We had the dining room to ourselves . The breakfast was excellent with home grown bacon and locally sourced produce. A very handy location to explore snowdonia.

Room Tip: The best room is worth the extra and it has sky to watch the cricket!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is full of character! Breakfast is 11/10 and if u get a chance to try the homemade bread then do! Would put any baker to shame. Remote location is great and soooo peaceful also great not to have mobile signal. Perfect for weekend stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neilsawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I spent eight days at this utterly glorious hall, (5th June until 13th June) I cannot praise it highly enough. We left feeling like friends even though Roger and Wendy were not 'in your face' at all. The Hall is situated in the midst of the most spectacular scenery on the Denbigh moors and the owners also have a 60 acre holding so all the eggs, bacon, sausages and lamb come from their animals. The decor is decidedly quirky but totally appropriate for the building, whilst, of course it is spotlessly clean, this is not your sanitised hostelry at all and, because of this, you do feel as though you are staying with friends of friends. We were upgraded to the largest room and it was fab, large four poster, victorian bath, etc, etc. Views of the front garden and the moors and trees beyond. We were in Denbigh for business and for visiting friends but we know the area extremely well and if you are looking for an escape this is it in spades. Don't worry about being cold - they have fires which are wonderful as the building is cool which is a bonus when there is hot weather. Don't worry about being bored there are books galore which you can take with you if you have not finished them and puzzles and games to intrigue and challenge. As for the food - what can I say - Roger could easily be a michelin cook, the meals we had there were unbelievably good, one starter was homegrown asparagus with an absolutely delicious sauce of Roger's own invention followed by wild rainbow trout one day and then raspberries which I had brought as we cannot buy 'fresh' raspberries in Cyprus, another day we had the asparagus again, roast pork and all the trimmings plus the most amazing crackling ever which was followed by a homegrown rhubarb fool - not too sweet which contrasted wonderfully with the pork. The last meal we had was a smoked salmon starter, braised beef in wine and strawberries. As for the breakfasts they kept us going all day, plus Roger even knows how to coddle the best scrambled eggs I have had! You must, must visit this place, really you must.

Room Tip: Go for the largest room if you can it is the best, they have a small fridge in there too which you cannot hear, unbelievable!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia4J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therealwith, Owner at Hafod Elwy Hall, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see both of you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews