We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern accommodation in a beautiful and historic medieval town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Denbigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Modern accommodation in a beautiful and historic medieval town!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here as a part of a groupon voucher for 2 nights with breakfast. It was a wonderful place and a great jumping point for exploring Northern Wales. The staff were friendly and helpful and the our room was wonderful. The room was clearly recently renovated and the bathroom was great. The breakfast was a nice start to our day. We had dinner both nights in the restaurant downstairs and it was quite tasty! There's very limited space for parking, but we made it work. I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly_whiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    67
    34
    17
    3
See reviews for
18
136
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just visited this hotel through a Groupon Voucher... It was very Homely and welcoming... Laid back...our room was good (pillows need replacing, a bit lumpy) Bar and Restaurant food is really good and very reasonably priced.. Breakfast is brilliant... Stayed in the Fairholme Suite.. Was more than enough room and comfortable..
Overall staff try to make you feel welcome and looked after...
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed at the hotel using the Groupon deal. We upgraded to the Fairholme Suite, costing £149 for two nights with breakfast.

Fairholme Suite is a lovely big room with triple windows overlooking the square. Downside is single glazing which meant you could hear everything outside but thankfully it is just off the main road. Big zip & link bed but the mattress could do with changing as could feel the springs. Nice bathroom with heated mirror and towel rail. Dressing table & two chairs, tea/coffee facilities, biscuits & bottled water provided in the room. Our room wasn't serviced after our first night which doesn't particularly bother me but meant we had to ask at reception for toilet roll.

Very limited parking but we had a space both nights but it was quiet, maybe because we stayed Sunday & Monday evenings.

Bar, restaurant and bedroom all really nicely decorated and maintained. Very few staff but service generally good. One of the best things was the food. Huge Welsh breakfast which I didn't manage to finish! Ate in the restaurant one evening & everything we had was fantastic (crispy duck salad, homemade scotch egg for starters, then both had the lamb which was really nice).

Not much to do in Denbigh but a great base for a few days in North Wales. Would definitely recommend at the Groupon price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaJane1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

we were attracted to this b&b on our road trip given the trip advisor reviews but we suspect that none of the reviewers stayed in the moel arthur room - sloped room which means the bed was sloped, too, that smelled like it was built in a former urinal. it was hard to get used to and i rushed to shower at the next b&b trying to wash off the smell. the new shower was nice...and they are dog friendly...and breakfast was good...so if you don't have a good sense of smell, go for it.

staff was ok. we never saw the same team twice during our 2 night stay. the first night was better than the second as the second team had no idea of menu or drinks. absolutely clueless and tactless.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuichers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We booked a room for 2 people and our dog, we was told there was one room left with a three quarter bed, I asked if it was big enough for 2 people I was told it was.
We got there the bed would just fit us in but the room was very very small, we had one hour sleep due to the springs digging in my side and it too hot and small but I'm sure it's ok for a single person.
We got moved the next day to a double room which was bigger but the bad again was uncomfortable you could feel every spring, It's not worth £129 a night,
The staff were very laid back but nice enough, the 2 cleaning ladies were more helpfully than anyone else, lovely ladies, 2 Tia Maria lattes cost £10.40 which I thought was expensive,
We came home a day earlier due to not sleeping, I'd stay again if it wasnt so expensive

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spring333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My partner and I stayed here as part of a groupon voucher for 2 nights bed and breakfast after a positive response to whether we could take our 15month old English Springer Spaniel along with us.
Is this hotel dog friend ??Definately YES-indeed we were not charged any extras for having her with us and we were not given an inferior room due to her attendance.Infact we were encouraged to include her in every part of our stay even when we booked in to their excellent restaurant(although she remained in our room while we ate).However once we had eaten she was welcome to sit in the bar area with no out of bounds areas.
The food and facilities were excellent and even our dog after an early morning walk before breakfast returned to a dish of chopped sausages and bacon waiting for her-thank you house keeper.We even came back from a day out to find he'd left complimentary biscuit on top of the dogs cage for her-BLESS!
There are lots of lovely walks in the area and Ruthin was lovely,the locals are very friendly with particular thanks to Rachel who was a fountain of information of lots of areas of interest.
Both nights we ate at the hotel and the food was outstanding-particularly the Welsh Chump Lamb and the breakfast really set you up for the day.
Parking is a struggle but not unachievable

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonStokes67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had a short break at this hotel September 2012. The hotel had recently been refurbished and we were shown to the Clwdian Room which was clean and very well appointed. Unfortunately parking is very limited but staff try to help by moving cars about for you.
We had 2 evening meals in the hotel and the food was great and good value for money with a good choice of wines at reasonable prices. The breakfasts were also very good. I had the full Welsh breakfast the second morning which really sets you up for the day ahead. Tea/coffee and hot chocolate available in the room.
The one down side was that unfortunately the mattress on the bed was of a poor standard and I had a poor nights sleep the first night. I could feel the bars of the bedstead through the mattress. I spoke to the Housekeeper in the morning and she was very sympathetic and that morning added a "topper" to the mattress which did help. However, I would recommend that the owners upgrade the mattresses and then this will be a perfect place to enjoy the North Wales countryside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denbigh
6.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
4.4 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
541 reviews
5.6 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
403 reviews
10.2 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
453 reviews
20.9 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Hall Square, Denbigh LL16 3NU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Denbigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Denbigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant Denbigh, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing