We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunches” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glass Onion Cafe

Glass Onion Cafe
Ranked #7 of 46 Restaurants in Denbigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A small, friendly cafe offering a place to meet, relax, watch the world go by & enjoy tasty home cooked food ... and find out a little more about Denbigh & our Local Area. We don't serve 'fast food', but we do serve tasty fresh food as fast as we can. Please be aware that during busy times there may be a wait. We offer vegetarian, gluten & dairy free options - please let us know of any dietary requirements - we'll do our best to cater for you. For our 'Younger Customers' - we offer a smaller portion form our menu or a 'Picnic Plate' - choose from a selection of ham, chicken, tuna, cheese, eggs, salad/vegetable pieces, fruit, crisps, bread/toast....& more!! With a fruit juice, milk or milk shake!! (highchair & booster seat available) Can't stay? Take it away! Telephone orders welcome... delivery available too!! Outside Catering...From a platter of freshly made sandwiches to something more elaborate, we would love to assist you with any catering requirements you may have at your home, venue or office.
Denbigh North Wales
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great lunches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Enormous salads at lunch time. Friendly welcome to chat or read the house copy of the papers
Good coffee.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrTimW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    13
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“coffee”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Only called in for a coffee and had a big hair in it, put me off. Nice place but if they can't make coffee without hair i wouldn't chance the food

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank arwyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Hidden Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I cannot believe that I've been coming to Denbigh for years and yet failed to visit this hidden gem of a cafe. I was introduced to it only the other day and found the whole experience to be a wonderful one. The owner, Sue, is warm and friendly and the environment is totally relaxing. It is not like a mainstream cafe and doesn't harbour the usual impersonality and lack lustre feel that many unfortunately do.

The food was excellent and competitively priced and the cafe caters for vegetarians without issue. It stands in a quiet backstreet and is an excellent meeting place for a 'coffee-chat' or for lunch. The menu is impressive and the food is freshly prepared. So if you are in Denbigh, check this pleasant little cafe out. I guarantee that you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyGerrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic sausages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We went for breakfast here this morning and what a wonderful cafe. When we walked in we received a cheery warm welcome from the lady (owner?) And nothing was too much trouble. We both had the full breakfast which the ingredients were sourced locally and cooked superbly. This cafe also sells crafts which the owners make it seems to be the social centre of Denbigh.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Portdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A very warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We ate lunch in here today and were made to feel so at home. The owners are LOVELY, really friendly (but not the sort who would be in your face if you didn't want to chat)! It's a quirky, comfy cafe with bunting and fairy lights The food was good too, we both had homemade soup (I had carrot and apple, hubbie had chicken and mushroom), both of which were served with a warm roll. They were homemade and very tasty (£3.50 each). We shared a chorizo mozzeralla and tomato panini which came with a really good side salad and coleslaw. 2 coffees later the bill was £14.50. We drank tap water which was served with a smile and a slice of lemon (not begrudgingly as it is in some places). If we lived closer we would definitely be regulars.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnySalfordGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass Onion Cafe also viewed

 
Denbigh, Denbighshire
 
Denbigh, Denbighshire
 

Been to Glass Onion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing