We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 7 Denbigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My partner and i stayed for a weekend recently. We received a warm and friendly greeting from all staff but particularly Diana the manager who works so hard and made us feel really welcome. Our room was spacious and nicely furnished...excellent bathroom! My only critisism was the mattress really needed replacing.The bar and restaurant are lovely and the food absolutely delicious...both the dinner we had on our first night and the breakfast!
Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelandLee1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 209 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a two-night stay and thought it was absolutely fantastic. Friendly staff, great customer service. Lovely rooms. And DEAR LORD, the chef is amazing! The Duck sald changed my life. Thank you Guildhall Tavern and see you again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was a birthday treat for my partner. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food and wine was of a very hight standard. We loved the character of the building, open fire places, wooden pannelled walls and old beams.
Our room was spaciouse, clean and confortable.
Would definatley go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANDRA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We chose the Guildhall for our reception after having our first date there two years ago. It was the perfect place, right from the very start of the ideas through to completion they couldn't have been more helpful, Diana, the hotel manager, knows exactly what she's doing, it was such a relief to have everything that we wanted done so well. They had decorated the room perfectly with twinkling candles, sparkling rubies and even hired chairs to match. There was a lot of us to serve but the staff were very efficient (I don't think my wine glass was ever empty!!!) and so polite. The food was absolutely gorgeous, massive slow roasted welsh lamb shanks that melted in the mouth and the best sticky toffee pudding we have ever tasted. Everything we had asked for was done to perfection, from the cheesy DJ to chocolate fountain. A few of us stayed over and the rooms were all so comfortable, we stayed in the Denbigh Suite, complete with old fashioned four poster bed. Breakfast was massive platters of bacon and eggs, the perfect way to start married life. THANK YOU SO MUCH. Will definitely be going back.....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We turned to the Guildhall at 1.45 on Sunday after discovering that the Indian Radhuni was not available. It's a pleasant bar area experience, with various sized oak-top tables. My beef platter was generous, with two thick slices of beef, not quite the best, with boiled and roast potatoes, carrot, cauliflower and peas pods, plus the tallest Yorkshire Pudding you have ever seen. Unfortunately it wasn't fresh and crisp but still quite palatable with the gravy and the French mustard. My advice is that for Sunday Lunch you should get there a little earlier.

My wife's plaice was disappointing owing to its miniature size; her cheesecake OK and my pud fine. Slightly fey survice; we were left looking at our plates for a few minutes before the cutlery arrived.

Good old-fashioned cooking.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northwales_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have just come back from an excellent weekend away from the guildhall tavern in denbigh. all through the booking process the staff were helpful and friendly. when we arrived we were warmly greeted checked in and taken to our room. we had the denbigh suite which was wonderful, it had a four poster bed, 2 televisions and an enormous bathroom. the room was clean, well presented, well decorated and warm. we had an evening meal in the restaurant on the saturday night, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the bar/restaurant was warm and inviting. the food was first class and incredibly great value for money, the same could be said for our breakfast their on the sunday morning. our compliments go to the chefs. we were only there for 2 nights but enjoyed our stay a lot. we would definitely go back and would like to thank all the staff who made our stay so comfortable.

Room Tip: ask for a suite they are worth the upgrade
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boolsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for two nights over a December weekend and it was the perfect weekend break away. The hotel was warm and comfortable, and the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We stayed in Twm or Nant which was a standard room and it had everything we needed (including lovely smelling toiletries!). The room and hotel were very cosy (without being small) and full of character with wonky floors and sloping ceilings which we loved, the only criticism I would have was that the bed was a little bumpy and could have been more comfortable however this did not keep us awake.
The food was delish, we ate in the bar on the 1st night and a 3 course dinner in the restaurant on the second and both were excellent. Although they were full with Christmas parties the staff were always friendly and well organised and service was great.
The town was also very nice and the castle is well worth a visit.
We got a voucher deal with two nights stay with a three course dinner and wine for one of the nights and it was excelent value, we would happily return at full price or just go for food. We would certainly recommend this to anyone who likes charm and character and a friendly service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denbigh
6.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
5.6 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
361 reviews
4.4 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
465 reviews
20.2 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
411 reviews
10.1 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Hall Square, Denbigh LL16 3NU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Denbigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Denbigh
Price Range: $88 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant Denbigh, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing