We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mum's 60th birthday weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 7 Denbigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Struggled to find accommodation for group of 14, until saw Guildhall Tavern on Groupon. Booked without researching as was on last minute. Had some concerns after reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor. After having been there and experienced the service, food and rooms, we've had a fantastic weekend and it has been made so by Fern and the team. It isn't easy dealing with such a large group, and any requests we had were dealt with promptly, and with a smile. Thank you :0)

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank ChaddyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 209 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

Not luxury. Could be cleaner. Head chef left so food was very basic and not particularly well cooked. Uncomfortable bed. Staff couldn't care less. Wrote to owner but received no reply. Don't be tempted by dealt. Don't bother!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattandteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I was not shown to my room, got lost on the way. I was given no information on breakfast, wifi password, where I might find a hair dryer. No information on local amenities. Nothing in the room about the hotel, no menu etc. room was a little tired. Bed rock hard, pillows lumpy. Shower grubby. Breakfast not great. I had a cooked breakfast, no offer of toast and marmalade to follow. The hotel didn't appear to have many guests, I didn't see any others, so not too busy to look after me. I was treated kindly when I was spoken too, but no- one made any effort to ensure I had a good stay. I noticed a reply from Fern to an earlier review. I think she is wrong, nothing has improved. They need to up their game when guests are spending money in their hotel. Sadly I won't stay there again, which is a pity as it is close to family and would be handy for future visits.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just returned from The Guildhall on a 3 day KGB deal. Looking at the rooms that are on the internet makes me feel that we were in a different hotel. We were put in a small room on the second floor - no four poster here. The bathroom was spacious, but the shower enclosure was in need of a good scrub where soap had collected and then discolored. One small wardrobe was available, but no drawers so we were glad it was a short stay as we had to live out of the suitcase. There were none of the 3 cask ales available on the first 2 days, which was a personal disappointment. We had a great sandwich in the bar, but on Thursday when we asked for an evening menu, we were told that there was no food that night. Not a 4 star service. On the morning of departure the chef did not turn up for work, so breakfast did not happen. Whilst everyone ran around in a flap, they even forgot to ask if we would like some tea, until we got up to leave. The breakfast menu in any case was cereal and juice, with a limited choice of cooked food. No fresh fruit on show. The table in the breakfast room were always strewn with sugar, and felt sticky.The menu was also covered in stains. Parking is a nightmare. Each time you wish to leave the hotel, a mass shuffle of cars has to take place. WiFi was almost impossible to pick up in the room or in the bar area. I am not sure how this has been rated as 4 star - a failing 3 or 2 star in need of a good renovation would be more appropriate in our opinion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here in October 2012 as a Groupon offer, this is good because you find places you may not normally visit. Denbigh is a great central base for North Wales, we managed four castles and a waterfall in one day!
The Guildhall Tavern is a gem lovely old building with a bar below. The meals are excellent quality and the wood panelled dining room is very atmospheric. We were allowed to eat in here or in the bar with the dog. Stayed in the castle room upstairs with a view of the town wall. All the staff were laid back, friendly and helpful. The car park is a bit tight cars have to bunch up, but there is a free one at the bottom of the hill if you don't mind a short walk. The nearest grass area for dogs is an uphill climb up a side street next to the Hotel, not too bad. There is a lovely café in Denbigh too called the Secret Garden where you can sit outside with your dog with a cream tea.

Room Tip: Photo attached with a view from the Castle room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed here last year, Saturday-Monday. On shecking in to our room, the girl behind the bar showed us to our room, she didn't tell us anything about when breakfast was served, local amenities, service in the restaurant etc. The corridor to the rooms is narrow, dark and very warm, smelt stale.

We noticed that that window to our room wasn't shut, we tried to shut it but it would not. We told reception and someone came to look at it straight away, fair enough. But they said they couldn;t fix it until the next day, so in effect had to sleep with a 1 inch gap in the winow (it was winter). Mind you, the room wasn't cold as the whole hotel is boiling hot!!! We were also concerned about the security implications of the window being open in our room - although we were told by the manager on duty that it was "a safe area"! The manageress did offer us a small discount on the room or an upgrade for the next night, we opted for a discount as we didn't want to pack again and move our stuff. When we went for a drink in the restaurant the manageress offered us a drink on the house for our troubles, which was a nice touch.

The bar itself was nice and relaxing witha good range of drinks. We didn't eat there ourselves, but the food looked nice. The bar person, a young female, had a bit of an attitute of a surly teenager.

Denbigh is a bizarre place, very small and the restaurants need to come into the 21st century. We went to Asia restaurant on the night we arrived - very odd indeed.

Breakast on Sunday morning was a joke. There were jugs of juice, which were empty, no cutlery, no napkins, no milk.. you get the idea. We literally had to ask for everything!!! We ordered poached eggs on toast which came on unbuttered toast with hard yolks. It was driest thing i've eaten! There was no one around to ask for sauce. The breakfast "waitress" was the surly bar staff from the evening before.

Window was fixed on day 2 as promised - very good.

Breakfast experience on our second morning was like being in a different hotel! Tables were set, the housekeeping staff who serve breakfast - must be Mon-Fri - were wonderful, couldn't do enough to help. Toast still dry and unbuttered, and yolks still hard, but at least there was someone to ask for butter and sauce.

No doubt this is one of the better places to stay in Denbigh, but only because everywhere else there seems to be behind the times! But i think the hotel is poor - it is a pub with rooms as an afterthought!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Fish_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fern E, General Manager at Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. However, I feel that your comments are slightly out-dated, as a lot has changed at our hotel since your stay last year. I have recently taken over as Manager of The Guildhall Tavern, and I can assure you that all of the points that you have addressed have been dealt with since my arrival.

I hope that one day you will be able to return to Denbigh to see that the improvements that have been made in The Guildhall.

Fern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Got a fab weekend deal, two nights B&B and first night evening meal. Lovely little town for a great relaxing weekend. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Great rooms, amazing food in restaurant with big portions. Nothing too much trouble and Charlotte was an amazing help. Great for a quiet weekend or as a base to visit the surrounding area. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pikelander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denbigh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Hawk & Buckle Inn
The Hawk & Buckle Inn
#1 of 7 in Denbigh
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle House B&B
Castle House B&B
#3 of 7 in Denbigh
105 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tall Trees Country House B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pentre Mawr Country House
Pentre Mawr Country House
#1 of 1 in Llandyrnog
308 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hafod Elwy Hall
Hafod Elwy Hall
#1 of 1 in Denbigh
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Hall Square, Denbigh LL16 3NU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Denbigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Denbigh
Price Range: $81 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant Denbigh, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing