We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Staff are wonderful !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 7 Denbigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have just returned today from a 3 night KGB deal at this Hotel.The best thing about this place is the staff.They are without exception fantastic, always friendly enthusiastic and helpful
I must admit the hotel itself was not my cup of tea, i prefer modern and smart, but this just looks tired and a bit depressing.I know that it is very old but i found the dark wood panels and furniture oppressive and dark.The room itself is very spacious, with a large bed. I do agree that the duvets and pillows leave a lot to be desired, but the mattress had a topper on it which made it very comfortable.A brilliant modern bathroom everything spotless.
We ate in the restaurant the first night but it was nothing special
All in all we had a great three days

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KATE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 209 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip as the hotels near the meeting location ive used before are either not good enough or very expensive, Rhyl is the next nearest town, and well.............
I was with a Spanish colleague and we both really liked this hotel, and the town, castle ect. the staff were relaxed, courteous, friendly and helpful, made us feel welcome.
The building is very old and they have retained many features, the rooms are cosy, spacious and well furnished. Bed was fantastic and the best hotel sleep in ages.
We ate in as the town seemed limited in places to eat, and it was a great decision. The local Lamb, with veg and to die for jus was very very good.
Excellent local beers on tap, a pint of the North Star Porter was perfect.
I have never seem breakfast presented on such a big plate!, it wasnt a massive portion of cheap stuff, it was well presented tasty produce and an excellent start to the day.
I will go back on my next visit to the area, guaranteed.

Room Tip: mine was at the side and had a fantastic view down a quaint back street and across to the rollling h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Husband and I mostly enjoyed this hotel for a 2-night stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Very small car park but friendly negotiation resolved any problem. Had a first floor room, 'Myddleton': wooden beamed, old furniture and stunning fireplace, generous floorspace, spotlessly clean, sloping floor, smart ensuite bathroom with wonderful shower above bath. Tea/coffee tray with kettle, biscuits and mineral water a welcome touch.

Did mention to the helpful and charming Charlotte that the beds REALLY need replacing, or at the very least a mattress topper, as springs were very noticeable. Awful, sparse lumpy pillows - bring your own until they get new ones! We asked for extra duvets to put between sheets and mattress, which the marvellous Fern organised promptly for us. We were informed that new beds are planned. Bedding itself was pristine and comfortable, but be aware the bed slopes too. We changed direction so lay across the bed so our heads were higher near the window and our feet lower! Soon sorted! Single glazed sash windows did not block much noise from the street below, as hotel is in centre of town, but wearing wax earplugs soon did! Great flat screen TV above fireplace.

Ate in the restaurant first night. Fabulous lamb and beef mains, followed by amazing Moccachino Creme Brulee and Bailey Cheesecake desserts, served in the gorgeous, full of character, wood-panelled dining room.

Lively bar area with free wi-fi, friendly locals and great atmosphere. Both food and drink were reasonably priced.

Welsh breakfast on the first morning was marvellous! Two of everything and could not finish the delicious cornucopia! Sadly, next morning pancakes and poached eggs distinctly lacklustre, but cereal and toast made up for that, along with fruit juices, tea or very tasty coffee. Very near the local co-op if you forgot to pack anything!

Not suitable for wheelchair dependent customers, but very good if you can slowly manage 2 short flights of stairs, as unsurprisingly, there is no lift in such a beautiful period building! My disability assistance dog was warmly welcomed too.

Overall, would definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant. 9/10 from us.

Room Tip: Myddleton is spacious and spotless, but has a little uneven floor and there is a lot of car noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTrippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have just enjoyed a bank holiday weekend at the guildhall tavern hotel. Our room was lovely & clean. Big double bed but pillows are too soft. Nice white towels & big bath. Very quirky uneven floors but it was built in the 16th century. Breakfast was huge & definitely set you up for the day exploring. We enjoyed a meal in hotel restaurant on first night which was gorgeous and large portions. Hubby had tampuri prawns starter & welsh chump of lamb. I had duck starter followed by sirloin steak which was cooked to perfection for me yummy!!! Staff very helpful & great atmosphere in bar. Highly Recommended. We had a fab time with beautiful weather say no more.Many Thanks.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank WestMidlandsNuggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just back from a two night stay in the Tavern, hotel is right in the heart of the village and is ideally located to explore North Wales and it's coastal towns.
Denbigh itself has a castle to explore with fantastic views.

Room we stayed in was a standard double c/w en-suite excellent value very clean staff were faultless and the breakfast was huge!! We also had an evening meal which was also spot on and big portions again.

There is free WiFi available but didn't extend to our bedroom on the second floor.

Will defiantly be going back in the not to far future!!

Room Tip: None all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManchesterRed64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My Partner & I spent 3 nights there for £139, which is a good deal. The first thing we met was a very tight parking area at the back of the Hotel. We were lucky to get a space but where stuck there for 2 days, as other people blocked us in! There were other places to park outside & also up the hill beside the Hotel.
We were greeted by a nice man who showed us to our room & offered to carry our bags. The staff we met were all very nice & helpful.
The room at first sight was lovely, nicely decorated & with a large window & view of part of the Castle outcrop of ruins. Also slate covered "rooflets" as we were at the top of the building in the "Castle" room. There was also an original fireplace & a lovely big bed with a huge original wooden/carved headboard. There was a massive beam above the bed showing the Hotels age.
The bathroom was light & had a bath with 2 showers & some nice miniature toiletries. Fresh white towels provided making it a good standard en-suite room. Although clean & functional, it lacked any of the charm of the bedroom. We weren't overlook but a blind would have brought the room together.
The floor to the bedroom was slanty & very creaky in keeping with the age of the building. This proved amusing after a few drinks!
We went for a walk around the centre of Denbigh, which is small with some nice buildings & the usual shops, and pubs & we noted 2 Indian restaurants in a short distance from the Hotel. Luckily we love Indian food. We called into a pub for a drink, then back to the Hotel bar for another. The bar is small & very nice, staff also friendly although the drinks were expensive.
We visited both Indian restaurants on the first 2 nights - both highly recommended.
At night, unfortunately, due to the location of the room, it was very noisy. I think we were over the kitchen/bar. It was after 1am when the noise stopped. The mattress was far to hard, the pillows were like bags filled with cotton wool balls inbetween areas of nothing! very uncomfortable & the duvet was similar. It was too hot at night too, possibly from being over the kitchen/bar but even with window wide open, no air circulated, so we didn't sleep too well. We missed the breakfast the first morning due to this as we fell asleep at around 6am! We had a great shower & the bathroom was great - shower, hot water on tap & powerful flushing toilet. Towels lovely too.
The first day we were blocked in the "car park" at the back so stayed in town. We went for a walk up to the Castle, the weather was lovely. It was a steep walk up but even I could do it (very unfit & overweight) in short bursts. There are plenty of photo opportunities of the town, the surrounding countryside and the rooftops. We would recommend it for families & couples alike.
The second night we didn't sleep to well again due to the bed & the noise from below.
We had breakfast & it was a bellybuster! 2 of everything. Although it was large, the black pudding was hard - uneaten & the sausages were tasteless. There was a long wait between tables for breakfast & confusion over who was in first etc. However overall it was fine.
We wanted to go out this day but had to have a car moved to allow us to get out of the car park. The person who blocked us in left their keys at reception.
We went to Llin Brenig about an hour away, which was a lovely day out. They have bike hire, the tamest birds ever! and fishing, boats and just walking & sitting. The cafe there was very good and there is a small exhibition for the kids too. Along with the surrounding countryside, it made a lovely day out. When we got back, we got a parking space which we were worried about. After a nap, we went over to Chocolate, a cafe/coffee & cake shop. This had a lovely atmosphere & was quirky 17th century & staff were very nice 7 friendly. It was so relaxed we forgot to pay! It was only when we got to the room we remembered & my partner ran back over to pay!
All in all a lovely 3 day break. The only let downs were the parking, the noise at night & - please listen to your customers - get new comfortable mattresses!
We ate in the Hotel on our last night. I had the duck salad - lovely & my Partners pate was also very nice. The Lamb was delicious, which we both had, but dare we say it was too much! we didn't have a dessert due to this, but it was gorgeous.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancingcat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

As soon as we arrived we were met by smiling faces. The staff were so friendly throughout our stay and couldn't be more helpful. We stayed here with a KGB deal voucher so we had a reduced rate for out B&B and it was excellent value for money. The breakfast was excellent, large portions and again served by very friendly staff. We also ate an evening meal in the restaurant which again was wonderful and plentiful. Our room had great character, the bathroom was lovely with a great power shower. Everything was finished to a high standard. We didn't notice any noise at all and slept soundly. Thanks for having us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnydinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denbigh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Hawk & Buckle Inn
The Hawk & Buckle Inn
#1 of 7 in Denbigh
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle House B&B
Castle House B&B
#2 of 7 in Denbigh
105 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tall Trees Country House B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pentre Mawr Country House
Pentre Mawr Country House
#1 of 1 in Llandyrnog
308 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hafod Elwy Hall
Hafod Elwy Hall
#1 of 1 in Denbigh
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Hall Square, Denbigh LL16 3NU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Denbigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Denbigh
Price Range: $82 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant Denbigh, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing