We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - Charlie & Angie are brillient hosts and the place is fantastic”
Review of Castle House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle House B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Denbigh B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 23, 2009

This is a first class B&B that would put alot of top hotels to shame. The owners ( Charlie & Angie ) could not do enough to keep us happy. They even cooked a fantastic dinner for us ( that was up to any A La Carte standard ) even though we were the only guests that evening. The standard of the accomodation is 5 Star and first class. Nothing has been left to chance and the finishing touches are a real delight.
Although aimed at the top end of the market, I would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B to anyone. A real gem of a find and we will return.
Regards
Andy Perry

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B18AMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 105 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2009

Castle House in Denbigh is just 30 minutes inland from the Welsh Coast and we found the elegance of the house was matched by the warmth and hospitality of both Charlie and Angie. From the moment that you step inside for the very first time you immediately sense that this is no ordinary B & B but that it is going to be a very special experience. We chose the 'Stanley Room' to celebrate our wedding anniversary which had spectacular views which extended to the 'Horseshoe Pass' near Llangollen. The room was simply divine. The food was superb, from the traditional full Welsh breakfast to the optional candlelight dinners with a log fire to complete the wonderful dining atmosphere.
Charlie & Angie have a wealth of local knowledge which all contributes to making the stay so much more interesting.
We can pay no better compliment than to say a return is inevitable, but I must be honest, when we left for home following our 3 night stay, I felt like closing the drive gate behind us, locking it and throwing away the key so that this little piece of Welsh Heaven remains our very own special secret hide-away.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJandJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We have stayed in some top hotels worldwide & this is a little gem. Situated @ the end of a secluded if somewhat narrow driveway overlooking an expanse of country side our first impressions were good & we were not disappointed with what followed. A beautiful entrance hall & stairwell led us up to our tastefully decorated & spacious bedroom.
The enthusiasm energy & friendliness of Angie & Charlie is part of this great package ensuring that nothing is left to chance in their pursuit of excellence. The breakfasts were excellent & our only regret was that as we were primarily visiting our daughter the three night stay did not allow us time to sample the dinner.

A superb romantic venue visit it soon before it becomes too well known !!

Chris & John East Sussex

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Everything about Castle House is exceptional: the hosts, the building, the gardens and the town of Denbigh itself. Charlie and Angie have acquired a little corner of paradise and are happy to share with guests. Castle House is in a beautiful setting, perched on the old town walls, set in extensive gardens and woodland with ancient ruins and remarkable views all around. We had a truly memorable stay, stunning room, delicious breakfast and thoroughly lovely owners. The only downside was having to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

"Much more than Bed and Breakfast".How very very true.Castle House is a fantastic house.It is so comfortable,inviting and has a real feeling of being a family home. Charlie and Angie are such great hosts who want one to enjoy every aspect of being looked after.
The location,the views,the school and the house which I thought I remembered so well when I boarded at Castle House when I was 11 years old were very familiar.The walls,the Clwyd range,the cathedral the long drive,the oarapet off top landing were the same but NOT the house.All these years later I walked up and down the main staircase,sat in Biddy Mac's room(lounge),ate in the silent rec(dining-room) and and admired the fireplaces and ceiling plasterwork.It is truly like no other B&B's.Tranquiliy,views and enormous luxurious bedrooms.
It was great to have my husband and daughter staying in my old boarding house.Where was the "White Lady"? Does she still appear.......?Breakfasts anddinners were superb.We enjoyed the Dudley room.So different! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Castlelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We received the warmest welcome from our friendly and delightful hosts Angie & Charlie during our recent three night stay. We found Castle House B&B situated in a truly unique position atop a hillside with grand views of the picturesque Vale of Clwyd and Denbigh township and surrounded by ancient city walls and castle ruins. We loved the way Angie and Charlie had restored this grade II listed former gentleman's residence especially the stylish comfortable oversized bedrooms and beautifully appointed ensuites. We really appreciated the instant powerful water pressure showers which we found to be quite rare in our UK travels. We marvelled at the attention to detail expressed in all the rooms including the magnificent dining room where we enjoyed many a fine meal during our stay. We felt just like part of the family with both Angie and Charlie and promised that we would return.
'When you come home again to Wales'...

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyVroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Beautiful house, luxurious rooms, wonderfully peaceful location with spectacular views, warm and generous hosts who quickly become friends. Angie, your hostess is an excellent cook, if you are watching your weight, abandon all hope - you've no chance! This is a gem of a find - don't think about it, just book - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vista38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denbigh
6.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
6.5 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hawk & Buckle Inn
The Hawk & Buckle Inn
#1 of 7 in Denbigh
253 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tall Trees Country House B & B
3.1 mi away
Pentre Mawr Country House
Pentre Mawr Country House
#1 of 1 in Llandyrnog
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House B&B

Address: Bull Lane, Denbigh LL16 3LY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Denbigh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Denbigh
Price Range: $147 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle House B&B, Indulgent. Luxurious. Different. Committed to quality, attention to detail, stunning décor and breathtaking views. Castle House offers three individually designed and magnificently appointed bedrooms, a romantic lounge and a graceful dining room, with an additional 2 cottages used as annexes. Castle House featuring as part of its own splendid gardens, a significant part of Denbigh’s ancient town walls, as well as the evocative ruins of a 16th-century Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castle House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Hotel Denbigh
Castle House Bed And Breakfast
Castle House B&B Denbigh, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing