We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great North Wales location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Denbigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great North Wales location”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Guildhall Hotel on a short break to North Wales.
The hotel was very clean and the owners friendly and helpful.
We had an evening meal on our first night and there was a good choice well presented.
Recently taken over by the new owners, who were very friendly and enthusiastic about the future.
I hope they succeed as the Town generally needs some serious re-generation, as most Pubs were advertising food but not serving it. Very few people in the Pubs.
Lovely Castle, and the town has an interesting history.
Well worth a visit and would return to the Guildhall if in the area.
Great value as was a KGB deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilann44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    65
    32
    17
    3
See reviews for
18
129
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on businesses and found the ambience of the place to be fantastic, the home cooked food excellent - especially the braised beef. Also I enjoyed the proper cider on hand pull. Will definitely be recommending to my colleagues who visit the area regularly...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We booked a two day stay through KGB deal. Beautiful hotel and the staff were very understanding specially David. The room we had was fantastic, roll top bath, separate suite really good. Would recommend it !!!

Room Tip: Our room was on the front and a little noisy..not sure the standard of the rooms at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

There's a lot more to this tavern than meets the eye, largely because it has a very good chef. We had two evening meals here and both were very good, and the breakfasts are excellent. Our room was a good size, including the bathroom, with the most gorgeous fluffy white towels, and comfortably furnished although the bed was a bit lumpy! The staff are friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel is very good, right in the middle of Denbigh, although this does mean that parking is limited and getting out of the car park can be nerve-wracking. It also means that if you leave your window open because of the heat, as we had to, you start to hear the church bells, delivery vans etc. from about 6.00 am! The hotel is an interesting building in itself, having many features dating back to centuries gone by, including lovely wood-panelling in the breakfast room. Denbigh is an interesting town, with its castle and old streets and buildings but with its fair share of charity shops too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fudgecat0250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We usually stay in Ruthin when we head away to North Wales, but an online deal caught our attention and favourable reviews on here helped too, so we stayed here instead. I have a sneaky suspicion that we ended up in the best room in the tavern, which was the Dinbych room.

We booked a 2 night weekend stay here via a deal website and paid for a room upgrade, it has to be said that the room was very nice indeed. The big 4 poster bed was comfortable, the bathroom was luxurious and the big walk in shower was bliss.

The location of the B&B was handy for strolling around the town and there was enough pubs serving real ale within staggering distance to keep us amused. One point of note, the pubs that we tried, none of them had a decent outdoors area, which was a shame, not even the Guildhall Tavern.

The breakfast was adequate, but not substantial. When I go away for the weekend I like to have a hearty breakfast that will keep me going until about 8pm, for when it is time for the evening meal. This didn't happen here. I asked only for 4 items on the breakfast menu, you would have thought that with ordering such a small number of items, they would have given you more of what you ordered, but the single sausage and 2 bacon rashers next to small pools of beans and mushrooms did look rather lonely on the place, plus they only brought you 1 small slice of toast!

Another point to make you aware of is the very limited car parking. There is a car park, but only room for about 6 cars before they start to block others in. So if you are told by the hotel staff to park so that you block someone in, you could end up being disturbed as your car needs to be moved, or worse, get blocked in.

If we stayed in Denbigh again, we would probably stay here. However, we found that compared to Ruthin, Denbigh didn't have as much charm, and doubt that we would stay in the town again - unless we came across another great deal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I stayed on business here and the first issue was the very limited parking. I had to ask staff to move cars both parking and leaving the next day which was frustrating. After that the check in process was easy and was shown to the room. The room was a good size and had tea and coffe with a good size TV. The bed and pillows were a bit lumpy and the shower room could do with an overhaul. We ate in the bar and the food was good with again good service. Overall with an alright stay but I would not pay what we did for the stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eldodgemous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here last weekend. Food excellent. Very comfortable room. My husband had bad back so they carried him a hard chair up to room, even brought a print out of route to wedding venue without being asked. Very helpful all round. Old Tavern so mix of old and new fittings. No lift. But staff will carry anything you need. Floors uneven because of age, but loved it. Tea and coffee and great bath shower. Under new Management and their really trying. Well done.

Room Tip: Old travel Inn, so floors uneven, with mix of modern and old fittings,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denbigh
6.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
4.4 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
528 reviews
6.6 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
392 reviews
10.1 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
352 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hafod Elwy Hall
Hafod Elwy Hall
#1 of 1 in Denbigh
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Hall Square, Denbigh LL16 3NU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Denbigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Denbigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant Denbigh, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing